Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Pharma Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies40
  • 7D-2.1%
  • 3M-2.7%
  • 1Y1.7%
  • YTD3.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Pharma industry has dropped 2.1%, driven by Chugai Pharmaceutical declining 5.2%. In contrast, Astellas Pharma has gained 5.3%. Over the last year, the industry has been flat overall. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 13% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Pharma Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024JP¥40.2tJP¥15.0tJP¥1.1t16.6x36.7x2.7x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024JP¥38.7tJP¥14.8tJP¥1.2t18.2x32x2.6x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024JP¥43.5tJP¥15.1tJP¥1.2t19.7x35.8x2.9x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024JP¥41.7tJP¥15.1tJP¥1.3t20.1x32.7x2.8x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024JP¥42.3tJP¥15.2tJP¥1.4t20.3x30.8x2.8x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023JP¥39.5tJP¥15.2tJP¥1.4t20.1x28.7x2.6x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023JP¥38.5tJP¥15.1tJP¥1.3t22.7x28.6x2.5x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023JP¥39.8tJP¥14.9tJP¥1.4t22.8x27.9x2.7x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023JP¥40.6tJP¥14.9tJP¥1.4t23.5x28.4x2.7x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023JP¥39.3tJP¥14.7tJP¥1.5t21.3x26.9x2.7x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023JP¥40.1tJP¥14.6tJP¥1.5t21x27.4x2.7x
Sat, 27 May 2023JP¥39.7tJP¥14.6tJP¥1.5t19.6x27.1x2.7x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023JP¥38.2tJP¥14.3tJP¥1.5t17.8x26x2.7x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023JP¥36.4tJP¥14.3tJP¥1.5t16.4x24.8x2.5x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023JP¥37.0tJP¥14.3tJP¥1.5t17x25.1x2.6x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023JP¥36.1tJP¥13.7tJP¥1.4t19x26.7x2.6x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022JP¥39.1tJP¥13.7tJP¥1.3t18.5x29x2.9x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022JP¥38.3tJP¥13.6tJP¥1.3t17.5x28.5x2.8x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022JP¥38.2tJP¥13.3tJP¥1.4t18x26.7x2.9x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022JP¥36.7tJP¥13.3tJP¥1.4t17.6x25.6x2.8x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022JP¥35.1tJP¥13.3tJP¥1.4t17.5x24.3x2.6x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022JP¥35.7tJP¥13.1tJP¥1.5t18.1x24.5x2.7x
Sun, 29 May 2022JP¥34.5tJP¥13.1tJP¥1.5t17.8x23.6x2.6x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022JP¥35.1tJP¥12.8tJP¥1.5t20.6x22.6x2.7x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022JP¥35.0tJP¥12.8tJP¥1.5t20.7x22.6x2.7x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022JP¥34.1tJP¥12.8tJP¥1.5t18.4x22.1x2.7x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022JP¥33.5tJP¥12.5tJP¥1.6t17.4x21.1x2.7x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021JP¥34.0tJP¥12.5tJP¥1.6t18.3x21.4x2.7x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021JP¥35.8tJP¥12.5tJP¥1.6t18.2x22.4x2.9x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021JP¥36.0tJP¥12.2tJP¥1.5t17.9x24.1x2.9x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021JP¥38.6tJP¥12.3tJP¥1.5t18.4x25.7x3.1x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021JP¥34.1tJP¥12.3tJP¥1.5t17x22.7x2.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

24.8x


Total Market Cap: JP¥35.3tTotal Earnings: JP¥1.4tTotal Revenue: JP¥11.9tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Pharma Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 26.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Pharmaceuticals industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 36.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 26.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Pharmaceuticals industry have declined 8.4% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 8.0% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Healthcare industry?

JP Market0.41%
Healthcare-2.17%
Pharma-2.14%
Pharma-2.14%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
4503 Astellas PharmaJP¥1.57k5.3%
+JP¥140.7b
-32.5%PE164.7x
4502 Takeda PharmaceuticalJP¥4.13k0.1%
+JP¥6.3b
-8.6%PE45x
4553 Towa PharmaceuticalJP¥2.81k2.7%
+JP¥3.6b
51.6%PE8.6x
4547 Kissei PharmaceuticalJP¥3.21k1.4%
+JP¥2.0b
12.2%PE12.7x
4521 Kaken PharmaceuticalJP¥3.46k0.3%
+JP¥416.6m
-3.7%PE16.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

4506

JP¥300.00

Sumitomo Pharma

7D

-10.7%

1Y

-56.1%

4553

JP¥2,814.00

Towa Pharmaceutical

7D

2.7%

1Y

51.6%

4502

JP¥4,134.00

Takeda Pharmaceutical

7D

0.1%

1Y

-8.6%

4887

JP¥5,830.00

Sawai Group Holdings

7D

-5.1%

1Y

64.7%

4151

JP¥2,568.00

Kyowa Kirin

7D

-1.7%

1Y

-3.9%

4539

JP¥1,575.00

Nippon Chemiphar

7D

0.6%

1Y

-15.0%

4503

JP¥1,565.50

Astellas Pharma

7D

5.3%

1Y

-32.5%

4521

JP¥3,462.00

Kaken Pharmaceutical

7D

0.3%

1Y

-3.7%

4507

JP¥6,921.00

Shionogi

7D

-2.9%

1Y

12.1%

4538

JP¥2,280.00

Fuso Pharmaceutical IndustriesLtd

7D

0.3%

1Y

13.2%