Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) General Merchandise and Department Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D-1.5%
  • 3M-10.5%
  • 1Y-34.0%
  • YTD-12.7%

Over the last 7 days, the General Merchandise and Department Stores industry has remained flat, although notably Lifestyle China Group gained 8.3%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 33% over the past 12 months.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong General Merchandise and Department Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024HK$7.2bHK$26.4b-HK$1,122,384,575.5015.4x-6.4x0.3x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024HK$7.6bHK$27.1b-HK$971,300,895.1812.2x-7.8x0.3x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024HK$7.7bHK$27.1b-HK$1,334,152,951.8916x-5.8x0.3x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024HK$19.5bHK$33.5b-HK$403,018,932.0014.6x-48.4x0.6x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023HK$19.4bHK$33.5b-HK$402,763,305.0014x-48.2x0.6x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023HK$19.8bHK$33.2b-HK$459,992,555.0014.7x-42.9x0.6x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023HK$20.0bHK$33.1b-HK$831,698,441.0015.4x-24x0.6x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023HK$20.1bHK$33.1b-HK$1,279,802,177.0013.8x-15.7x0.6x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023HK$20.9bHK$33.8b-HK$1,733,687,392.0036.9x-12x0.6x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023HK$21.0bHK$33.8b-HK$1,721,377,496.0016.4x-12.2x0.6x
Sat, 20 May 2023HK$17.7bHK$34.3b-HK$1,732,946,594.0014.1x-10.2x0.5x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023HK$18.2bHK$34.8b-HK$1,802,349,154.0013.5x-10.1x0.5x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023HK$18.6bHK$34.9b-HK$966,750,030.0029.9x-19.2x0.5x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023HK$18.8bHK$36.0b-HK$742,343,970.0031.6x-25.3x0.5x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023HK$17.7bHK$35.7b-HK$744,161,057.0031.6x-23.8x0.5x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022HK$18.6bHK$35.1b-HK$747,742,052.0028.3x-24.9x0.5x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022HK$16.7bHK$34.7b-HK$730,306,993.0027.8x-22.9x0.5x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022HK$18.3bHK$35.0b-HK$727,327,374.0031.6x-25.2x0.5x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022HK$20.8bHK$36.1bHK$282.6m23.6x73.6x0.6x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022HK$25.0bHK$39.7b-HK$321,565,148.0012.1x-77.7x0.6x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022HK$26.2bHK$39.9b-HK$314,437,032.0012.4x-83.2x0.7x
Sun, 22 May 2022HK$26.3bHK$39.9b-HK$313,482,127.0012.4x-83.9x0.7x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022HK$27.5bHK$41.3b-HK$271,239,872.0012.4x-101.5x0.7x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022HK$26.8bHK$43.5b-HK$258,423,938.009.2x-103.6x0.6x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022HK$29.4bHK$43.6bHK$1.5b10.2x19.7x0.7x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022HK$30.4bHK$43.5bHK$1.5b10.2x20.4x0.7x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021HK$31.1bHK$43.5bHK$1.5b10.1x20.9x0.7x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021HK$31.5bHK$43.5bHK$1.5b10.3x20.7x0.7x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021HK$31.1bHK$42.8bHK$1.7b9.6x18.8x0.7x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021HK$32.6bHK$42.6bHK$1.1b11.2x30.8x0.8x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021HK$35.3bHK$42.6bHK$1.1b11.5x33.3x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

120.1x


Total Market Cap: HK$35.8bTotal Earnings: HK$298.5mTotal Revenue: HK$42.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong General Merchandise and Department Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -11.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Multiline Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.61x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Multiline Retail industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 15% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Consumer Discretionary industry?

HK Market0.87%
Consumer Discretionary2.51%
General Merchandise and Department Stores-1.54%
Department Stores0%
General Merchandise Stores0%
Broadline Retail-1.54%
Industry PE
    Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    2136 Lifestyle China GroupHK$0.658.3%
    +HK$73.2m
    -44.0%PE10x
    2347 Yoho Group HoldingsHK$0.651.6%
    +HK$4.9m
    -11.0%PE20.8x
    3368 Parkson Retail GroupHK$0.120.9%
    +HK$2.6m
    -12.6%PE4.3x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    3368

    HK$0.12

    Parkson Retail Group

    7D

    0.9%

    1Y

    -12.6%

    984

    HK$0.55

    AEON Stores (Hong Kong)

    7D

    -6.8%

    1Y

    -35.3%

    848

    HK$0.15

    Maoye International Holdings

    7D

    -7.5%

    1Y

    -37.8%

    289

    HK$11.82

    Wing On Company International

    7D

    -0.2%

    1Y

    -11.1%

    244

    HK$0.22

    Sincere Company

    7D

    -6.8%

    1Y

    -11.3%

    97

    HK$0.11

    Henderson Investment

    7D

    -8.6%

    1Y

    -62.1%

    2136

    HK$0.65

    Lifestyle China Group

    7D

    8.3%

    1Y

    -44.0%

    2347

    HK$0.65

    Yoho Group Holdings

    7D

    1.6%

    1Y

    -11.0%