Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Tobacco Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 04, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies2
  • 7D1.0%
  • 3M0.2%
  • 1Y32.5%
  • YTD23.4%

Over the last 7 days, the Tobacco industry has risen 1.1%, driven by gains from every company within the industry. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 33%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 12% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Tobacco Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 04 Dec 2022UK£95.6bUK£43.3bUK£6.9b13.3x13.8x2.2x
Tue, 01 Nov 2022UK£96.6bUK£42.8bUK£7.4b12x13.1x2.3x
Thu, 29 Sep 2022UK£93.9bUK£42.8bUK£7.4b11.5x12.7x2.2x
Sat, 27 Aug 2022UK£95.5bUK£42.8bUK£7.4b11.6x12.9x2.2x
Mon, 25 Jul 2022UK£94.5bUK£42.1bUK£8.8b10x10.7x2.2x
Wed, 22 Jun 2022UK£96.0bUK£42.1bUK£8.8b10x10.9x2.3x
Fri, 20 May 2022UK£94.8bUK£42.1bUK£8.8b9.9x10.8x2.2x
Sun, 17 Apr 2022UK£89.7bUK£42.2bUK£9.6b8.2x9.3x2.1x
Tue, 15 Mar 2022UK£83.6bUK£42.2bUK£9.6b7.6x8.7x2x
Thu, 10 Feb 2022UK£91.1bUK£42.2bUK£9.0b9x10.1x2.2x
Sat, 08 Jan 2022UK£80.1bUK£42.2bUK£9.0b7.9x8.9x1.9x
Mon, 06 Dec 2021UK£73.9bUK£42.2bUK£9.0b7.4x8.2x1.7x
Wed, 03 Nov 2021UK£72.6bUK£42.6bUK£9.0b7.3x8.1x1.7x
Fri, 01 Oct 2021UK£74.2bUK£42.6bUK£9.0b7.4x8.3x1.7x
Sun, 29 Aug 2021UK£76.1bUK£42.6bUK£9.0b7.6x8.5x1.8x
Mon, 05 Jul 2021UK£78.7bUK£42.6bUK£9.0b7.8x8.8x1.8x
Thu, 08 Apr 2021UK£77.4bUK£42.7bUK£9.1b7.6x8.5x1.8x
Sun, 10 Jan 2021UK£76.3bUK£42.6bUK£8.5b8.2x8.9x1.8x
Sat, 03 Oct 2020UK£76.3bUK£42.5bUK£7.9b9.3x9.7x1.8x
Tue, 07 Jul 2020UK£85.4bUK£42.4bUK£7.5b11.7x11.4x2x
Fri, 10 Apr 2020UK£77.1bUK£42.3bUK£6.9b13.4x11.2x1.8x
Thu, 02 Jan 2020UK£91.4bUK£42.1bUK£6.6b15.9x13.8x2.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.8x


Total Market Cap: UK£91.4bTotal Earnings: UK£6.6bTotal Revenue: UK£42.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Tobacco Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.2x20212022
Current Industry PE
    There are only 2 companies in the British Tobacco industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Both revenue and earnings for companies in the Tobacco industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • This means that sales and the cost of doing business have remained relatively consistent over this period and subsequently, so have profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Tobacco compare with similar industries?

GB Market0.80%
Consumer Staples1.47%
Tobacco0.98%
Tobacco0.98%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BATS British American TobaccoUK£34.081.6%
+UK£1.1b
31.9%PE14.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.