Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Food Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D5.3%
  • 3M-17.7%
  • 1Y-77.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Food Distributors industry has risen 5.3%, driven by gains from YNBY International of 65%. In the past year, the industry is down 77%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Food Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024HK$14.2bHK$27.0bHK$1.3b8.5x10.5x0.5x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024HK$14.4bHK$27.7bHK$1.3b8.2x11.2x0.5x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023HK$14.3bHK$27.6bHK$1.3b7.3x11.3x0.5x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023HK$15.0bHK$27.2bHK$1.3b8.9x11.8x0.5x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023HK$15.7bHK$27.1bHK$1.3b9.3x12.4x0.6x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023HK$14.5bHK$27.2bHK$1.2b9x12.2x0.5x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023HK$25.6bHK$25.6bHK$1.3b8.8x19.7x1x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023HK$33.3bHK$25.6bHK$1.3b9.4x25.6x1.3x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023HK$33.3bHK$25.7bHK$1.3b10.7x25.8x1.3x
Sat, 06 May 2023HK$33.8bHK$26.3bHK$1.3b8.4x25.3x1.3x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023HK$49.7bHK$26.4bHK$1.3b9.3x36.9x1.9x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023HK$50.9bHK$22.8bHK$1.3b9x39.6x2.2x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023HK$66.3bHK$23.2bHK$1.3b9.7x50.1x2.9x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022HK$46.8bHK$22.7bHK$1.3b7.7x36.7x2.1x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022HK$39.1bHK$22.2bHK$1.1b23.6x34.4x1.8x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022HK$25.5bHK$22.0bHK$1.1b16.8x22.6x1.2x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022HK$27.1bHK$20.6bHK$154.4m18.4x175.4x1.3x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022HK$7.4bHK$7.8bHK$224.7m16.3x33.1x1x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022HK$7.3bHK$7.8bHK$237.7m15.3x30.7x0.9x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022HK$7.2bHK$7.7bHK$173.0m5.1x41.6x0.9x
Sun, 08 May 2022HK$7.1bHK$7.7bHK$178.8m4.9x39.8x0.9x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022HK$7.3bHK$7.7bHK$184.0m4.8x39.5x0.9x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022HK$7.6bHK$7.6b-HK$1,453,431,618.006.9x-5.2x1x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022HK$7.7bHK$7.6b-HK$1,559,349,814.006.7x-5x1x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021HK$7.3bHK$7.6b-HK$1,559,294,443.006.7x-4.7x1x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021HK$7.2bHK$7.6b-HK$1,277,128,309.0013.1x-5.7x1x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021HK$7.4bHK$8.2b-HK$1,406,759,512.0019.3x-5.3x0.9x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021HK$7.7bHK$8.1b-HK$1,473,818,927.0022x-5.2x1x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021HK$7.9bHK$8.1b-HK$1,589,339,791.6922.9x-5x1x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021HK$8.8bHK$8.0b-HK$1,611,230,996.3323.5x-5.4x1.1x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021HK$8.3bHK$8.0b-HK$1,600,271,158.9140.6x-5.2x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-5.2x


Total Market Cap: HK$8.3bTotal Earnings: -HK$1,600,271,158.91Total Revenue: HK$8.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Food Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 18.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Food Distributors industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 18.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.53x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Food Distributors industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 50% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Hong Kong Food Distributors compare with similar industries?

HK Market3.64%
Consumer Staples4.74%
Food and Staples Retail6.36%
Food Distributors5.29%
Drug Retail7.33%
Big Box Super Stores6.48%
Food Retail2.85%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
30 YNBY InternationalHK$0.2055.1%
+HK$476.0m
n/aPE5643.2x
1854 China Wantian HoldingsHK$1.398.6%
+HK$210.3m
127.9%PS10.1x
6689 Chongqing Hongjiu FruitHK$3.962.1%
+HK$128.5m
-86.6%PE4.2x
8476 Ocean One HoldingHK$1.248.8%
+HK$28.0m
72.2%PE8.2x
8413 Asia Grocery DistributionHK$0.1416.1%
+HK$22.1m
-63.0%PS0.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

8491

HK$0.35

Cool Link (Holdings)

7D

-16.7%

1Y

-45.3%

8476

HK$1.24

Ocean One Holding

7D

8.8%

1Y

72.2%

8362

HK$0.07

Winning Tower Group Holdings

7D

9.4%

1Y

125.8%

8413

HK$0.14

Asia Grocery Distribution

7D

16.1%

1Y

-63.0%

8079

HK$0.049

Wisdomcome Group Holdings

7D

16.7%

1Y

-71.8%

677

HK$0.43

Golden Resources Development International

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-64.3%

60

HK$0.53

Hong Kong Food Investment Holdings

7D

-1.9%

1Y

0%