Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) IT Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies33
  • 7D-4.2%
  • 3M-9.7%
  • 1Y-22.2%
  • YTD-16.6%

Over the last 7 days, the IT industry has dropped 4.2%, driven by Chinasoft International declining 6.9%. However, the industry is down 22% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 27% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong IT Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 17 Apr 2024HK$43.4bHK$58.4b-HK$1,328,905,568.3512.8x-32.6x0.7x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024HK$45.9bHK$58.8bHK$1.2b9.8x39.6x0.8x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024HK$43.2bHK$58.8bHK$1.2b10.3x36.2x0.7x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024HK$49.1bHK$59.7bHK$1.1b10.4x45.2x0.8x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023HK$54.8bHK$60.3bHK$1.1b11.7x49.4x0.9x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023HK$53.8bHK$59.2bHK$1.1b11.2x49.3x0.9x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023HK$55.9bHK$59.0bHK$997.5m11.9x56x0.9x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023HK$56.8bHK$57.6bHK$1.0b11.2x55.6x1x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023HK$54.3bHK$58.2bHK$2.0b12.1x26.6x0.9x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023HK$51.8bHK$57.9bHK$2.0b10x25.8x0.9x
Tue, 23 May 2023HK$51.3bHK$58.9bHK$2.0b10.1x25.2x0.9x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023HK$53.7bHK$57.6bHK$1.9b10.9x27.8x0.9x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023HK$119.1bHK$74.8bHK$4.9b11.5x24.1x1.6x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023HK$126.5bHK$75.0bHK$5.0b11.6x25.5x1.7x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023HK$132.1bHK$75.0bHK$4.9b11.1x26.7x1.8x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022HK$119.8bHK$73.6bHK$4.8b11.4x24.8x1.6x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022HK$105.5bHK$72.5bHK$4.7b11.6x22.4x1.5x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022HK$97.9bHK$73.4bHK$4.8b11.1x20.6x1.3x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022HK$113.3bHK$73.9bHK$5.1b12.8x22.2x1.5x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022HK$113.4bHK$74.2bHK$7.5b11.4x15.1x1.5x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022HK$123.9bHK$74.0bHK$7.5b11.4x16.5x1.7x
Wed, 25 May 2022HK$112.0bHK$74.0bHK$7.6b11.9x14.8x1.5x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022HK$115.1bHK$75.7bHK$7.6b12.3x15.1x1.5x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022HK$118.9bHK$73.4bHK$8.3b11x14.3x1.6x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022HK$138.7bHK$73.2bHK$8.3b12.9x16.8x1.9x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022HK$138.2bHK$73.0bHK$8.3b12.6x16.7x1.9x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021HK$146.0bHK$73.0bHK$8.3b12.2x17.7x2x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021HK$145.2bHK$72.1bHK$8.3b11.3x17.5x2x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021HK$145.7bHK$71.9bHK$8.3b11.6x17.6x2x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021HK$164.6bHK$72.1bHK$8.1b12.5x20.3x2.3x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021HK$158.6bHK$72.1bHK$8.1b11.5x19.5x2.2x
Wed, 05 May 2021HK$170.6bHK$69.0bHK$6.1b16.2x28x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28x


Total Market Cap: HK$170.6bTotal Earnings: HK$6.1bTotal Revenue: HK$69.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong IT Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong IT industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.74x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the IT industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 5.4% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Tech industry?

HK Market-1.93%
Tech-5.93%
IT-4.16%
Data Processing Services7.49%
IT Consulting-3.32%
Internet Services and Infrastructure-6.73%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Data Processing Services industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 29.7x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the IT Consulting industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 36% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 7.6% per year.
  • In contrast, the Internet Services and Infrastructure industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2416 EdianyunHK$2.964.6%
+HK$75.2m
n/aPS1.2x
2176 CCID ConsultingHK$0.8310.7%
+HK$56.0m
82.4%PE7.7x
8081 Hang Tai Yue Group HoldingsHK$0.05918.0%
+HK$46.4m
-35.9%PE24.1x
8645 Byte Metaverse HoldingsHK$0.70-11.4%
HK$30.0m
1.4%PS4.4x
8229 Future Data GroupHK$0.517.4%
+HK$19.1m
-20.3%PS0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

8645

HK$0.70

Byte Metaverse Holdings

7D

-11.4%

1Y

1.4%

2501

HK$1.01

Maiyue Technology

7D

1.0%

1Y

n/a

354

HK$4.48

Chinasoft International

7D

-6.9%

1Y

-17.6%

9600

HK$0.40

Newlink Technology

7D

-12.2%

1Y

-76.8%

1782

HK$4.09

International Business Digital Technology

7D

-4.4%

1Y

110.8%

2176

HK$0.83

CCID Consulting

7D

10.7%

1Y

82.4%

771

HK$0.62

Automated Systems Holdings

7D

-8.8%

1Y

-17.3%

2416

HK$2.96

Edianyun

7D

4.6%

1Y

n/a

8229

HK$0.51

Future Data Group

7D

7.4%

1Y

-20.3%

8062

HK$0.30

EFT Solutions Holdings

7D

5.3%

1Y

64.8%

1204

HK$3.35

BoardWare Intelligence Technology

7D

-2.3%

1Y

155.7%

3680

HK$1.68

Ruihe Data Technology Holdings

7D

-8.2%

1Y

97.6%

2436

HK$5.25

LX Technology Group

7D

-2.8%

1Y

n/a

1094

HK$0.52

Cherish Sunshine International

7D

2.0%

1Y

-56.7%