Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Real Estate Sector Analysis

UpdatedMar 03, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies265
  • 7D-2.3%
  • 3M-7.0%
  • 1Y-37.5%
  • YTD-7.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Real Estate industry has dropped 2.3%, driven by China Resources Land declining 7.9%. Overall the industry is down 37% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 20% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Real Estate Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 03 Mar 2024HK$2.1tHK$3.9t-HK$167,155,036,128.536.2x-12.8x0.6x
Tue, 30 Jan 2024HK$2.2tHK$4.0t-HK$182,251,614,867.006.4x-12x0.5x
Thu, 28 Dec 2023HK$2.3tHK$4.0t-HK$183,309,889,758.006.8x-12.8x0.6x
Sat, 25 Nov 2023HK$2.5tHK$4.0t-HK$179,523,858,371.007.4x-13.8x0.6x
Mon, 23 Oct 2023HK$2.4tHK$4.0t-HK$156,978,909,653.006.8x-15.2x0.6x
Wed, 20 Sep 2023HK$2.6tHK$4.0t-HK$136,523,038,248.007.2x-19x0.6x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023HK$2.7tHK$4.6t-HK$26,747,124,174.007.1x-100.9x0.6x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023HK$2.9tHK$4.8tHK$17.4b7.4x167.7x0.6x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023HK$3.0tHK$4.9tHK$16.5b7.5x183.1x0.6x
Thu, 11 May 2023HK$3.2tHK$5.0tHK$12.3b8x262.8x0.7x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023HK$3.3tHK$5.2tHK$106.3b7.5x31.3x0.6x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023HK$3.5tHK$5.5tHK$370.4b6.4x9.5x0.6x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023HK$3.6tHK$5.6tHK$388.7b6.7x9.4x0.6x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022HK$3.4tHK$5.5tHK$383.2b6.8x8.9x0.6x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022HK$3.2tHK$5.4tHK$372.9b6.5x8.7x0.6x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022HK$2.9tHK$5.4tHK$368.3b5.8x8x0.5x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022HK$3.3tHK$5.5tHK$372.7b6.2x8.9x0.6x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022HK$3.4tHK$5.8tHK$506.0b6.1x6.7x0.6x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022HK$3.5tHK$5.8tHK$506.6b6.4x6.9x0.6x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022HK$3.7tHK$5.8tHK$513.8b6.5x7.1x0.6x
Fri, 13 May 2022HK$3.7tHK$5.8tHK$519.3b6.8x7.2x0.6x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022HK$4.3tHK$6.1tHK$540.6b7.1x7.9x0.7x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022HK$4.1tHK$6.0tHK$637.3b6.5x6.4x0.7x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022HK$4.4tHK$6.0tHK$610.2b6.8x7.2x0.7x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022HK$4.1tHK$5.9tHK$606.0b6.9x6.8x0.7x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021HK$4.3tHK$5.9tHK$603.9b7.1x7.1x0.7x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021HK$4.5tHK$5.9tHK$589.7b7.6x7.7x0.8x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021HK$4.4tHK$5.9tHK$581.5b7.4x7.6x0.7x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021HK$4.8tHK$5.9tHK$575.0b7.5x8.3x0.8x
Fri, 09 Jul 2021HK$5.5tHK$5.9tHK$575.6b8.3x9.6x0.9x
Thu, 01 Apr 2021HK$5.7tHK$5.5tHK$514.0b8x11.1x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.1x


Total Market Cap: HK$5.6tTotal Earnings: HK$428.0bTotal Revenue: HK$5.3tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Real Estate Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 19.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Real Estate industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.72x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Real Estate industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 9.7% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Real Estate sector?

HK Market-1.65%
Real Estate-2.25%
Specialized REITs0%
Residential REITs0%
Health Care REITs0%
Retail REITs-1.15%
Industrial REITs-1.17%
REITS-1.90%
Real Estate-2.27%
Hotel and Resort REITs-3.51%
Office REITs-7.86%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Office REITs industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 24.2% and investors are willing to pay a premium for that growth.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Retail REITs industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 37% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 74% per year.
  • In contrast, the Industrial REITs industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 16% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
16 Sun Hung Kai PropertiesHK$79.454.5%
+HK$9.9b
-25.9%PE9.3x
12 Henderson Land DevelopmentHK$22.402.1%
+HK$2.2b
-20.3%PE10.4x
247 Tsim Sha Tsui PropertiesHK$19.683.0%
+HK$1.2b
-12.9%PE12.2x
1972 Swire PropertiesHK$15.901.1%
+HK$1.1b
-24.5%PE15.9x
83 Sino LandHK$8.621.4%
+HK$1.0b
-15.7%PE12.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1109

HK$23.85

China Resources Land

7D

-7.9%

1Y

-36.3%

4

HK$27.20

Wharf (Holdings)

7D

-2.2%

1Y

52.3%

83

HK$8.62

Sino Land

7D

1.4%

1Y

-15.7%

247

HK$19.68

Tsim Sha Tsui Properties

7D

3.0%

1Y

-12.9%

1997

HK$25.25

Wharf Real Estate Investment

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-42.2%

960

HK$9.77

Longfor Group Holdings

7D

-9.0%

1Y

-60.8%