Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Tech Sector Analysis

UpdatedMar 03, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies207
  • 7D4.7%
  • 3M-10.9%
  • 1Y-22.4%
  • YTD-10.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Tech industry has risen 4.7%, driven by gains from Semiconductor Manufacturing International of 14%. In the past year, the industry is down 22%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 18% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Tech Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 03 Mar 2024HK$1.4tHK$2.3tHK$64.0b9.1x22.5x0.6x
Tue, 30 Jan 2024HK$1.4tHK$2.3tHK$66.1b9.4x21.2x0.6x
Thu, 28 Dec 2023HK$1.6tHK$2.3tHK$66.3b9.9x24.2x0.7x
Sat, 25 Nov 2023HK$1.6tHK$2.3tHK$72.6b10.5x22.3x0.7x
Mon, 23 Oct 2023HK$1.5tHK$2.3tHK$70.9b10.1x21.4x0.7x
Wed, 20 Sep 2023HK$1.5tHK$2.3tHK$70.8b10.5x21.7x0.7x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023HK$1.5tHK$2.4tHK$79.0b10.6x19.3x0.6x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023HK$1.6tHK$2.4tHK$82.2b10x19.6x0.7x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023HK$1.6tHK$2.4tHK$82.9b8.7x19x0.7x
Thu, 11 May 2023HK$1.6tHK$2.5tHK$81.3b9.3x19.9x0.6x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023HK$1.8tHK$2.5tHK$81.5b10.1x22.2x0.7x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023HK$1.8tHK$2.5tHK$74.4b9x24.4x0.7x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023HK$1.9tHK$2.6tHK$76.5b8.6x24.3x0.7x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022HK$1.7tHK$2.6tHK$76.1b8.3x21.9x0.7x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022HK$1.6tHK$2.5tHK$76.8b8.2x20.3x0.6x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022HK$1.4tHK$2.5tHK$77.0b7.9x18.7x0.6x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022HK$1.6tHK$2.6tHK$77.3b8.4x20.3x0.6x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022HK$1.7tHK$2.6tHK$76.3b8.9x22.5x0.7x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022HK$1.8tHK$2.6tHK$81.1b8.8x21.9x0.7x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022HK$2.0tHK$2.6tHK$83.0b8.8x23.5x0.8x
Fri, 13 May 2022HK$1.8tHK$2.6tHK$89.6b8.8x19.9x0.7x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022HK$2.0tHK$2.7tHK$89.5b10x22.3x0.7x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022HK$1.9tHK$2.5tHK$130.5b10x14.2x0.7x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022HK$2.1tHK$2.5tHK$123.1b11x16.8x0.8x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022HK$2.3tHK$2.5tHK$123.5b11.4x18.7x0.9x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021HK$2.3tHK$2.5tHK$123.1b11.4x18.9x0.9x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021HK$2.4tHK$2.4tHK$127.2b11.6x18.7x1x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021HK$2.4tHK$2.4tHK$127.6b12x19x1x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021HK$2.5tHK$2.5tHK$119.4b11.8x20.7x1x
Fri, 09 Jul 2021HK$2.8tHK$2.5tHK$119.4b11.6x23.6x1.1x
Thu, 01 Apr 2021HK$2.6tHK$2.3tHK$110.7b12.1x23.2x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

30.9x


Total Market Cap: HK$2.7tTotal Earnings: HK$87.5bTotal Revenue: HK$2.1tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Tech Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Hong Kong Information Technology industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 21.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.78x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Information Technology industry have declined 9.9% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Tech sector?

HK Market-1.65%
Tech4.69%
Semiconductors11.74%
Communications4.55%
Tech Hardware2.06%
Electronic Equipment and Components1.56%
Software-0.25%
IT-1.42%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the IT industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 26.4x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 23.7%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 9.1% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Software industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 55% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 23% per year.
  • In contrast, the Semiconductors industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.1% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
981 Semiconductor Manufacturing InternationalHK$17.0413.8%
+HK$16.4b
0.9%PE15.5x
968 Xinyi Solar HoldingsHK$4.9120.6%
+HK$7.5b
-45.7%PE10.4x
992 Lenovo GroupHK$9.096.3%
+HK$6.7b
24.5%PE16.4x
285 BYD Electronic (International)HK$30.907.1%
+HK$4.6b
26.6%PE23.4x
6865 Flat Glass GroupHK$15.4610.6%
+HK$3.5b
-29.4%PE12.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1810

HK$13.32

Xiaomi

7D

0.8%

1Y

5.5%

1385

HK$13.90

Shanghai Fudan Microelectronics Group

7D

23.4%

1Y

-57.2%

992

HK$9.09

Lenovo Group

7D

6.3%

1Y

24.5%

1888

HK$4.75

Kingboard Laminates Holdings

7D

-5.2%

1Y

-54.7%

148

HK$15.08

Kingboard Holdings

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-49.6%

3969

HK$2.94

China Railway Signal & Communication

7D

5.8%

1Y

-4.2%

1675

HK$7.35

AsiaInfo Technologies

7D

-8.1%

1Y

-47.3%

2498

HK$35.00

Robosense Technology

7D

-3.8%

1Y

n/a

2416

HK$3.49

Edianyun

7D

-23.6%

1Y

n/a

285

HK$30.90

BYD Electronic (International)

7D

7.1%

1Y

26.6%

20

HK$0.89

SenseTime Group

7D

-4.3%

1Y

-66.9%