Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Electric Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 30, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D5.7%
  • 3M13.2%
  • 1Y11.6%
  • YTD16.6%

In the last week, the Electric Utilities industry is up 5.9%, with all of the companies up. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 13%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 32% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Electric Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPE
Fri, 01 Jul 2022JP¥4.7tJP¥18.0t-JP¥97,283,000,000.0036x
Sun, 29 May 2022JP¥4.5tJP¥18.0t-JP¥97,050,000,000.0033.5x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022JP¥4.3tJP¥17.9tJP¥65.0b16x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022JP¥4.3tJP¥17.9tJP¥65.0b16.2x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022JP¥4.1tJP¥17.9tJP¥66.5b15.4x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022JP¥4.0tJP¥17.9tJP¥317.1b12.3x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021JP¥4.0tJP¥17.9tJP¥317.1b12x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021JP¥3.8tJP¥18.3tJP¥316.8b11.4x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021JP¥4.2tJP¥18.8tJP¥458.0b11x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021JP¥4.1tJP¥18.8tJP¥458.0b10.8x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021JP¥4.1tJP¥18.8tJP¥458.0b10.6x
Sun, 09 May 2021JP¥4.4tJP¥19.9tJP¥566.1b12.1x
Wed, 10 Feb 2021JP¥4.4tJP¥19.3tJP¥231.8b8.9x
Tue, 03 Nov 2020JP¥4.0tJP¥19.7tJP¥291.1b7.8x
Fri, 07 Aug 2020JP¥4.1tJP¥20.0tJP¥284.1b7.5x
Thu, 30 Apr 2020JP¥4.6tJP¥20.4tJP¥558.0b8x
Sun, 02 Feb 2020JP¥4.9tJP¥20.8tJP¥1.1t6.9x
Wed, 06 Nov 2019JP¥5.3tJP¥21.0tJP¥1.1t7.8x
Sat, 10 Aug 2019JP¥5.3tJP¥21.0tJP¥928.3b9.7x
Median PE Ratio

9.5x


Total Market Cap: JP¥5.2tTotal Earnings: JP¥928.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥21.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Electric Utilities Industry Median PE3Y Average 11.1x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the industry, and appear confident in long-term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.23x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Electric Utilities industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 5.1% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Electric Utilities compare with similar industries?

JP Market0.26%
Utilities5.01%
Electric Utilities5.74%
Electric Utilities5.74%
Industry PEThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
9501 Tokyo Electric Power Company HoldingsJP¥567.0018.9%
+JP¥144.2b
70.3%PE161.1x
9502 Chubu Electric Power CompanyJP¥1.37k4.2%
+JP¥41.6b
0.3%PS0.4x
9503 Kansai Electric Power CompanyJP¥1.34k2.1%
+JP¥24.1b
26.5%PE14x
9508 Kyushu Electric Power CompanyJP¥872.003.0%
+JP¥11.8b
1.5%PE60x
9506 Tohoku Electric Power CompanyJP¥727.003.0%
+JP¥10.5b
-16.6%PS0.2x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News