Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Steel Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies22
  • 7D3.7%
  • 3M-2.7%
  • 1Y-26.1%
  • YTDn/a

The Steel industry is up 2.1% in the last week, with Mongolian Mining up 12%. However, the industry is down 24% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 75% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Steel Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 20 Feb 2024HK$104.2bHK$447.9b-HK$2,718,095,451.654x-38.3x0.2x
Thu, 18 Jan 2024HK$101.2bHK$464.7b-HK$4,180,514,785.004.2x-24.2x0.2x
Sat, 16 Dec 2023HK$99.2bHK$468.8b-HK$4,248,104,486.004x-23.4x0.2x
Mon, 13 Nov 2023HK$97.6bHK$458.2b-HK$4,062,145,691.004x-24x0.2x
Wed, 11 Oct 2023HK$99.9bHK$460.1b-HK$7,038,100,699.004x-14.2x0.2x
Fri, 08 Sep 2023HK$101.3bHK$459.4b-HK$6,998,213,075.004x-14.5x0.2x
Sun, 06 Aug 2023HK$107.6bHK$477.5b-HK$2,417,609,611.005x-44.5x0.2x
Tue, 04 Jul 2023HK$95.5bHK$474.2b-HK$2,379,150,653.004.6x-40.2x0.2x
Thu, 01 Jun 2023HK$99.8bHK$483.2b-HK$2,482,634,593.004.4x-40.2x0.2x
Sat, 29 Apr 2023HK$108.9bHK$498.8b-HK$12,232,690.005.1x-8901.6x0.2x
Mon, 27 Mar 2023HK$112.0bHK$511.4bHK$5.1b5.5x21.7x0.2x
Wed, 22 Feb 2023HK$119.2bHK$508.8bHK$5.5b4x21.6x0.2x
Fri, 20 Jan 2023HK$115.4bHK$514.6bHK$5.5b4x20.8x0.2x
Sun, 18 Dec 2022HK$116.4bHK$544.4bHK$8.8b3.9x13.2x0.2x
Tue, 15 Nov 2022HK$106.4bHK$537.4bHK$8.7b3.5x12.2x0.2x
Thu, 13 Oct 2022HK$103.2bHK$548.3bHK$16.9b4.3x6.1x0.2x
Sat, 10 Sep 2022HK$118.0bHK$562.4bHK$17.2b5.1x6.9x0.2x
Mon, 08 Aug 2022HK$123.4bHK$577.7bHK$29.0b4.9x4.3x0.2x
Wed, 06 Jul 2022HK$144.0bHK$582.1bHK$29.2b4.7x4.9x0.2x
Fri, 03 Jun 2022HK$150.1bHK$584.4bHK$29.3b5.1x5.1x0.3x
Sun, 01 May 2022HK$139.2bHK$579.7bHK$29.0b5.2x4.8x0.2x
Tue, 29 Mar 2022HK$156.5bHK$568.6bHK$32.7b4.4x4.8x0.3x
Thu, 24 Feb 2022HK$163.5bHK$562.9bHK$34.1b4x4.8x0.3x
Sat, 22 Jan 2022HK$166.1bHK$559.4bHK$33.9b4.2x4.9x0.3x
Mon, 20 Dec 2021HK$159.7bHK$557.6bHK$33.8b4.2x4.7x0.3x
Wed, 17 Nov 2021HK$151.5bHK$556.7bHK$33.8b4.1x4.5x0.3x
Fri, 15 Oct 2021HK$178.2bHK$528.0bHK$30.4b4.9x5.9x0.3x
Sun, 12 Sep 2021HK$234.0bHK$525.0bHK$30.2b7.9x7.7x0.4x
Tue, 10 Aug 2021HK$170.8bHK$525.7bHK$30.1b5.6x5.7x0.3x
Mon, 03 May 2021HK$194.9bHK$462.9bHK$18.9b8.7x10.3x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

11.8x


Total Market Cap: HK$152.1bTotal Earnings: HK$12.9bTotal Revenue: HK$420.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Steel Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -9.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Steel industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.26x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Steel industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 2.2% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Hong Kong Steel compare with similar industries?

HK Market2.53%
Materials4.10%
Metals and Mining4.84%
Steel3.69%
Gold7.38%
Aluminum4.36%
Copper3.18%
Diversified Metals and Mining1.35%
Precious Metals and Minerals0%
Silver-4.76%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
975 Mongolian MiningHK$11.3214.2%
+HK$1.5b
232.9%PE6.6x
323 Maanshan Iron & SteelHK$1.236.0%
+HK$542.3m
-36.6%PS0.09x
347 Angang SteelHK$1.343.9%
+HK$466.6m
-49.8%PS0.1x
639 Shougang Fushan Resources GroupHK$3.122.0%
+HK$295.6m
14.3%PE6.6x
826 Tiangong InternationalHK$1.632.5%
+HK$111.0m
-45.5%PE9.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

6885

HK$1.06

Henan Jinma Energy

7D

-3.6%

1Y

-65.0%

347

HK$1.34

Angang Steel

7D

3.9%

1Y

-49.8%

323

HK$1.23

Maanshan Iron & Steel

7D

6.0%

1Y

-36.6%

1053

HK$0.70

Chongqing Iron & Steel

7D

1.4%

1Y

-23.1%

2738

HK$1.53

Huajin International Holdings

7D

11.7%

1Y

0.7%

639

HK$3.12

Shougang Fushan Resources Group

7D

2.0%

1Y

14.3%

2798

HK$0.93

Perennial Energy Holdings

7D

6.9%

1Y

-2.1%