Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Communications Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies20
  • 7D2.7%
  • 3M-11.0%
  • 1Y0.7%
  • YTD-11.4%

The Communications industry is up 1.3% in the last week, with BYD Electronic (International) up 2.6%. Overall in the last year, the industry is flat. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 29% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Communications Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024HK$101.9bHK$180.0bHK$5.1b9.2x19.8x0.6x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024HK$101.9bHK$181.0bHK$5.1b9x20x0.6x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023HK$110.9bHK$181.7bHK$5.1b9.9x21.7x0.6x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023HK$122.1bHK$180.4bHK$5.1b9.4x24x0.7x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023HK$127.4bHK$179.1bHK$5.0b10.5x25.4x0.7x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023HK$123.1bHK$179.9bHK$5.0b11.2x24.5x0.7x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023HK$106.1bHK$166.4bHK$3.7b13.1x29x0.6x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023HK$101.0bHK$167.2bHK$3.6b17x27.8x0.6x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023HK$95.4bHK$168.8bHK$3.6b13.4x26.6x0.6x
Sun, 07 May 2023HK$96.6bHK$174.9bHK$3.9b14x24.6x0.6x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023HK$104.8bHK$175.4bHK$4.0b13.3x26.3x0.6x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023HK$102.6bHK$154.5bHK$2.7b11.8x38.2x0.7x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023HK$111.8bHK$155.5bHK$2.7b11.6x41.4x0.7x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022HK$98.4bHK$151.3bHK$2.6b10.4x37.6x0.7x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022HK$95.0bHK$148.3bHK$2.6b11.6x37.2x0.6x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022HK$94.7bHK$146.1bHK$2.2b12.6x42.6x0.6x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022HK$102.8bHK$150.1bHK$2.3b15.5x44.5x0.7x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022HK$97.2bHK$153.1bHK$3.7b11.4x26x0.6x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022HK$99.4bHK$153.5bHK$3.7b11.3x26.5x0.6x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022HK$95.8bHK$154.2bHK$3.8b11.4x25.2x0.6x
Mon, 09 May 2022HK$77.7bHK$154.8bHK$4.0b11.6x19.3x0.5x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022HK$87.7bHK$159.2bHK$4.0b13.8x21.7x0.6x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022HK$98.8bHK$155.0bHK$7.4b15.3x13.4x0.6x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022HK$104.5bHK$153.7bHK$7.3b15.7x14.3x0.7x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021HK$119.9bHK$153.8bHK$7.3b17.1x16.4x0.8x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021HK$130.7bHK$153.2bHK$7.7b15.2x17.1x0.9x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021HK$117.7bHK$152.4bHK$7.7b13.2x15.2x0.8x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021HK$129.4bHK$151.1bHK$7.7b12.9x16.9x0.9x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021HK$136.5bHK$160.2bHK$7.3b14x18.8x0.9x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021HK$170.4bHK$150.5bHK$7.5b13x22.7x1.1x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021HK$150.1bHK$141.1bHK$7.7b14.9x19.4x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.4x


Total Market Cap: HK$150.1bTotal Earnings: HK$7.7bTotal Revenue: HK$141.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Communications Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Communications industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 19.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 25.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.70x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Communications industry have declined 13% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 8.4% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Tech industry?

HK Market3.06%
Tech6.91%
Communications2.69%
Communications Equipment2.69%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
285 BYD Electronic (International)HK$29.852.6%
+HK$1.7b
30.6%PE22.6x
6869 Yangtze Optical Fibre And Cable LimitedHK$8.966.7%
+HK$424.4m
-41.8%PE5.3x
1523 Plover Bay TechnologiesHK$2.285.6%
+HK$132.1m
-17.4%PE13x
1613 Synertone CommunicationHK$0.5624.4%
+HK$33.0m
-6.7%PS2.9x
1202 Chengdu SIWI Science and TechnologyHK$0.7410.4%
+HK$28.0m
-23.7%PS0.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

9963

HK$0.30

Transtech Optelecom Science Holdings

7D

15.4%

1Y

-38.1%

1523

HK$2.28

Plover Bay Technologies

7D

5.6%

1Y

-17.4%

1063

HK$0.20

Suncorp Technologies

7D

7.1%

1Y

-30.4%

1087

HK$0.29

InvesTech Holdings

7D

-6.3%

1Y

-50.8%

285

HK$29.85

BYD Electronic (International)

7D

2.6%

1Y

30.6%

1613

HK$0.56

Synertone Communication

7D

24.4%

1Y

-6.7%

8227

HK$0.45

Xi'an Haitian Antenna Technologies

7D

-2.2%

1Y

2.3%

8245

HK$0.068

Shanyu Group Holdings

7D

-10.5%

1Y

-65.3%

947

HK$0.18

MOBI Development

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-23.5%