Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Gas Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D1.6%
  • 3M1.8%
  • 1Y26.8%
  • YTD-0.6%

In the last week, the Gas Utilities industry is up 2.3%, with Tokyo GasLtd up 5.1%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 28%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to decline by 13% per year.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Gas Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024JP¥3.5tJP¥7.0tJP¥516.4b8.4x6.8x0.5x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024JP¥3.5tJP¥7.5tJP¥604.5b7.9x5.8x0.5x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023JP¥3.5tJP¥7.5tJP¥604.5b7.7x5.8x0.5x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023JP¥3.5tJP¥7.5tJP¥604.1b7.5x5.7x0.5x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023JP¥3.4tJP¥7.7tJP¥533.4b8x6.3x0.4x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023JP¥3.3tJP¥7.7tJP¥533.4b8.1x6.2x0.4x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023JP¥3.2tJP¥7.7tJP¥532.5b7.7x6x0.4x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023JP¥3.0tJP¥7.6tJP¥434.0b8.5x7x0.4x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023JP¥3.1tJP¥7.6tJP¥433.7b9.5x7.1x0.4x
Wed, 03 May 2023JP¥3.0tJP¥7.4tJP¥446.9b11.5x6.7x0.4x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023JP¥2.8tJP¥7.1tJP¥377.1b11.4x7.4x0.4x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023JP¥2.8tJP¥7.1tJP¥377.1b11.7x7.5x0.4x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023JP¥2.7tJP¥6.3tJP¥247.5b12.1x11x0.4x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022JP¥2.8tJP¥6.3tJP¥247.5b12.4x11.3x0.4x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022JP¥2.8tJP¥6.3tJP¥247.4b13.1x11.2x0.4x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022JP¥2.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥272.9b13.4x10.6x0.5x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022JP¥3.0tJP¥5.7tJP¥272.8b13.3x10.8x0.5x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022JP¥2.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥272.1b13.9x10.8x0.5x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022JP¥2.9tJP¥5.2tJP¥261.6b15.8x11.2x0.6x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022JP¥3.0tJP¥5.2tJP¥261.9b14.5x11.6x0.6x
Thu, 05 May 2022JP¥2.8tJP¥5.2tJP¥264.9b15.7x10.7x0.5x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022JP¥2.6tJP¥4.7tJP¥136.7b15.8x18.9x0.5x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022JP¥2.7tJP¥4.7tJP¥136.7b15.1x19.6x0.6x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022JP¥2.6tJP¥4.5tJP¥166.9b15x15.5x0.6x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021JP¥2.5tJP¥4.5tJP¥166.9b14.8x15.1x0.6x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021JP¥2.4tJP¥4.5tJP¥166.8b14.9x14.6x0.5x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021JP¥2.5tJP¥4.4tJP¥184.4b13.1x13.6x0.6x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021JP¥3.0tJP¥4.4tJP¥184.4b13.5x16x0.7x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021JP¥2.9tJP¥4.4tJP¥184.3b12.5x15.9x0.7x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021JP¥3.0tJP¥4.4tJP¥173.5b12.3x17.1x0.7x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021JP¥2.9tJP¥4.5tJP¥165.8b14x17.8x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

17.8x


Total Market Cap: JP¥2.9tTotal Earnings: JP¥165.8bTotal Revenue: JP¥4.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Gas Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 11.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Gas Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.8x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 11.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.52x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Gas Utilities industry have grown 46% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 16% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Utilities industry?

JP Market1.30%
Utilities1.50%
Gas Utilities1.61%
Gas Utilities1.61%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
9531 Tokyo GasLtdJP¥3.30k5.1%
+JP¥66.0b
29.4%PE5.9x
9533 Toho GasJP¥2.93k1.6%
+JP¥5.0b
13.4%PE7.4x
9536 Saibu Gas HoldingsLtdJP¥1.88k1.1%
+JP¥777.6m
5.0%PE9.5x
9535 HIROSHIMA GASLtdJP¥388.001.6%
+JP¥410.9m
11.8%PE5.8x
3361 ToellLtdJP¥801.002.6%
+JP¥406.2m
1.9%PE9.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

9543

JP¥893.00

Shizuoka Gas

7D

-4.9%

1Y

-21.5%

9539

JP¥2,681.00

Keiyo Gas

7D

-0.7%

1Y

10.5%

1663

JP¥2,305.00

K&O Energy Group

7D

-4.4%

1Y

3.9%

8174

JP¥2,334.50

Nippon Gas

7D

-1.2%

1Y

25.2%

9535

JP¥388.00

HIROSHIMA GASLtd

7D

1.6%

1Y

11.8%

9537

JP¥3,595.00

Hokuriku GasLtd

7D

-2.8%

1Y

21.8%

9531

JP¥3,303.00

Tokyo GasLtd

7D

5.1%

1Y

29.4%

9534

JP¥2,282.00

Hokkaido Gas

7D

1.0%

1Y

25.2%

9533

JP¥2,933.50

Toho Gas

7D

1.6%

1Y

13.4%

9532

JP¥3,014.00

Osaka Gas

7D

-0.6%

1Y

37.4%

3361

JP¥801.00

ToellLtd

7D

2.6%

1Y

1.9%