Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Packaging Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies30
  • 7D0.2%
  • 3M8.0%
  • 1Y17.2%
  • YTD5.5%

In the last week, Packaging has been flat. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 18% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 1.5% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Packaging Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024JP¥1.4tJP¥3.3tJP¥122.2b10.7x11.1x0.4x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024JP¥1.3tJP¥3.3tJP¥94.2b10.5x14.1x0.4x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥3.3tJP¥94.0b9.6x13.8x0.4x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥3.3tJP¥94.0b9.4x14x0.4x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥3.3tJP¥77.9b11.4x17.1x0.4x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023JP¥1.4tJP¥3.3tJP¥77.7b11.8x18.2x0.4x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥3.3tJP¥77.5b11.4x17x0.4x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥3.2tJP¥66.7b11.4x18.5x0.4x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥3.2tJP¥66.6b11.8x18.3x0.4x
Sun, 07 May 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥3.2tJP¥74.3b11.4x16.2x0.4x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥3.2tJP¥74.2b11.3x16.1x0.4x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥3.2tJP¥74.1b10.9x16.2x0.4x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥3.1tJP¥84.1b9.4x14x0.4x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.1tJP¥84.1b9.6x14.1x0.4x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.1tJP¥84.1b9.6x14.4x0.4x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.0tJP¥98.2b9.9x12.1x0.4x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.0tJP¥98.3b10.3x11.7x0.4x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥3.0tJP¥98.2b10.2x11.4x0.4x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022JP¥1.0tJP¥3.0tJP¥107.1b9.8x9.6x0.3x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022JP¥1.0tJP¥3.0tJP¥107.1b9.8x9.4x0.3x
Mon, 09 May 2022JP¥1.0tJP¥2.9tJP¥110.4b9.5x9.5x0.4x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥2.9tJP¥107.9b9.3x9.8x0.4x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥2.9tJP¥107.9b9.5x10.3x0.4x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥2.9tJP¥112.8b11x10.2x0.4x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021JP¥1.2tJP¥2.9tJP¥112.9b10.9x10.3x0.4x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021JP¥1.2tJP¥2.9tJP¥112.7b11.2x10.7x0.4x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021JP¥1.2tJP¥2.8tJP¥101.7b12.2x11.9x0.4x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021JP¥1.3tJP¥2.8tJP¥101.7b12.9x12.9x0.5x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021JP¥1.3tJP¥2.8tJP¥101.7b12.4x12.8x0.5x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021JP¥1.3tJP¥2.8tJP¥80.4b12.4x16x0.5x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021JP¥1.2tJP¥2.8tJP¥71.0b12.2x17.3x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

17.3x


Total Market Cap: JP¥1.2tTotal Earnings: JP¥71.0bTotal Revenue: JP¥2.8tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Packaging Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Packaging industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 13.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.40x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaging industry have grown 20% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 5.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Materials industry?

JP Market1.72%
Materials2.32%
Packaging0.18%
Metal and Glass Containers0.66%
Paper Packaging-0.59%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Metal and Glass Containers industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 19.4x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 1.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 0.07% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Paper Packaging industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 9.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Metal and Glass Containers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 1.9% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 0.07% per year.
  • In contrast, the Paper Packaging industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
5901 Toyo Seikan Group HoldingsJP¥2.54k2.6%
+JP¥11.1b
43.2%PE19.3x
7504 KohsokuJP¥2.49k4.1%
+JP¥1.9b
29.2%PE15.5x
3946 TomokuJP¥2.39k2.6%
+JP¥1.0b
47.4%PE7.7x
5902 Hokkan HoldingsJP¥1.88k2.6%
+JP¥587.9m
39.5%PE13.8x
5210 Nihon Yamamura GlassJP¥1.49k2.1%
+JP¥306.3m
105.9%PE1.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

3359

JP¥512.00

cottaLTD

7D

3.6%

1Y

30.3%

3951

JP¥910.00

Asahi PrintingLtd

7D

-0.3%

1Y

4.2%

4994

JP¥3,030.00

Taisei Lamick

7D

-0.5%

1Y

0.7%

5210

JP¥1,491.00

Nihon Yamamura Glass

7D

2.1%

1Y

105.9%

5902

JP¥1,882.00

Hokkan Holdings

7D

2.6%

1Y

39.5%

3950

JP¥3,575.00

Pack

7D

-5.8%

1Y

22.4%

3947

JP¥1,707.00

Dynapac

7D

0.9%

1Y

29.7%

5901

JP¥2,539.50

Toyo Seikan Group Holdings

7D

2.6%

1Y

43.2%

4248

JP¥780.00

Takemoto Yohki

7D

1.4%

1Y

-7.4%

3946

JP¥2,386.00

Tomoku

7D

2.6%

1Y

47.4%

7923

JP¥646.00

Toin

7D

-1.2%

1Y

28.9%

7504

JP¥2,485.00

Kohsoku

7D

4.1%

1Y

29.2%