Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies40
  • 7D5.5%
  • 3M-5.3%
  • 1Y-24.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines industry has risen 5.5%, driven by gains from Tongcheng Travel Holdings of 12%. In the past year, the industry is down 24%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 26% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024HK$129.8bHK$77.0bHK$2.4b12.3x53.4x1.7x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024HK$119.4bHK$77.2bHK$2.3b10.7x52.6x1.5x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023HK$132.3bHK$77.2bHK$2.3b10.9x58.4x1.7x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023HK$136.2bHK$75.1bHK$1.8b10.4x75.5x1.8x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023HK$143.6bHK$74.9bHK$1.7b13.1x82.5x1.9x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023HK$154.1bHK$75.0bHK$1.7b15.5x90.4x2.1x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023HK$162.9bHK$67.3b-HK$2,427,508,505.0011.1x-67.1x2.4x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023HK$152.1bHK$66.4b-HK$2,726,841,619.0012.4x-55.8x2.3x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023HK$159.1bHK$66.9b-HK$3,262,155,472.0011.5x-48.8x2.4x
Wed, 03 May 2023HK$169.9bHK$66.7b-HK$3,567,182,212.0012.9x-47.6x2.5x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023HK$169.2bHK$67.3b-HK$4,118,340,172.009x-41.1x2.5x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023HK$126.1bHK$61.9b-HK$6,838,639,027.007.5x-18.4x2x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023HK$135.0bHK$62.3b-HK$6,869,650,213.008x-19.6x2.2x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022HK$125.2bHK$61.5b-HK$6,816,515,903.007.4x-18.4x2x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022HK$107.6bHK$61.2b-HK$6,282,261,441.0014.1x-17.1x1.8x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022HK$101.2bHK$61.2b-HK$6,269,622,350.0014.1x-16.1x1.7x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022HK$113.6bHK$62.0b-HK$6,254,470,838.0016x-18.2x1.8x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022HK$119.8bHK$53.6b-HK$7,942,388,711.0026.8x-15.1x2.2x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022HK$122.1bHK$53.4b-HK$8,519,711,909.0029.1x-14.3x2.3x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022HK$137.1bHK$72.3b-HK$7,564,900,031.0027.2x-18.1x1.9x
Thu, 05 May 2022HK$137.3bHK$75.1b-HK$16,165,196,808.0025.9x-8.5x1.8x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022HK$138.0bHK$70.1b-HK$15,547,164,835.0016.4x-8.9x2x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022HK$144.6bHK$62.9b-HK$17,410,888,022.0024.1x-8.3x2.3x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022HK$143.0bHK$62.7b-HK$17,350,510,063.0023.9x-8.2x2.3x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021HK$139.3bHK$62.5b-HK$17,358,715,307.0024x-8x2.2x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021HK$147.8bHK$62.2b-HK$16,920,080,852.0022x-8.7x2.4x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021HK$141.8bHK$61.9b-HK$16,691,496,605.0013.8x-8.5x2.3x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021HK$135.8bHK$61.7b-HK$15,934,787,132.7415.3x-8.5x2.2x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021HK$138.1bHK$61.8b-HK$15,951,915,132.7415.5x-8.7x2.2x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021HK$159.9bHK$60.0b-HK$20,829,878,113.2320.9x-7.7x2.7x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021HK$150.3bHK$59.2b-HK$25,122,123,882.5628.8x-6x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-6x


Total Market Cap: HK$150.3bTotal Earnings: -HK$25,122,123,882.56Total Revenue: HK$59.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -4.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Hong Kong Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 53.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -4.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 9.2% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Hong Kong Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines compare with similar industries?

HK Market4.19%
Consumer Discretionary1.34%
Hospitality4.43%
Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines5.48%
Restaurants7.66%
Leisure Facilities-0.39%
Casinos and Gaming-3.68%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
780 Tongcheng Travel HoldingsHK$19.6012.0%
+HK$4.7b
25.5%PE33.3x
696 TravelSky TechnologyHK$8.707.7%
+HK$1.8b
-44.2%PE16.9x
1992 Fosun Tourism GroupHK$4.729.5%
+HK$512.3m
-53.3%PE43.7x
308 China Travel International Investment Hong KongHK$1.402.2%
+HK$166.1m
-9.7%PE50.5x
71 Miramar Hotel and Investment CompanyHK$10.221.0%
+HK$69.1m
-13.4%PE10.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1221

HK$1.73

Sino Hotels (Holdings)

7D

0.6%

1Y

-23.1%

617

HK$0.68

Paliburg Holdings

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-64.2%

37

HK$0.51

Far East Hotels and Entertainment

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-25.0%

126

HK$0.22

Carrianna Group Holdings

7D

-6.0%

1Y

-49.2%

71

HK$10.22

Miramar Hotel and Investment Company

7D

1.0%

1Y

-13.4%

557

HK$0.46

China Tian Yuan Healthcare Group

7D

-8.0%

1Y

-55.3%

201

HK$0.076

Magnificent Hotel Investments

7D

-7.3%

1Y

-32.1%