Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D3.8%
  • 3M-4.0%
  • 1Y-15.5%
  • YTD3.1%

The Insurance industry is up 3.8% in the last week, with PICC Property and Casualty up 9.5%. In contrast, the industry has lost 16% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 26% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 26 Feb 2024HK$2.1tHK$2.9tHK$92.4b7.8x22.8x0.7x
Wed, 24 Jan 2024HK$1.9tHK$2.9tHK$92.7b7.1x20x0.6x
Fri, 22 Dec 2023HK$2.7tHK$4.5tHK$178.8b7x14.9x0.6x
Sun, 19 Nov 2023HK$3.0tHK$4.5tHK$182.8b7.7x16.2x0.7x
Tue, 17 Oct 2023HK$3.2tHK$4.4tHK$191.9b8.6x16.6x0.7x
Thu, 14 Sep 2023HK$3.2tHK$4.5tHK$192.7b8.5x16.5x0.7x
Sat, 12 Aug 2023HK$3.3tHK$4.2tHK$208.3b9.2x15.8x0.8x
Mon, 10 Jul 2023HK$3.2tHK$4.2tHK$208.8b9.1x15.6x0.8x
Wed, 07 Jun 2023HK$3.5tHK$4.3tHK$212.2b9.5x16.3x0.8x
Fri, 05 May 2023HK$3.8tHK$4.4tHK$216.6b10.4x17.6x0.9x
Sun, 02 Apr 2023HK$3.3tHK$4.3tHK$200.4b9.8x16.5x0.8x
Tue, 28 Feb 2023HK$3.5tHK$4.3tHK$247.2b7.2x14x0.8x
Thu, 26 Jan 2023HK$3.8tHK$4.4tHK$252.0b8.2x15x0.9x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022HK$3.5tHK$4.3tHK$244.8b7.7x14.3x0.8x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022HK$3.0tHK$4.1tHK$235.0b5.9x12.9x0.7x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022HK$2.8tHK$4.1tHK$241.9b6.2x11.7x0.7x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022HK$3.1tHK$4.2tHK$248.9b7x12.4x0.7x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022HK$3.0tHK$4.4tHK$281.2b6.6x10.7x0.7x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022HK$3.3tHK$4.4tHK$281.0b7x11.7x0.7x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022HK$3.1tHK$4.5tHK$282.1b6.6x11x0.7x
Sat, 07 May 2022HK$3.0tHK$4.5tHK$284.6b5.7x10.5x0.7x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022HK$3.4tHK$4.7tHK$318.5b5.2x10.6x0.7x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022HK$3.5tHK$4.9tHK$359.4b5.3x9.7x0.7x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022HK$3.5tHK$4.9tHK$344.4b5.2x10.1x0.7x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021HK$3.4tHK$4.9tHK$342.9b5x9.8x0.7x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021HK$3.5tHK$4.9tHK$341.7b5.1x10.1x0.7x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021HK$3.6tHK$4.7tHK$368.3b5.3x9.9x0.8x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021HK$3.5tHK$4.7tHK$365.1b4.9x9.6x0.8x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021HK$3.7tHK$4.6tHK$364.3b6.5x10.2x0.8x
Mon, 31 May 2021HK$4.4tHK$4.6tHK$364.3b8.4x12.2x1x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021HK$4.5tHK$4.5tHK$338.2b11x13.4x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.4x


Total Market Cap: HK$4.5tTotal Earnings: HK$338.2bTotal Revenue: HK$4.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Hong Kong Insurance industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 22.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 13.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.78x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have declined 35% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 14% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Financials industry?

HK Market4.19%
Financials4.77%
Insurance3.84%
Reinsurance9.30%
Property and Casualty Insurance8.99%
Life and Health Insurance2.41%
Insurance Brokers0%
General Insurance-0.98%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Life and Health Insurance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 15.7x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 29.6%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 49.1% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the General Insurance industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 33% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Property and Casualty Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 13% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2328 PICC Property and CasualtyHK$10.709.5%
+HK$20.7b
51.8%PE7.9x
2628 China Life InsuranceHK$9.995.5%
+HK$14.7b
-25.3%PE15x
1339 People's Insurance Company (Group) of ChinaHK$2.645.6%
+HK$6.2b
6.0%PE5.2x
966 China Taiping Insurance HoldingsHK$7.087.6%
+HK$1.8b
-24.2%PE7.6x
1508 China Reinsurance (Group)HK$0.478.1%
+HK$1.5b
-13.9%PE5.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News