Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Biotech Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies47
  • 7D-8.2%
  • 3M-3.5%
  • 1Y-46.6%
  • YTD-22.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Biotech industry has dropped 8.2%, driven by declines in Akeso and Innovent Biologics of 7.5% and 5.3%, respectively. In contrast, Biocytogen Pharmaceuticals (Beijing) has gained 17%. The industry has fallen 47% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 36% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Biotech Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024HK$315.9bHK$49.5b-HK$19,910,409,871.6210.8x-15.9x6.4x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024HK$363.4bHK$47.8b-HK$20,968,633,010.9617.5x-17.3x7.6x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024HK$337.6bHK$47.2b-HK$20,382,504,617.3516.3x-16.6x7.2x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024HK$381.0bHK$46.9b-HK$20,252,418,110.0017.7x-18.8x8.1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023HK$401.1bHK$46.8b-HK$20,200,802,361.0017.9x-19.9x8.6x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023HK$421.8bHK$45.2b-HK$18,930,524,594.0013.5x-22.3x9.3x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023HK$388.5bHK$45.0b-HK$19,137,116,705.0013.8x-20.3x8.6x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023HK$412.3bHK$45.1b-HK$16,929,241,645.0015.1x-24.4x9.1x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023HK$397.0bHK$35.5b-HK$23,337,130,199.0022x-17x11.2x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023HK$391.5bHK$35.2b-HK$23,144,115,321.0025.3x-16.9x11.1x
Mon, 29 May 2023HK$418.5bHK$36.0b-HK$23,771,398,625.0029.5x-17.6x11.6x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023HK$437.1bHK$36.8b-HK$24,032,083,790.0018.6x-18.2x11.9x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023HK$429.7bHK$35.0b-HK$36,661,632,123.0022.5x-11.7x12.3x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023HK$415.4bHK$34.6b-HK$34,907,192,228.0032.6x-11.9x12x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023HK$468.0bHK$35.0b-HK$35,421,330,962.0032.6x-13.2x13.4x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022HK$402.8bHK$33.6b-HK$33,929,185,420.0025.7x-11.9x12x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022HK$351.8bHK$33.7b-HK$32,367,923,461.0017.3x-10.9x10.5x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022HK$296.0bHK$34.0b-HK$32,532,101,794.0016.4x-9.1x8.7x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022HK$320.5bHK$34.4b-HK$33,730,074,655.0016.5x-9.5x9.3x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022HK$321.0bHK$32.8b-HK$46,309,057,875.0012.1x-6.9x9.8x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022HK$368.6bHK$33.1b-HK$46,627,164,079.0015.1x-7.9x11.1x
Tue, 31 May 2022HK$321.7bHK$34.1b-HK$45,954,938,846.0013x-7x9.4x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022HK$319.9bHK$35.6b-HK$45,008,839,288.0012.8x-7.1x9x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022HK$334.0bHK$36.1b-HK$38,675,782,158.0013.4x-8.6x9.3x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022HK$315.1bHK$31.3b-HK$32,034,553,209.0012.4x-9.8x10.1x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022HK$381.4bHK$31.1b-HK$31,891,209,285.0013.2x-12x12.2x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021HK$442.9bHK$31.1b-HK$31,844,824,921.0013.4x-13.9x14.2x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021HK$489.1bHK$31.0b-HK$31,744,501,684.0014.4x-15.4x15.8x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021HK$498.7bHK$30.5b-HK$31,547,002,088.0014.8x-15.8x16.3x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021HK$520.3bHK$30.4b-HK$31,412,511,864.3917.5x-16.6x17.1x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021HK$541.3bHK$30.2b-HK$32,058,827,347.3513.6x-16.9x17.9x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021HK$572.9bHK$27.8b-HK$26,637,487,691.0916.9x-21.5x20.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-21.5x


Total Market Cap: HK$572.9bTotal Earnings: -HK$26,637,487,691.09Total Revenue: HK$27.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Biotech Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -14.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Biotechs industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 11.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 6.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Biotechs industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 21% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently losses are decreasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Healthcare industry?

HK Market-0.66%
Healthcare-4.61%
Biotech-8.19%
Biotech-8.19%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2315 Biocytogen Pharmaceuticals (Beijing)HK$7.8017.1%
+HK$455.3m
-68.7%PS4x
2480 Beijing Luzhu BiotechnologyHK$21.257.4%
+HK$297.6m
n/aPB3.9x
2696 Shanghai Henlius BiotechHK$15.263.5%
+HK$282.6m
2.8%PE14x
2509 Qyuns TherapeuticsHK$23.854.4%
+HK$204.7m
n/aPS357x
2157 Lepu BiopharmaHK$4.372.8%
+HK$199.1m
-20.7%PS29.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1530

HK$5.59

3SBio

7D

-4.9%

1Y

-29.2%

9939

HK$1.02

Kintor Pharmaceutical

7D

15.9%

1Y

-82.1%

2696

HK$15.26

Shanghai Henlius Biotech

7D

3.5%

1Y

2.8%

1877

HK$9.29

Shanghai Junshi Biosciences

7D

-9.8%

1Y

-71.0%

6628

HK$1.65

Transcenta Holding

7D

29.9%

1Y

-50.9%

9969

HK$4.20

InnoCare Pharma

7D

-11.0%

1Y

-55.6%

1801

HK$33.95

Innovent Biologics

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-13.1%

9926

HK$44.35

Akeso

7D

-7.5%

1Y

4.1%

2137

HK$1.01

Brii Biosciences

7D

8.6%

1Y

-77.3%

2509

HK$23.85

Qyuns Therapeutics

7D

4.4%

1Y

n/a

2480

HK$21.25

Beijing Luzhu Biotechnology

7D

7.4%

1Y

n/a

2105

HK$5.34

Laekna

7D

-32.8%

1Y

n/a