Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Gas Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D4.9%
  • 3M4.6%
  • 1Y-23.8%
  • YTD1.5%

The Gas Utilities industry is up 4.9% in the last week, with ENN Energy Holdings up 11%. During this same period, the Zhongyu Energy Holdings underperformed, falling 8.7%. However, the industry is down 24% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 9.7% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Gas Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024HK$416.2bHK$717.3bHK$36.3b10.1x11.5x0.6x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024HK$384.0bHK$719.0bHK$36.4b10x10.5x0.5x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023HK$386.8bHK$718.9bHK$36.4b9.9x10.6x0.5x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023HK$405.2bHK$720.7bHK$37.6b10.1x10.8x0.6x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023HK$397.8bHK$719.5bHK$37.6b9.7x10.6x0.6x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023HK$382.3bHK$720.2bHK$37.6b9.2x10.2x0.5x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023HK$460.1bHK$721.1bHK$36.9b11.2x12.5x0.6x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023HK$445.9bHK$720.8bHK$36.9b10.6x12.1x0.6x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023HK$498.1bHK$727.8bHK$39.7b11.8x12.5x0.7x
Wed, 03 May 2023HK$510.1bHK$736.5bHK$40.0b10.9x12.7x0.7x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023HK$507.6bHK$728.6bHK$42.6b9.1x11.9x0.7x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023HK$546.2bHK$701.5bHK$44.7b9.3x12.2x0.8x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023HK$560.5bHK$708.9bHK$45.1b9x12.4x0.8x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022HK$505.5bHK$698.3bHK$44.5b8.9x11.3x0.7x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022HK$461.1bHK$687.7bHK$45.1b8.3x10.2x0.7x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022HK$451.4bHK$686.6bHK$45.0b8.4x10x0.7x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022HK$523.5bHK$698.3bHK$45.6b9.1x11.5x0.7x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022HK$559.7bHK$635.6bHK$49.0b8.7x11.4x0.9x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022HK$595.3bHK$633.0bHK$49.2b9.2x12.1x0.9x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022HK$582.8bHK$627.9bHK$51.1b9.3x11.4x0.9x
Thu, 05 May 2022HK$540.9bHK$630.2bHK$51.2b9.5x10.6x0.9x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022HK$581.4bHK$641.8bHK$51.9b9.4x11.2x0.9x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022HK$655.2bHK$587.6bHK$51.9b10.7x12.6x1.1x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022HK$694.1bHK$586.3bHK$51.8b11.7x13.4x1.2x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021HK$735.3bHK$585.1bHK$51.8b13.1x14.2x1.3x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021HK$719.9bHK$572.3bHK$52.7b11.7x13.7x1.3x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021HK$701.0bHK$569.9bHK$52.5b11x13.3x1.2x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021HK$780.8bHK$568.5bHK$52.4b11.7x14.9x1.4x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021HK$830.5bHK$570.5bHK$52.3b13.1x15.9x1.5x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021HK$810.4bHK$533.2bHK$47.4b15.4x17.1x1.5x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021HK$735.9bHK$494.1bHK$42.3b16.8x17.4x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

17.4x


Total Market Cap: HK$735.9bTotal Earnings: HK$42.3bTotal Revenue: HK$494.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Gas Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 12.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Hong Kong Gas Utilities industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 12.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.93x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Gas Utilities industry have declined 4.9% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Utilities industry?

HK Market4.19%
Utilities6.68%
Gas Utilities4.95%
Gas Utilities4.95%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2688 ENN Energy HoldingsHK$64.5011.2%
+HK$7.3b
-45.1%PE11x
392 Beijing Enterprises HoldingsHK$30.659.1%
+HK$3.2b
15.4%PE5.4x
1193 China Resources Gas GroupHK$23.706.0%
+HK$3.1b
-30.8%PE10.5x
135 Kunlun EnergyHK$7.314.9%
+HK$2.9b
10.9%PE10.8x
3 Hong Kong and China GasHK$6.042.0%
+HK$2.2b
-18.0%PE20.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2688

HK$64.50

ENN Energy Holdings

7D

11.2%

1Y

-45.1%

1265

HK$0.21

Tianjin Jinran Public Utilities

7D

-0.9%

1Y

-25.3%

1407

HK$0.51

Jy Gas

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-33.8%

2886

HK$1.34

Binhai Investment

7D

4.7%

1Y

-11.3%