Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Specialty Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies47
  • 7D3.2%
  • 3M-3.2%
  • 1Y14.9%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Specialty Stores industry has risen 2.6%, driven by gains from Sanrio Company of 2.7%. Meanwhile, Enigmo actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 8.7% in the last week. This means that the industry has gained 16% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Specialty Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 22 Jun 2024JP¥1.5tJP¥2.2tJP¥58.2b13.5x25x0.7x
Mon, 20 May 2024JP¥1.4tJP¥2.2tJP¥57.5b14.2x23.5x0.6x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024JP¥1.4tJP¥2.1tJP¥54.7b13.9x26.2x0.7x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024JP¥1.5tJP¥2.1tJP¥54.9b15.3x26.7x0.7x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024JP¥1.3tJP¥2.1tJP¥51.1b17x24.8x0.6x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024JP¥1.3tJP¥2.1tJP¥52.8b14.8x24x0.6x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥2.1tJP¥54.2b15.2x23.5x0.6x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥2.1tJP¥50.8b13.8x25x0.6x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥2.1tJP¥52.6b15.2x25.4x0.6x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023JP¥1.4tJP¥2.1tJP¥53.3b15x25.9x0.7x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥2.0tJP¥46.2b14.5x27.1x0.6x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥2.0tJP¥42.8b14.1x28x0.6x
Tue, 23 May 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥2.0tJP¥43.4b14.4x28.2x0.6x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥2.0tJP¥42.0b12.8x28.4x0.6x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023JP¥954.7bJP¥1.8tJP¥39.8b13.6x24x0.5x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023JP¥904.1bJP¥1.8tJP¥37.3b13.2x24.2x0.5x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023JP¥961.3bJP¥1.8tJP¥39.3b13.3x24.4x0.5x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022JP¥953.4bJP¥1.8tJP¥39.1b12.9x24.4x0.5x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022JP¥928.8bJP¥1.8tJP¥35.0b13.8x26.5x0.5x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022JP¥878.3bJP¥1.8tJP¥34.6b11.5x25.4x0.5x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022JP¥877.9bJP¥1.8tJP¥32.4b12.6x27.1x0.5x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022JP¥800.6bJP¥1.7tJP¥29.7b13.5x27x0.5x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022JP¥754.7bJP¥1.7tJP¥30.6b13.2x24.7x0.4x
Wed, 25 May 2022JP¥722.1bJP¥1.7tJP¥31.1b12.3x23.2x0.4x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022JP¥779.4bJP¥1.7tJP¥27.7b14.3x28.1x0.5x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022JP¥789.1bJP¥1.7tJP¥27.1b11.3x29.1x0.5x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022JP¥817.3bJP¥1.7tJP¥28.5b11.8x28.7x0.5x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022JP¥823.4bJP¥1.7tJP¥21.3b11.7x38.7x0.5x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021JP¥811.7bJP¥1.7tJP¥23.1b10.4x35.1x0.5x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021JP¥890.6bJP¥1.7tJP¥24.7b12.8x36.1x0.5x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021JP¥896.8bJP¥1.7tJP¥27.5b12.2x32.6x0.5x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021JP¥907.9bJP¥1.7tJP¥30.3b13x30x0.5x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021JP¥820.3bJP¥1.7tJP¥30.3b14.4x27.1x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

26.7x


Total Market Cap: JP¥862.9bTotal Earnings: JP¥32.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥1.7tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Specialty Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Japanese Specialty Stores industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.55x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Stores industry have grown 22% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 7.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Specialty Stores compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.038%
Consumer Discretionary-0.83%
Specialty Stores-0.79%
Specialty Stores3.20%
Computer and Electronics Retail0.60%
Home Improvement Retail0.25%
Automotive Retail-0.082%
Home Furnishing Retail-0.39%
Apparel Retail-1.44%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
8136 Sanrio CompanyJP¥2.83k1.0%
+JP¥6.4b
45.6%PE38x
5889 Japan Eyewear HoldingsJP¥2.95k9.4%
+JP¥6.1b
n/aPE28.1x
5888 Daiwa CycleLtdJP¥2.63k31.1%
+JP¥1.7b
n/an/a
2652 MandarakeJP¥567.008.6%
+JP¥1.5b
53.7%n/a
3333 AsahiJP¥1.51k2.5%
+JP¥966.2m
17.7%PE12.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

3028

JP¥2,030.00

AlpenLtd

7D

-1.5%

1Y

0.4%

5888

JP¥2,629.00

Daiwa CycleLtd

7D

31.1%

1Y

n/a

2780

JP¥4,335.00

Komehyo HoldingsLtd

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-1.9%

3319

JP¥583.00

Golf Digest Online

7D

7.6%

1Y

-28.3%

3333

JP¥1,507.00

Asahi

7D

2.5%

1Y

17.7%

9278

JP¥1,547.00

Bookoff Group Holdings

7D

-3.5%

1Y

23.4%

3135

JP¥1,010.00

MarketEnterpriseLtd

7D

15.3%

1Y

-33.2%

2652

JP¥567.00

Mandarake

7D

8.6%

1Y

53.7%

7455

JP¥398.00

Paris Miki Holdings

7D

-1.0%

1Y

23.2%

5889

JP¥2,948.00

Japan Eyewear Holdings

7D

9.4%

1Y

n/a

3665

JP¥323.00

Enigmo

7D

-5.0%

1Y

-19.0%

3660

JP¥490.00

istyle

7D

-4.7%

1Y

-26.1%