Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Clinical Research and Equipment Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D7.5%
  • 3M-52.5%
  • 1Y-59.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Clinical Research and Equipment industry has risen 7.5%, driven by gains from WuXi Biologics (Cayman) of 13%. During this same period, the Austar Lifesciences underperformed, falling 8.2%. However, the industry is down 59% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 31% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Clinical Research and Equipment Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 26 Feb 2024HK$134.5bHK$32.3bHK$3.0b54.2x45.2x4.2x
Wed, 24 Jan 2024HK$196.1bHK$32.4bHK$3.0b86.8x65.6x6.1x
Fri, 22 Dec 2023HK$206.9bHK$32.4bHK$3.0b89x68.9x6.4x
Sun, 19 Nov 2023HK$291.8bHK$32.1bHK$3.0b87.4x98.7x9.1x
Tue, 17 Oct 2023HK$262.3bHK$30.1bHK$2.7b46.9x98.2x8.7x
Thu, 14 Sep 2023HK$226.2bHK$30.2bHK$2.7b39.9x84.1x7.5x
Sat, 12 Aug 2023HK$235.5bHK$28.3bHK$2.7b23.7x87x8.3x
Mon, 10 Jul 2023HK$203.8bHK$28.4bHK$2.7b20.6x75.1x7.2x
Wed, 07 Jun 2023HK$230.6bHK$28.8bHK$2.8b20.3x82.9x8x
Fri, 05 May 2023HK$250.1bHK$29.5bHK$2.9b22.5x85.5x8.5x
Sun, 02 Apr 2023HK$250.0bHK$29.7bHK$3.0b17.1x83.3x8.4x
Tue, 28 Feb 2023HK$280.6bHK$26.2bHK$2.0b24.3x139.2x10.7x
Thu, 26 Jan 2023HK$371.2bHK$26.6bHK$2.1b27.8x174.2x13.9x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022HK$284.9bHK$25.9bHK$2.0b25x143.8x11x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022HK$270.2bHK$25.6bHK$1.9b26.1x142.7x10.5x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022HK$259.8bHK$25.5bHK$1.9b23x140.2x10.2x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022HK$284.8bHK$26.2bHK$2.0b23.7x141.7x10.9x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022HK$373.3bHK$22.3bHK$2.0b12.2x182.3x16.8x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022HK$407.6bHK$22.4bHK$2.1b14x195.4x18.2x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022HK$338.5bHK$22.5bHK$2.1b13.8x160.2x15x
Sat, 07 May 2022HK$262.6bHK$22.6bHK$2.1b12.5x123.9x11.6x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022HK$341.7bHK$23.3bHK$2.3b15.4x146.6x14.7x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022HK$363.2bHK$18.8bHK$2.8b20x127.7x19.3x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022HK$394.4bHK$18.7bHK$2.8b25.7x139.5x21.1x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021HK$466.9bHK$18.7bHK$2.8b31.5x166.6x25x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021HK$554.3bHK$18.6bHK$2.8b32.8x198.9x29.8x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021HK$600.3bHK$18.6bHK$2.8b46.7x214.8x32.3x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021HK$630.6bHK$18.4bHK$2.7b52.4x229.3x34.2x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021HK$621.4bHK$18.4bHK$2.7b48.2x226.5x33.8x
Mon, 31 May 2021HK$611.0bHK$15.7bHK$1.4b58.3x422.9x39x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021HK$456.6bHK$13.1bHK$201.6m71.2x2265.3x34.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

2265.3x


Total Market Cap: HK$456.6bTotal Earnings: HK$201.6mTotal Revenue: HK$13.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Clinical Research and Equipment Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 217.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Life Sciences Tools and Services industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 45.2x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 217x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 17.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Life Sciences Tools and Services industry have grown 145% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 35% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Hong Kong Clinical Research and Equipment compare with similar industries?

HK Market4.19%
Healthcare3.41%
Life Sciences7.52%
Clinical Research and Equipment7.52%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2269 WuXi Biologics (Cayman)HK$18.7613.0%
+HK$9.0b
-64.9%PE17.4x
2268 WuXi XDC CaymanHK$19.1035.1%
+HK$5.8b
n/aPE88.2x
1548 Genscript BiotechHK$15.3813.4%
+HK$3.9b
-28.3%PS5.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.