Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies51
  • 7D3.1%
  • 3M-10.4%
  • 1Y-28.3%
  • YTD-5.3%

The Food industry is up 3.1% in the last week, with Tingyi (Cayman Islands) Holding up 7.4%. In contrast, the industry has lost 28% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 29 Feb 2024HK$443.9bHK$753.1bHK$35.5b13.2x12.5x0.6x
Sat, 27 Jan 2024HK$486.8bHK$790.5bHK$37.1b13.4x13.1x0.6x
Mon, 25 Dec 2023HK$529.4bHK$790.4bHK$37.1b15.4x14.3x0.7x
Wed, 22 Nov 2023HK$547.3bHK$770.8bHK$35.5b15.2x15.4x0.7x
Fri, 20 Oct 2023HK$531.3bHK$764.2bHK$35.1b16x15.1x0.7x
Sun, 17 Sep 2023HK$546.8bHK$766.0bHK$35.1b15.9x15.6x0.7x
Tue, 15 Aug 2023HK$554.1bHK$755.6bHK$39.5b17.6x14x0.7x
Thu, 13 Jul 2023HK$563.1bHK$759.5bHK$39.9b15.8x14.1x0.7x
Sat, 10 Jun 2023HK$565.5bHK$765.3bHK$40.5b14.7x14x0.7x
Mon, 08 May 2023HK$622.2bHK$779.2bHK$41.3b14x15.1x0.8x
Wed, 05 Apr 2023HK$634.6bHK$781.2bHK$41.7b13.9x15.2x0.8x
Fri, 03 Mar 2023HK$658.9bHK$757.1bHK$43.9b11x15x0.9x
Sun, 29 Jan 2023HK$709.1bHK$763.0bHK$44.5b11.1x15.9x0.9x
Tue, 27 Dec 2022HK$666.2bHK$744.7bHK$43.1b11x15.5x0.9x
Thu, 24 Nov 2022HK$566.9bHK$730.8bHK$43.0b10x13.2x0.8x
Sat, 22 Oct 2022HK$553.2bHK$729.6bHK$42.9b9.4x12.9x0.8x
Mon, 19 Sep 2022HK$624.4bHK$742.4bHK$43.8b10.9x14.2x0.8x
Wed, 17 Aug 2022HK$654.1bHK$743.4bHK$47.0b9.3x13.9x0.9x
Fri, 15 Jul 2022HK$716.0bHK$746.4bHK$47.7b10.5x15x1x
Sun, 12 Jun 2022HK$703.7bHK$745.7bHK$47.9b11x14.7x0.9x
Tue, 10 May 2022HK$684.7bHK$748.3bHK$48.2b10.3x14.2x0.9x
Thu, 07 Apr 2022HK$727.2bHK$767.9bHK$49.9b10.8x14.6x0.9x
Sat, 05 Mar 2022HK$828.1bHK$777.7bHK$58.2b8.6x14.2x1.1x
Mon, 31 Jan 2022HK$828.5bHK$772.4bHK$57.8b8.8x14.3x1.1x
Wed, 29 Dec 2021HK$826.5bHK$772.5bHK$57.8b9x14.3x1.1x
Fri, 26 Nov 2021HK$843.9bHK$769.6bHK$58.1b9.4x14.5x1.1x
Sun, 24 Oct 2021HK$861.3bHK$768.3bHK$60.1b10.3x14.3x1.1x
Tue, 21 Sep 2021HK$849.4bHK$763.9bHK$59.7b9.4x14.2x1.1x
Thu, 19 Aug 2021HK$830.8bHK$765.3bHK$59.0b9.9x14.1x1.1x
Thu, 03 Jun 2021HK$1.0tHK$723.8bHK$55.9b12.9x18.2x1.4x
Sun, 07 Mar 2021HK$1.1tHK$700.6bHK$53.9b14.1x19.6x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.6x


Total Market Cap: HK$1.1tTotal Earnings: HK$53.9bTotal Revenue: HK$700.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Food industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 12.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.93x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food industry have declined 13% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.4% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Consumer Staples industry?

HK Market3.06%
Consumer Staples2.95%
Food3.13%
Agricultural Products3.60%
Packaged Foods and Meats3.11%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 15.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 14.3%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 9.6% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Agricultural Products industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 75% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 63% per year.
  • In contrast, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 14% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
322 Tingyi (Cayman Islands) HoldingHK$8.457.4%
+HK$3.3b
-34.9%PE14.5x
9676 Shiyue Daotian GroupHK$22.909.6%
+HK$2.1b
n/aPS4.8x
2319 China Mengniu DairyHK$19.600.7%
+HK$550.7m
-46.0%PE15.5x
1112 Health and Happiness (H&H) International HoldingsHK$11.603.6%
+HK$258.2m
-15.2%PE9.2x
345 Vitasoy International HoldingsHK$6.903.1%
+HK$225.2m
-58.3%PE111.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1112

HK$11.60

Health and Happiness (H&H) International Holdings

7D

3.6%

1Y

-15.2%

756

HK$1.20

Summi (Group) Holdings

7D

23.7%

1Y

50.0%

9985

HK$5.71

WEILONG Delicious Global Holdings

7D

-4.0%

1Y

-44.8%

2419

HK$50.60

Dekon Food and Agriculture Group

7D

-1.4%

1Y

n/a

220

HK$4.72

Uni-President China Holdings

7D

0.9%

1Y

-34.3%

1475

HK$5.13

Nissin Foods

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-22.2%

9676

HK$22.90

Shiyue Daotian Group

7D

9.6%

1Y

n/a