Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies19
  • 7D-3.3%
  • 3M19.4%
  • 1Y54.9%
  • YTD25.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Insurance industry has dropped 3.3%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 55%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 8.0% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Apr 2024JP¥26.8tJP¥44.3tJP¥2.1t15x12.7x0.6x
Mon, 18 Mar 2024JP¥27.1tJP¥44.3tJP¥2.1t14.3x12.8x0.6x
Wed, 14 Feb 2024JP¥25.2tJP¥44.0tJP¥1.8t15.3x14.1x0.6x
Fri, 12 Jan 2024JP¥22.4tJP¥44.1tJP¥1.8t14.7x12.5x0.5x
Sun, 10 Dec 2023JP¥22.7tJP¥44.1tJP¥1.8t14.8x12.6x0.5x
Tue, 07 Nov 2023JP¥22.7tJP¥44.0tJP¥1.3t17.2x17.4x0.5x
Thu, 05 Oct 2023JP¥21.6tJP¥44.0tJP¥1.3t16.9x16.6x0.5x
Sat, 02 Sep 2023JP¥20.4tJP¥44.0tJP¥1.3t16x15.7x0.5x
Mon, 31 Jul 2023JP¥20.3tJP¥42.6tJP¥1.2t20x16.3x0.5x
Wed, 28 Jun 2023JP¥20.0tJP¥41.1tJP¥1.2t17.4x16.1x0.5x
Fri, 26 May 2023JP¥18.9tJP¥41.2tJP¥1.2t16.2x15.2x0.5x
Sun, 23 Apr 2023JP¥17.5tJP¥42.6tJP¥1.2t16.5x14.7x0.4x
Tue, 21 Mar 2023JP¥17.0tJP¥42.6tJP¥1.2t16x14.2x0.4x
Thu, 16 Feb 2023JP¥19.4tJP¥42.7tJP¥1.2t17.6x16.2x0.5x
Sat, 14 Jan 2023JP¥18.8tJP¥41.4tJP¥1.2t19.1x16x0.5x
Mon, 12 Dec 2022JP¥17.8tJP¥41.4tJP¥1.2t20.7x15.2x0.4x
Wed, 09 Nov 2022JP¥17.6tJP¥40.2tJP¥1.7t12.8x10.1x0.4x
Fri, 07 Oct 2022JP¥17.3tJP¥40.2tJP¥1.7t12.6x10x0.4x
Sun, 04 Sep 2022JP¥17.1tJP¥40.2tJP¥1.7t12.4x9.9x0.4x
Tue, 02 Aug 2022JP¥17.6tJP¥39.6tJP¥2.0t12.6x8.8x0.4x
Thu, 30 Jun 2022JP¥17.9tJP¥39.4tJP¥2.0t12.9x8.9x0.5x
Sat, 28 May 2022JP¥16.9tJP¥39.4tJP¥2.0t11.7x8.5x0.4x
Mon, 25 Apr 2022JP¥16.6tJP¥40.1tJP¥2.0t10.9x8.2x0.4x
Wed, 23 Mar 2022JP¥17.7tJP¥40.1tJP¥2.0t11.5x8.8x0.4x
Fri, 18 Feb 2022JP¥17.4tJP¥40.2tJP¥2.1t11.4x8.3x0.4x
Sun, 16 Jan 2022JP¥17.3tJP¥40.3tJP¥2.0t12.7x8.8x0.4x
Tue, 14 Dec 2021JP¥15.4tJP¥40.3tJP¥2.0t11x7.8x0.4x
Thu, 11 Nov 2021JP¥15.3tJP¥39.8tJP¥1.7t12.2x8.8x0.4x
Sat, 09 Oct 2021JP¥16.1tJP¥39.8tJP¥1.7t12.5x9.3x0.4x
Mon, 06 Sep 2021JP¥15.8tJP¥39.8tJP¥1.7t12.6x9.1x0.4x
Wed, 04 Aug 2021JP¥14.8tJP¥39.8tJP¥1.7t13.2x8.5x0.4x
Sat, 08 May 2021JP¥15.0tJP¥39.6tJP¥1.6t12x9.6x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9.6x


Total Market Cap: JP¥15.0tTotal Earnings: JP¥1.6tTotal Revenue: JP¥39.6tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 11.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Japanese Insurance industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 11.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.45x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have grown 11% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 3.8% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Financials industry?

JP Market-2.55%
Financials-2.82%
Insurance-3.25%
Reinsurance0%
Property and Casualty Insurance-3.15%
Life and Health Insurance-3.29%
General Insurance-3.64%
Insurance Brokers-11.24%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Insurance Brokers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 26.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 18.4%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 68.0% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the General Insurance industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 3.8x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Insurance Brokers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 18% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 68% per year.
  • In contrast, the Property and Casualty Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.5% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.