Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Basic Materials Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies24
  • 7D2.6%
  • 3M17.1%
  • 1Y33.6%
  • YTD8.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Basic Materials industry has risen 4.0%, driven by gains in Krosaki Harima and Taiheiyo Cement of 9.1% and 2.7%, respectively. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 34%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 12% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Basic Materials Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024JP¥1.2tJP¥2.1tJP¥85.8b11.8x13.8x0.6x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024JP¥1.1tJP¥2.0tJP¥60.4b11.2x18.3x0.5x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥2.0tJP¥60.2b10.5x16.9x0.5x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥2.0tJP¥59.6b9.5x16.8x0.5x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023JP¥958.8bJP¥2.0tJP¥24.6b10x39x0.5x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥2.0tJP¥24.6b10.3x41.4x0.5x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥2.0tJP¥22.9b11.4x45.9x0.5x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023JP¥972.4bJP¥1.9tJP¥9.8b10.5x99x0.5x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023JP¥905.3bJP¥1.9tJP¥9.8b9x92.1x0.5x
Wed, 03 May 2023JP¥912.0bJP¥1.9tJP¥24.5b9.3x37.2x0.5x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023JP¥904.7bJP¥1.9tJP¥25.0b9.4x36.2x0.5x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023JP¥893.5bJP¥1.9tJP¥25.0b9x35.8x0.5x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023JP¥817.9bJP¥1.8tJP¥36.7b8.5x22.3x0.4x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022JP¥768.6bJP¥1.8tJP¥36.8b8x20.9x0.4x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022JP¥802.2bJP¥1.8tJP¥36.8b8x21.8x0.4x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022JP¥772.8bJP¥1.8tJP¥70.1b8.1x11x0.4x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022JP¥829.7bJP¥1.8tJP¥69.8b9.9x11.9x0.5x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022JP¥782.8bJP¥1.8tJP¥70.6b8.6x11.1x0.4x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022JP¥780.4bJP¥1.7tJP¥81.5b7.9x9.6x0.5x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022JP¥778.0bJP¥1.7tJP¥81.6b7.8x9.5x0.4x
Thu, 05 May 2022JP¥815.3bJP¥1.8tJP¥96.8b7.8x8.4x0.5x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022JP¥844.0bJP¥1.8tJP¥96.7b7.9x8.7x0.5x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022JP¥846.8bJP¥1.8tJP¥96.7b7.5x8.8x0.5x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022JP¥880.9bJP¥1.8tJP¥106.9b7.7x8.2x0.5x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021JP¥918.6bJP¥1.8tJP¥106.9b7.8x8.6x0.5x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021JP¥916.4bJP¥1.8tJP¥106.9b8.1x8.6x0.5x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021JP¥924.9bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.2b9.6x9x0.5x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021JP¥950.8bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.9b9.3x9.2x0.5x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021JP¥914.6bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.9b9.4x8.9x0.5x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021JP¥861.5bJP¥1.9tJP¥95.1b9.6x9.1x0.4x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021JP¥886.9bJP¥1.9tJP¥91.8b10.3x9.7x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9.7x


Total Market Cap: JP¥886.9bTotal Earnings: JP¥91.8bTotal Revenue: JP¥1.9tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Basic Materials Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Basic Materials industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 13.8x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 23.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.48x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Basic Materials industry have declined 2.3% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.0% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Materials industry?

JP Market1.30%
Materials1.60%
Basic Materials2.63%
Construction Materials2.63%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
5352 Krosaki HarimaJP¥14.38k9.1%
+JP¥10.1b
134.6%PE9.7x
5233 Taiheiyo CementJP¥3.22k2.7%
+JP¥9.9b
31.2%PE28.1x
5273 Mitani SekisanJP¥5.64k2.9%
+JP¥2.9b
31.5%PE10.4x
7821 Maeda KosenJP¥3.43k1.9%
+JP¥2.0b
6.2%PE16.5x
5285 YamaxJP¥1.54k12.1%
+JP¥1.6b
292.9%PE14x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News