Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Drug Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies19
  • 7D1.6%
  • 3M-12.5%
  • 1Y-11.2%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Drug Retail industry is up 2.2%, with MatsukiyoCocokara up 3.0%. In contrast, the industry has lost 11% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 6.4% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Drug Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 22 Jun 2024JP¥3.8tJP¥7.8tJP¥227.2b16.4x16.9x0.5x
Mon, 20 May 2024JP¥4.1tJP¥7.8tJP¥226.0b17x18.1x0.5x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024JP¥4.3tJP¥7.7tJP¥226.3b16.7x18.8x0.5x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024JP¥4.4tJP¥7.6tJP¥223.3b15x19.5x0.6x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024JP¥4.4tJP¥7.6tJP¥219.1b14.5x20x0.6x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024JP¥4.4tJP¥7.5tJP¥218.4b14.8x20.1x0.6x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023JP¥4.4tJP¥7.5tJP¥215.5b16x20.4x0.6x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023JP¥4.2tJP¥7.4tJP¥211.7b15.6x20x0.6x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023JP¥4.2tJP¥7.3tJP¥210.9b16.6x20x0.6x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023JP¥4.8tJP¥7.7tJP¥221.6b18.6x21.6x0.6x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023JP¥4.7tJP¥7.8tJP¥221.5b18.8x21.2x0.6x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023JP¥4.7tJP¥7.7tJP¥222.5b17.5x20.9x0.6x
Tue, 23 May 2023JP¥4.6tJP¥7.7tJP¥219.9b17.4x21x0.6x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023JP¥4.2tJP¥7.6tJP¥219.3b16x19.2x0.6x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023JP¥4.0tJP¥7.5tJP¥218.0b16.2x18.5x0.5x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023JP¥4.1tJP¥7.5tJP¥221.7b17x18.5x0.5x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023JP¥4.3tJP¥7.4tJP¥219.1b18x19.7x0.6x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022JP¥4.3tJP¥7.4tJP¥215.4b16.8x19.8x0.6x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022JP¥4.0tJP¥7.3tJP¥209.8b16.3x19.2x0.6x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022JP¥4.1tJP¥7.2tJP¥207.2b15.1x19.6x0.6x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022JP¥4.1tJP¥7.1tJP¥207.4b15.8x19.6x0.6x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022JP¥3.9tJP¥7.1tJP¥205.9b14.8x19x0.6x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022JP¥3.7tJP¥7.0tJP¥203.4b14.1x18.4x0.5x
Wed, 25 May 2022JP¥3.4tJP¥7.0tJP¥205.9b13.1x16.7x0.5x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022JP¥3.5tJP¥6.9tJP¥202.7b14.6x17.4x0.5x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022JP¥4.0tJP¥6.9tJP¥206.0b16.2x19.3x0.6x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022JP¥3.9tJP¥6.8tJP¥194.1b15.8x20.2x0.6x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022JP¥4.2tJP¥6.8tJP¥197.4b15x21.1x0.6x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021JP¥4.4tJP¥6.7tJP¥200.8b14.7x22.1x0.7x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021JP¥5.2tJP¥7.1tJP¥207.2b16.3x25.2x0.7x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021JP¥5.1tJP¥7.1tJP¥209.6b16.5x24.4x0.7x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021JP¥5.1tJP¥7.0tJP¥212.7b17.2x23.9x0.7x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021JP¥4.8tJP¥7.0tJP¥212.7b16.6x22.6x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

22.2x


Total Market Cap: JP¥4.7tTotal Earnings: JP¥212.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥7.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Drug Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Drug Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 20.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.59x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Drug Retail industry have grown 2.3% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 3.5% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Drug Retail compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.62%
Consumer Staples-1.00%
Food and Staples Retail-1.06%
Drug Retail1.64%
Food Distributors-1.28%
Big Box Super Stores-1.72%
Food Retail-1.80%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
3088 MatsukiyoCocokaraJP¥2.17k3.0%
+JP¥26.3b
-19.3%PE17.3x
3349 COSMOS PharmaceuticalJP¥12.77k3.0%
+JP¥14.7b
-10.4%PE20.3x
9627 Ain HoldingsJP¥5.99k5.7%
+JP¥11.3b
18.2%PE18.4x
3148 Create SD HoldingsJP¥3.60k4.0%
+JP¥9.0b
1.1%PE16.7x
9989 SundrugLtdJP¥3.92k1.8%
+JP¥8.3b
-7.8%PE15.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

3544

JP¥853.00

Satudora HoldingsLtd

7D

-1.0%

1Y

9.6%

9776

JP¥1,000.00

Sapporo Clinical Laboratory

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-13.8%

3341

JP¥1,428.00

NIHON CHOUZAILtd

7D

1.7%

1Y

22.7%

3148

JP¥3,600.00

Create SD Holdings

7D

4.0%

1Y

1.1%

4558

JP¥206.00

ChukyoiyakuhinLtd

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-5.5%

3034

JP¥1,422.00

Qol Holdings

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-18.7%

2796

JP¥636.00

Pharmarise Holdings

7D

-0.9%

1Y

2.7%

7679

JP¥2,837.00

YAKUODO HOLDINGS

7D

1.2%

1Y

11.6%