Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Publishing Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D-2.1%
  • 3M-5.0%
  • 1Y-21.7%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Publishing industry has dropped 2.1%, driven by a pullback from China Literature of 4.9%. The industry has fallen 22% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 15% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Publishing Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 29 Feb 2024HK$41.5bHK$23.7bHK$2.4b8.1x17.4x1.8x
Sat, 27 Jan 2024HK$43.5bHK$23.9bHK$2.4b8.3x18.1x1.8x
Mon, 25 Dec 2023HK$45.0bHK$23.9bHK$2.4b9.6x18.7x1.9x
Wed, 22 Nov 2023HK$48.1bHK$23.8bHK$2.5b7.8x19.5x2x
Fri, 20 Oct 2023HK$44.2bHK$23.2bHK$2.4b12x18.6x1.9x
Sun, 17 Sep 2023HK$47.8bHK$23.3bHK$2.4b12.2x20.1x2x
Tue, 15 Aug 2023HK$36.5bHK$11.0bHK$802.5m17.8x45.5x3.3x
Thu, 13 Jul 2023HK$37.0bHK$12.0bHK$658.9m33.4x56.1x3.1x
Sat, 10 Jun 2023HK$38.2bHK$12.1bHK$705.7m30.6x54.1x3.1x
Mon, 08 May 2023HK$40.0bHK$12.4bHK$724.5m21.2x55.3x3.2x
Wed, 05 Apr 2023HK$44.2bHK$12.5bHK$754.1m11.3x58.6x3.5x
Fri, 03 Mar 2023HK$40.6bHK$13.4bHK$1.1b10.8x35.5x3x
Sun, 29 Jan 2023HK$44.8bHK$13.5bHK$1.2b10.8x38.5x3.3x
Tue, 27 Dec 2022HK$33.6bHK$13.2bHK$1.1b10.5x29.7x2.5x
Thu, 24 Nov 2022HK$29.4bHK$13.0bHK$1.1b10.8x26.6x2.3x
Sat, 22 Oct 2022HK$25.0bHK$12.9bHK$1.1b14x23.3x1.9x
Mon, 19 Sep 2022HK$31.9bHK$13.2bHK$1.1b15x28.9x2.4x
Wed, 17 Aug 2022HK$33.9bHK$13.8bHK$2.2b14.2x15.7x2.4x
Fri, 15 Jul 2022HK$38.5bHK$13.9bHK$2.2b16.1x17.7x2.8x
Sun, 12 Jun 2022HK$42.0bHK$14.2bHK$2.0b17.7x20.6x3x
Tue, 10 May 2022HK$35.4bHK$14.2bHK$2.1b14.3x16.9x2.5x
Thu, 07 Apr 2022HK$38.6bHK$14.7bHK$2.2b15.1x17.7x2.6x
Sat, 05 Mar 2022HK$45.0bHK$15.8b-HK$168,639,205.0017.9x-267x2.8x
Mon, 31 Jan 2022HK$51.7bHK$15.7b-HK$168,732,328.0019.4x-306.7x3.3x
Wed, 29 Dec 2021HK$53.9bHK$15.7b-HK$168,568,279.0019.8x-320x3.4x
Fri, 26 Nov 2021HK$62.9bHK$15.7b-HK$167,029,107.0020.8x-376.8x4x
Sun, 24 Oct 2021HK$65.4bHK$16.7b-HK$402,997,032.0016.6x-162.2x3.9x
Tue, 21 Sep 2021HK$71.1bHK$16.6b-HK$400,069,809.0015.9x-177.8x4.3x
Thu, 19 Aug 2021HK$72.5bHK$16.6b-HK$399,947,750.2216.5x-181.3x4.4x
Thu, 03 Jun 2021HK$87.5bHK$15.7b-HK$3,050,815,961.9211.2x-28.7x5.6x
Sun, 07 Mar 2021HK$77.5bHK$15.2b-HK$5,798,183,605.0312.6x-13.4x5.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-13.4x


Total Market Cap: HK$77.5bTotal Earnings: -HK$5,798,183,605.03Total Revenue: HK$15.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Publishing Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -44.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Publishing industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 17.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -44.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Publishing industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 16% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Hong Kong Publishing compare with similar industries?

HK Market-0.0018%
Telecom-2.26%
Media-2.01%
Publishing-2.11%
Cable and Satellite0%
Advertising-1.45%
Broadcasting-3.26%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
811 Xinhua Winshare Publishing and MediaHK$7.131.3%
+HK$111.0m
20.0%PE5.2x
343 Culturecom HoldingsHK$0.3223.1%
+HK$100.1m
-29.7%PS23.2x
426 One Media GroupHK$0.05315.2%
+HK$2.8m
-47.0%PS0.6x
8006 Sino Splendid HoldingsHK$0.171.8%
+HK$442.6k
-25.7%PS0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

685

HK$0.17

Media Chinese International

7D

-8.0%

1Y

-27.9%

2383

HK$0.64

TOM Group

7D

-1.5%

1Y

10.3%

811

HK$7.13

Xinhua Winshare Publishing and Media

7D

1.3%

1Y

20.0%

772

HK$24.15

China Literature

7D

-4.9%

1Y

-33.7%

426

HK$0.053

One Media Group

7D

15.2%

1Y

-47.0%

8006

HK$0.17

Sino Splendid Holdings

7D

1.8%

1Y

-25.7%

423

HK$0.90

Hong Kong Economic Times Holdings

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-20.4%

343

HK$0.32

Culturecom Holdings

7D

23.1%

1Y

-29.7%

8238

HK$0.073

Winto Group (Holdings)

7D

-11.0%

1Y

-59.4%