Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Pharma Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies41
  • 7D3.2%
  • 3M-9.1%
  • 1Y-16.3%
  • YTDn/a

The Pharma industry is up 3.2% in the last week, with China Traditional Chinese Medicine Holdings up 25%. In contrast, the industry has lost 16% in the last 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 11% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Pharma Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 26 Feb 2024HK$447.7bHK$470.7bHK$33.5b7.8x13.4x1x
Wed, 24 Jan 2024HK$412.2bHK$472.0bHK$33.7b6.7x12.2x0.9x
Fri, 22 Dec 2023HK$459.8bHK$472.4bHK$33.8b7.4x13.6x1x
Sun, 19 Nov 2023HK$502.3bHK$470.8bHK$32.1b7x15.6x1.1x
Tue, 17 Oct 2023HK$442.5bHK$469.3bHK$31.5b7.2x14x0.9x
Thu, 14 Sep 2023HK$424.8bHK$470.2bHK$31.7b6.7x13.4x0.9x
Sat, 12 Aug 2023HK$440.0bHK$446.6bHK$28.2b8.6x15.6x1x
Mon, 10 Jul 2023HK$477.0bHK$445.8bHK$27.8b9.4x17.2x1.1x
Wed, 07 Jun 2023HK$511.3bHK$448.5bHK$27.9b8.5x18.3x1.1x
Fri, 05 May 2023HK$573.9bHK$453.4bHK$28.5b9.1x20.2x1.3x
Sun, 02 Apr 2023HK$539.3bHK$453.2bHK$28.9b9.4x18.7x1.2x
Tue, 28 Feb 2023HK$591.4bHK$443.5bHK$35.0b11.9x16.9x1.3x
Thu, 26 Jan 2023HK$635.9bHK$447.3bHK$35.6b10.7x17.9x1.4x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022HK$585.2bHK$441.7bHK$34.7b10.6x16.9x1.3x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022HK$617.2bHK$437.7bHK$34.0b9.5x18.1x1.4x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022HK$573.7bHK$513.3bHK$38.9b8.7x14.7x1.1x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022HK$537.7bHK$519.6bHK$40.7b9.2x13.2x1x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022HK$587.7bHK$513.4bHK$51.4b8x11.4x1.1x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022HK$654.1bHK$515.0bHK$52.3b8.9x12.5x1.3x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022HK$574.0bHK$516.2bHK$52.2b9.2x11x1.1x
Sat, 07 May 2022HK$553.4bHK$514.7bHK$51.5b8.1x10.7x1.1x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022HK$635.2bHK$525.3bHK$53.0b8.7x12x1.2x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022HK$667.0bHK$501.4bHK$45.2b9.7x14.8x1.3x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022HK$661.8bHK$498.4bHK$44.0b9x15x1.3x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021HK$704.3bHK$497.0bHK$43.8b9.3x16.1x1.4x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021HK$684.9bHK$495.6bHK$43.4b9.8x15.8x1.4x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021HK$742.8bHK$492.7bHK$42.8b10.3x17.3x1.5x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021HK$777.6bHK$490.0bHK$42.5b9.8x18.3x1.6x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021HK$870.2bHK$489.5bHK$42.4b11.8x20.5x1.8x
Mon, 31 May 2021HK$1.1tHK$463.7bHK$30.0b15.3x36.1x2.3x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021HK$953.9bHK$439.3bHK$27.7b12.4x34.4x2.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

34.4x


Total Market Cap: HK$953.9bTotal Earnings: HK$27.7bTotal Revenue: HK$439.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Pharma Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Pharmaceuticals industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 13.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 17.7x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.95x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Pharmaceuticals industry have grown 6.6% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 2.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Hong Kong Pharma compare with similar industries?

HK Market4.19%
Healthcare3.41%
Pharma3.17%
Pharma3.17%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
570 China Traditional Chinese Medicine HoldingsHK$4.2925.1%
+HK$4.3b
3.4%PE21.4x
3320 China Resources Pharmaceutical GroupHK$5.538.2%
+HK$2.6b
-15.7%PE8.4x
867 China Medical System HoldingsHK$12.806.3%
+HK$1.9b
3.9%PE8.5x
1093 CSPC Pharmaceutical GroupHK$6.321.8%
+HK$1.3b
-28.4%PE11.3x
2005 SSY GroupHK$4.476.9%
+HK$861.0m
-4.5%PE11.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2005

HK$4.47

SSY Group

7D

6.9%

1Y

-4.5%

6622

HK$1.70

Zhaoke Ophthalmology

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-61.5%

6600

HK$13.22

SciClone Pharmaceuticals (Holdings)

7D

10.2%

1Y

32.2%

1177

HK$3.14

Sino Biopharmaceutical

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-23.8%

2186

HK$2.75

Luye Pharma Group

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-23.4%

950

HK$1.30

Lee's Pharmaceutical Holdings

7D

-5.8%

1Y

-21.7%

6996

HK$1.18

Antengene

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-70.6%

2552

HK$1.62

Hua Medicine (Shanghai)

7D

-4.7%

1Y

-60.1%

1652

HK$1.28

Fusen Pharmaceutical

7D

-4.5%

1Y

-5.2%