Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Basic Materials Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 03, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies24
  • 7D0.6%
  • 3M10.8%
  • 1Y-4.0%
  • YTD7.4%

In the last week, Basic Materials has been flat. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 4.0% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 71% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Basic Materials Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 03 Feb 2023JP¥838.7bJP¥1.8tJP¥36.8b8.7x22.8x0.5x
Sun, 01 Jan 2023JP¥793.4bJP¥1.8tJP¥36.8b7.8x21.6x0.4x
Tue, 29 Nov 2022JP¥823.7bJP¥1.8tJP¥36.8b8.2x22.4x0.5x
Thu, 27 Oct 2022JP¥775.9bJP¥1.8tJP¥70.1b8.3x11.1x0.4x
Sat, 24 Sep 2022JP¥797.4bJP¥1.8tJP¥69.8b8.9x11.4x0.5x
Mon, 22 Aug 2022JP¥799.5bJP¥1.8tJP¥69.8b8.8x11.5x0.5x
Wed, 20 Jul 2022JP¥788.5bJP¥1.7tJP¥81.5b8x9.7x0.5x
Fri, 17 Jun 2022JP¥778.4bJP¥1.7tJP¥81.6b7.7x9.5x0.4x
Sun, 15 May 2022JP¥775.9bJP¥1.8tJP¥96.5b7.5x8x0.4x
Tue, 12 Apr 2022JP¥802.5bJP¥1.8tJP¥96.8b8x8.3x0.5x
Thu, 10 Mar 2022JP¥788.7bJP¥1.8tJP¥96.7b7.8x8.2x0.4x
Sat, 05 Feb 2022JP¥883.0bJP¥1.8tJP¥107.8b8.5x8.2x0.5x
Mon, 03 Jan 2022JP¥933.3bJP¥1.8tJP¥106.9b8.1x8.7x0.5x
Wed, 01 Dec 2021JP¥891.8bJP¥1.8tJP¥106.9b4x8.3x0.5x
Fri, 29 Oct 2021JP¥912.1bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.2b9.1x8.9x0.5x
Sun, 26 Sep 2021JP¥944.2bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.5b9.1x9.2x0.5x
Tue, 24 Aug 2021JP¥893.4bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.9b8.7x8.7x0.5x
Wed, 30 Jun 2021JP¥861.8bJP¥1.9tJP¥102.9b8.9x8.4x0.5x
Sat, 03 Apr 2021JP¥932.2bJP¥1.9tJP¥94.9b11.5x9.8x0.5x
Tue, 05 Jan 2021JP¥819.9bJP¥1.9tJP¥91.8b8.7x8.9x0.4x
Fri, 09 Oct 2020JP¥869.5bJP¥1.9tJP¥86.1b9.1x10.1x0.4x
Thu, 02 Jul 2020JP¥836.5bJP¥2.0tJP¥85.0b8x9.8x0.4x
Sun, 05 Apr 2020JP¥695.2bJP¥2.0tJP¥88.2b8.8x7.9x0.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.5x


Total Market Cap: JP¥937.0bTotal Earnings: JP¥89.4bTotal Revenue: JP¥2.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Basic Materials Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.3x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Basic Materials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 22.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 10.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.45x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Basic Materials industry have declined 26% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 3.0% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Materials industry?

JP Market-0.51%
Materials0.63%
Basic Materials0.61%
Construction Materials0.61%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
7821 Maeda KosenJP¥3.39k2.9%
+JP¥2.9b
5.0%PE24.6x
5288 Asia Pile HoldingsJP¥628.007.0%
+JP¥1.6b
42.4%PE9.2x
5282 GEOSTRJP¥317.002.6%
+JP¥250.3m
-0.3%PE6.8x
5356 Mino CeramicJP¥487.003.2%
+JP¥153.8m
25.2%PE7.5x
5363 TYKJP¥285.001.1%
+JP¥132.7m
-7.5%PE6.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News