Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Oil and Gas Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies22
  • 7D-2.4%
  • 3M2.8%
  • 1Y45.9%
  • YTD25.8%

Over the last 7 days, the Oil and Gas industry has dropped 2.4%, driven by a pullback from Inpex of 3.9%. In contrast, Itochu EnexLtd has gained 7.2%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 46%. Looking forward, earnings are expected to remain mostly flat in the next few years.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Oil and Gas Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Jul 2024JP¥8.9tJP¥32.3tJP¥1.1t10.9x8.4x0.3x
Thu, 20 Jun 2024JP¥8.9tJP¥32.3tJP¥1.1t10.3x8.4x0.3x
Sat, 18 May 2024JP¥8.7tJP¥32.3tJP¥1.1t10.5x8.3x0.3x
Mon, 15 Apr 2024JP¥9.3tJP¥32.3tJP¥1.0t10.5x9.1x0.3x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024JP¥7.9tJP¥32.3tJP¥1.1t10.5x7.4x0.2x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024JP¥7.3tJP¥32.8tJP¥806.2b12.4x9.1x0.2x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024JP¥7.3tJP¥32.8tJP¥807.2b12.2x9x0.2x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023JP¥7.3tJP¥32.8tJP¥807.2b12.1x9x0.2x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023JP¥7.4tJP¥33.8tJP¥707.2b10.4x10.5x0.2x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023JP¥7.5tJP¥33.8tJP¥707.6b10.3x10.6x0.2x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023JP¥6.8tJP¥33.8tJP¥707.6b10.2x9.6x0.2x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023JP¥6.5tJP¥34.8tJP¥1.1t10.4x5.9x0.2x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023JP¥6.0tJP¥34.8tJP¥1.1t10x5.4x0.2x
Sun, 21 May 2023JP¥5.7tJP¥34.8tJP¥1.1t9.9x5.2x0.2x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023JP¥5.7tJP¥34.1tJP¥1.4t9x4.2x0.2x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023JP¥5.5tJP¥34.1tJP¥1.4t8.2x4x0.2x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023JP¥5.5tJP¥31.9tJP¥1.7t8.1x3.2x0.2x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023JP¥5.3tJP¥31.9tJP¥1.8t8.4x3x0.2x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022JP¥5.7tJP¥31.9tJP¥1.8t8.5x3.2x0.2x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022JP¥6.0tJP¥28.9tJP¥1.7t8.6x3.6x0.2x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022JP¥5.5tJP¥28.8tJP¥1.7t8.3x3.3x0.2x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022JP¥6.3tJP¥28.8tJP¥1.7t8.5x3.8x0.2x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022JP¥5.9tJP¥25.7tJP¥1.3t8.5x4.6x0.2x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022JP¥5.8tJP¥25.7tJP¥1.3t7.8x4.5x0.2x
Mon, 23 May 2022JP¥6.1tJP¥25.7tJP¥1.3t7.9x4.7x0.2x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022JP¥6.0tJP¥23.5tJP¥992.7b9x6x0.3x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022JP¥5.5tJP¥23.5tJP¥992.4b8.6x5.5x0.2x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022JP¥5.1tJP¥23.5tJP¥992.5b8.7x5.2x0.2x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022JP¥5.0tJP¥21.5tJP¥743.4b11.2x6.8x0.2x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021JP¥4.8tJP¥21.5tJP¥743.4b11.3x6.5x0.2x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021JP¥5.0tJP¥20.0tJP¥706.8b11.6x7.1x0.3x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021JP¥4.9tJP¥20.0tJP¥706.6b11.3x6.9x0.2x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021JP¥4.5tJP¥20.0tJP¥708.2b11.9x6.3x0.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

6.5x


Total Market Cap: JP¥4.6tTotal Earnings: JP¥708.2bTotal Revenue: JP¥20.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Oil and Gas Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Oil and Gas industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 6.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.22x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Oil and Gas industry have grown 14% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 17% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Energy industry?

JP Market-2.28%
Energy-2.37%
Oil and Gas-2.39%
Integrated Oil and Gas0%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing-1.81%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production-3.07%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation-3.43%
Coal and Fuels-4.24%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Coal and Fuels industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 11.6x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 8.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 6.6% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 5.9% per year.
  • In contrast, the Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 2.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
8133 Itochu EnexLtdJP¥1.66k7.2%
+JP¥12.6b
21.7%PE13.5x
8097 San-Ai ObbliJP¥2.19k1.3%
+JP¥1.9b
37.8%PE12.5x
8132 Sinanen HoldingsJP¥4.72k0.3%
+JP¥163.2m
22.9%PS0.1x
7441 MisumiJP¥1.76k0.7%
+JP¥74.4m
-1.6%PE14.2x
9130 Kyoei TankerJP¥1.29k0.5%
+JP¥53.5m
48.6%PE67.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

8088

JP¥9,877.00

Iwatani

7D

-4.5%

1Y

33.8%

8097

JP¥2,189.00

San-Ai Obbli

7D

1.3%

1Y

37.8%

8132

JP¥4,720.00

Sinanen Holdings

7D

0.3%

1Y

22.9%

7490

JP¥914.00

Nissin ShojiLtd

7D

0.8%

1Y

0.2%

7486

JP¥708.00

Sanrin

7D

0.3%

1Y

6.9%

8131

JP¥1,681.00

Mitsuuroko Group HoldingsLtd

7D

-2.9%

1Y

24.0%

7441

JP¥1,759.00

Misumi

7D

0.7%

1Y

-1.6%

9074

JP¥3,035.00

Japan Oil Transportation

7D

0.2%

1Y

6.6%