Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Capital Markets Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies94
  • 7D-2.6%
  • 3M-1.8%
  • 1Y-32.6%
  • YTD-16.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Capital Markets industry has dropped 2.6%, driven by Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing declining 2.0%. However, the industry is down 33% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Capital Markets Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024HK$793.1bHK$168.4bHK$33.3b10.5x23.8x4.7x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024HK$870.3bHK$160.2bHK$35.0b9.2x24.8x5.4x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024HK$876.3bHK$162.0bHK$35.4b9.8x24.7x5.4x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024HK$869.1bHK$163.4bHK$34.6b10.1x25.1x5.3x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023HK$945.5bHK$163.2bHK$34.5b11x27.4x5.8x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023HK$989.8bHK$174.2bHK$33.2b10.6x29.8x5.7x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023HK$959.1bHK$175.8bHK$34.5b10.9x27.8x5.5x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023HK$1.0tHK$171.1bHK$34.4b11.1x29.7x6x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023HK$1.1tHK$183.2bHK$33.3b12.1x31.7x5.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023HK$966.9bHK$182.1bHK$33.0b11.9x29.3x5.3x
Mon, 29 May 2023HK$1.0tHK$199.9bHK$37.6b14.2x26.9x5.1x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023HK$1.0tHK$199.9bHK$36.2b13.2x28.7x5.2x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023HK$1.1tHK$220.0bHK$47.4b12.5x22.9x4.9x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023HK$1.1tHK$218.9bHK$45.7b12.2x23.4x4.9x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023HK$1.1tHK$221.9bHK$46.4b14.5x24.7x5.2x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022HK$1.1tHK$215.3bHK$44.5b14.7x24x5x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022HK$954.3bHK$209.9bHK$41.0b11.9x23.3x4.5x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022HK$905.0bHK$217.4bHK$40.4b9x22.4x4.2x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022HK$1.0tHK$211.5bHK$41.8b10.5x25x4.9x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022HK$1.1tHK$238.2bHK$57.2b9.3x19x4.6x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022HK$1.2tHK$239.7bHK$57.6b11.4x20.8x5x
Tue, 31 May 2022HK$1.0tHK$239.8bHK$60.0b8.5x17.5x4.4x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022HK$1.0tHK$245.9bHK$63.5b8.3x16.1x4.2x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022HK$1.2tHK$293.8bHK$67.6b6.9x17.9x4.1x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022HK$1.3tHK$266.8bHK$67.7b7x19.7x5x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022HK$1.4tHK$265.6bHK$67.4b6.7x20.4x5.2x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021HK$1.4tHK$265.4bHK$67.5b8.1x21x5.3x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021HK$1.4tHK$264.8bHK$72.2b8.4x19.5x5.3x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021HK$1.4tHK$254.7bHK$66.4b8.7x21.6x5.6x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021HK$1.5tHK$244.7bHK$66.3b10x22.6x6.1x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021HK$1.4tHK$243.0bHK$70.7b10.3x20.4x5.9x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021HK$1.4tHK$230.3bHK$66.4b10.1x21.1x6.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

21.1x


Total Market Cap: HK$1.4tTotal Earnings: HK$66.4bTotal Revenue: HK$230.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Capital Markets Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Hong Kong Capital Markets industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 5.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Capital Markets industry have declined 21% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 9.9% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Financials industry?

HK Market-0.66%
Financials1.93%
Capital Markets-2.60%
Asset Management1.46%
Investment Banking and Brokerage-1.07%
Diversified Capital Markets-1.25%
Financial Exchanges and Data-5.56%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Financial Exchanges and Data industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 49.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 8.8%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 20.8% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Asset Management industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 28% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 43% per year.
  • In contrast, the Financial Exchanges and Data industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
1359 China Cinda Asset ManagementHK$0.674.7%
+HK$1.1b
-27.2%PE5.5x
3908 China International CapitalHK$8.612.0%
+HK$820.6m
-47.0%PE7x
2799 China CITIC Financial Asset ManagementHK$0.303.4%
+HK$802.5m
-25.9%PE12.6x
863 OSL GroupHK$9.9012.6%
+HK$695.3m
243.8%PS29.6x
1973 Tian Tu CapitalHK$3.6921.0%
+HK$443.5m
n/aPB0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

9636

HK$10.60

JF Wealth Holdings

7D

7.0%

1Y

-34.2%

245

HK$0.07

China Vered Financial Holding

7D

12.9%

1Y

n/a

863

HK$9.90

OSL Group

7D

12.6%

1Y

243.8%

3908

HK$8.61

China International Capital

7D

2.0%

1Y

-47.0%

1456

HK$2.88

Guolian Securities

7D

-4.3%

1Y

-22.4%

1973

HK$3.69

Tian Tu Capital

7D

21.0%

1Y

n/a

806

HK$1.68

Value Partners Group

7D

-2.3%

1Y

-32.0%

1359

HK$0.67

China Cinda Asset Management

7D

4.7%

1Y

-27.2%

1328

HK$0.026

Goldstream Investment

7D

-21.2%

1Y

-50.0%

1697

HK$0.29

Shandong International Trust

7D

-10.8%

1Y

-24.7%