Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Beverage Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-3.5%
  • 3M0.5%
  • 1Y12.7%
  • YTD1.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Beverage industry has dropped 3.5%, driven by declines in Sapporo Holdings and Kirin Holdings Company of 9.2% and 2.7%, respectively. In the past year, the industry has gained 13%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 9.3% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Beverage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 22 Feb 2024JP¥7.7tJP¥8.9tJP¥417.0b18x18.5x0.9x
Sat, 20 Jan 2024JP¥7.8tJP¥8.8tJP¥369.1b22.6x21.2x0.9x
Mon, 18 Dec 2023JP¥7.5tJP¥8.8tJP¥369.1b23.1x20.3x0.9x
Wed, 15 Nov 2023JP¥8.0tJP¥8.8tJP¥365.9b23.1x21.8x0.9x
Fri, 13 Oct 2023JP¥7.6tJP¥8.6tJP¥366.0b20.5x20.7x0.9x
Sun, 10 Sep 2023JP¥7.8tJP¥8.6tJP¥366.0b20.9x21.2x0.9x
Tue, 08 Aug 2023JP¥7.4tJP¥8.4tJP¥392.6b19.4x18.9x0.9x
Thu, 06 Jul 2023JP¥7.5tJP¥8.4tJP¥392.8b21.1x19.1x0.9x
Sat, 03 Jun 2023JP¥7.5tJP¥8.4tJP¥392.8b20.5x19.1x0.9x
Mon, 01 May 2023JP¥7.4tJP¥8.3tJP¥385.2b17.8x19.3x0.9x
Wed, 29 Mar 2023JP¥7.0tJP¥8.3tJP¥385.2b17.4x18.1x0.8x
Fri, 24 Feb 2023JP¥6.9tJP¥8.3tJP¥385.5b17.8x17.9x0.8x
Sun, 22 Jan 2023JP¥6.3tJP¥8.1tJP¥395.1b17.3x16x0.8x
Tue, 20 Dec 2022JP¥6.7tJP¥8.1tJP¥395.1b17.4x16.9x0.8x
Thu, 17 Nov 2022JP¥6.6tJP¥8.0tJP¥390.7b16.5x17x0.8x
Sat, 15 Oct 2022JP¥7.0tJP¥7.7tJP¥331.9b20.2x21.2x0.9x
Mon, 12 Sep 2022JP¥7.1tJP¥7.7tJP¥331.9b19.7x21.5x0.9x
Wed, 10 Aug 2022JP¥7.0tJP¥7.6tJP¥326.5b20.7x21.4x0.9x
Fri, 08 Jul 2022JP¥7.1tJP¥7.5tJP¥296.1b20.4x23.9x0.9x
Sun, 05 Jun 2022JP¥6.8tJP¥7.5tJP¥296.1b19.8x22.8x0.9x
Tue, 03 May 2022JP¥6.9tJP¥7.4tJP¥312.6b23.4x22.2x0.9x
Thu, 31 Mar 2022JP¥6.6tJP¥7.4tJP¥312.6b23x21.3x0.9x
Sat, 26 Feb 2022JP¥6.8tJP¥7.4tJP¥311.2b22.7x21.9x0.9x
Mon, 24 Jan 2022JP¥6.7tJP¥7.3tJP¥271.5b24.1x24.8x0.9x
Wed, 22 Dec 2021JP¥6.6tJP¥7.3tJP¥270.1b25.7x24.3x0.9x
Fri, 19 Nov 2021JP¥6.8tJP¥7.3tJP¥268.0b26.4x25.4x0.9x
Sun, 17 Oct 2021JP¥7.4tJP¥7.3tJP¥284.3b27.6x26.2x1x
Tue, 14 Sep 2021JP¥7.8tJP¥7.3tJP¥284.3b28.3x27.4x1.1x
Thu, 12 Aug 2021JP¥6.8tJP¥7.3tJP¥284.3b26.2x24.1x0.9x
Mon, 07 Jun 2021JP¥7.2tJP¥7.1tJP¥227.4b27x31.7x1x
Sun, 28 Feb 2021JP¥6.7tJP¥7.2tJP¥208.3b26.8x32x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

32x


Total Market Cap: JP¥6.7tTotal Earnings: JP¥208.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥7.2tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Beverage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Beverage industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 18.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 22.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.91x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Beverage industry have grown 26% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 7.7% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Consumer Staples industry?

JP Market0.74%
Consumer Staples-0.49%
Beverage-3.51%
Soft Drinks-2.41%
Brewers-3.97%
Distillers and Wine Makers-4.77%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Soft Drinks industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 32.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 11.1%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 46.0% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Distillers and Wine Makers industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 15.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Distillers and Wine Makers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 14% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 41% per year.
  • In contrast, the Brewers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.3% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2587 Suntory Beverage & FoodJP¥4.90k2.0%
+JP¥29.0b
1.7%PE18.3x
2579 Coca-Cola Bottlers Japan HoldingsJP¥1.99k5.5%
+JP¥18.8b
38.8%PE191.2x
2502 Asahi Group HoldingsJP¥5.43k0.3%
+JP¥9.1b
14.4%PE16.8x
2588 Premium Water HoldingsIncJP¥3.30k4.3%
+JP¥4.0b
25.3%PE15.6x
2593 Ito EnJP¥4.22k0.8%
+JP¥4.0b
-5.0%PE31.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2501

JP¥6,758.00

Sapporo Holdings

7D

-9.2%

1Y

114.2%

2587

JP¥4,904.00

Suntory Beverage & Food

7D

2.0%

1Y

1.7%

2533

JP¥346.00

Oenon Holdings

7D

-4.2%

1Y

32.1%

2531

JP¥1,205.00

Takara Holdings

7D

-0.9%

1Y

15.0%

2579

JP¥1,994.00

Coca-Cola Bottlers Japan Holdings

7D

5.5%

1Y

38.8%

2503

JP¥2,147.50

Kirin Holdings Company

7D

-2.7%

1Y

6.2%

2502

JP¥5,434.00

Asahi Group Holdings

7D

0.3%

1Y

14.4%

2593

JP¥4,217.00

Ito En

7D

0.8%

1Y

-5.0%

2573

JP¥2,471.00

Hokkaido Coca-Cola BottlingLtd

7D

-0.8%

1Y

18.7%

2588

JP¥3,300.00

Premium Water HoldingsInc

7D

4.3%

1Y

25.3%

2599

JP¥1,367.00

Japan Foods

7D

1.0%

1Y

24.8%

2540

JP¥1,876.00

Yomeishu SeizoLtd

7D

0.4%

1Y

2.6%