Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Diversified Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D3.3%
  • 3M16.3%
  • 1Y43.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Diversified Banks industry has remained flat, although notably Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group gained 3.3%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 42% in that time. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 5.2% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Diversified Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024JP¥45.4tJP¥13.8tJP¥3.6t12.3x12.5x3.3x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024JP¥42.1tJP¥13.5tJP¥3.3t12.9x12.9x3.1x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023JP¥37.8tJP¥13.7tJP¥3.4t11.6x11.2x2.8x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023JP¥40.1tJP¥16.5tJP¥3.9t13.1x10.3x2.4x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023JP¥38.8tJP¥15.4tJP¥3.7t11.8x10.6x2.5x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023JP¥40.4tJP¥15.3tJP¥3.6t11x11.2x2.6x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023JP¥34.9tJP¥16.1tJP¥3.7t11.4x9.6x2.2x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023JP¥33.0tJP¥15.4tJP¥2.6t11.6x12.9x2.1x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023JP¥30.8tJP¥16.6tJP¥3.0t10.3x10.2x1.9x
Sun, 07 May 2023JP¥29.0tJP¥12.6tJP¥955.3b12.1x30.4x2.3x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023JP¥28.5tJP¥12.6tJP¥953.9b10.9x29.8x2.3x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023JP¥31.4tJP¥12.5tJP¥935.3b12.5x33.6x2.5x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023JP¥31.7tJP¥11.9tJP¥885.5b11x35.8x2.7x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022JP¥29.4tJP¥11.9tJP¥885.5b10.3x33.2x2.5x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022JP¥25.4tJP¥12.1tJP¥885.5b9.8x28.7x2.1x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022JP¥23.9tJP¥11.6tJP¥1.2t9.4x20.4x2.1x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022JP¥25.1tJP¥11.6tJP¥1.2t10.1x21.4x2.2x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022JP¥24.5tJP¥11.8tJP¥1.2t9.9x20.9x2.1x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022JP¥24.7tJP¥11.1tJP¥1.5t9.4x16.4x2.2x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022JP¥24.2tJP¥14.5tJP¥2.9t8.6x8.3x1.7x
Mon, 09 May 2022JP¥24.9tJP¥13.4tJP¥3.6t7.8x6.9x1.9x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022JP¥24.2tJP¥13.4tJP¥3.6t7.5x6.7x1.8x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022JP¥24.1tJP¥13.4tJP¥3.6t7.5x6.7x1.8x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022JP¥24.7tJP¥13.1tJP¥3.2t8.6x7.7x1.9x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021JP¥22.7tJP¥13.1tJP¥3.2t7.7x7x1.7x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021JP¥22.4tJP¥13.4tJP¥3.6t7.1x6.2x1.7x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021JP¥22.8tJP¥13.0tJP¥3.3t7.7x6.9x1.7x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021JP¥23.3tJP¥13.0tJP¥3.3t7.8x7.1x1.8x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021JP¥22.2tJP¥13.0tJP¥3.3t7.5x6.8x1.7x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021JP¥22.8tJP¥12.7tJP¥2.7t9.5x8.4x1.8x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021JP¥21.6tJP¥10.4tJP¥1.2t13x18.2x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.2x


Total Market Cap: JP¥21.6tTotal Earnings: JP¥1.2tTotal Revenue: JP¥10.4tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Diversified Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Diversified Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 12.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Banks industry have grown 45% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 9.9% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Diversified Banks compare with similar industries?

JP Market1.72%
Financials1.85%
Banks3.26%
Diversified Banks3.31%
Regional Banks3.12%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
8306 Mitsubishi UFJ Financial GroupJP¥1.52k3.1%
+JP¥540.6b
59.2%PB1x
8316 Sumitomo Mitsui Financial GroupJP¥8.31k3.9%
+JP¥407.6b
40.3%PB0.8x
7182 JAPAN POST BANKJP¥1.57k2.3%
+JP¥128.4b
28.8%PB0.6x
8411 Mizuho Financial GroupJP¥2.77k1.7%
+JP¥114.1b
30.5%PB0.7x
8309 Sumitomo Mitsui Trust HoldingsJP¥3.04k2.8%
+JP¥60.3b
19.5%PB0.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

5838

JP¥2,906.00

Rakuten Bank

7D

9.3%

1Y

n/a

8309

JP¥3,039.00

Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Holdings

7D

2.8%

1Y

19.5%

7182

JP¥1,574.00

JAPAN POST BANK

7D

2.3%

1Y

28.8%

8306

JP¥1,521.00

Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group

7D

3.1%

1Y

59.2%

8304

JP¥2,511.00

Aozora Bank

7D

4.4%

1Y

-4.9%

7163

JP¥1,930.00

SBI Sumishin Net Bank

7D

7.5%

1Y

n/a