Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Beverage Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-3.6%
  • 3M-0.09%
  • 1Y-28.7%
  • YTD-5.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Beverage industry has dropped 3.6%, driven by Budweiser Brewing Company APAC declining 7.8%. However, the industry is down 29% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 11% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Beverage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 15 Apr 2024HK$871.2bHK$212.4bHK$32.9b14.9x26.5x4.1x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024HK$916.0bHK$205.6bHK$30.6b18.3x29.9x4.5x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024HK$878.6bHK$205.9bHK$30.9b15.1x28.5x4.3x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024HK$886.0bHK$205.5bHK$29.3b15.9x30.2x4.3x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023HK$925.9bHK$205.7bHK$29.4b17x31.5x4.5x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023HK$983.0bHK$202.6bHK$28.7b17.7x34.2x4.9x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023HK$1.0tHK$202.9bHK$28.8b19.1x35x5x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023HK$1.0tHK$197.8bHK$27.3b21.3x36.8x5.1x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023HK$1.1tHK$195.2bHK$25.8b25x41.2x5.5x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023HK$1.1tHK$194.9bHK$25.8b24.1x42.6x5.6x
Sun, 21 May 2023HK$1.1tHK$197.9bHK$26.2b24.6x41.9x5.5x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023HK$1.2tHK$192.8bHK$25.2b27.2x46.7x6.1x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023HK$1.2tHK$192.2bHK$24.5b21.6x47.5x6.1x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023HK$1.1tHK$195.5bHK$25.5b20.8x44x5.7x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023HK$1.2tHK$193.8bHK$25.3b22.7x46.8x6.1x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022HK$1.1tHK$190.5bHK$24.9b21.7x46x6x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022HK$977.2bHK$186.7bHK$24.3b21.7x40.2x5.2x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022HK$1.1tHK$188.1bHK$24.8b24.4x44.4x5.9x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022HK$1.2tHK$192.8bHK$25.5b25.4x45.6x6x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022HK$1.2tHK$190.3bHK$24.9b26.1x46.7x6.1x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022HK$1.1tHK$191.6bHK$25.0b23.6x44.4x5.8x
Mon, 23 May 2022HK$1.0tHK$191.6bHK$25.1b23.6x40.3x5.3x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022HK$1.0tHK$198.0bHK$25.3b19x39.6x5.1x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022HK$1.0tHK$190.7bHK$23.3b25.8x43.6x5.3x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022HK$1.2tHK$188.2bHK$22.6b28.1x51.9x6.2x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022HK$1.1tHK$187.7bHK$22.5b26.8x49.5x5.9x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021HK$1.1tHK$187.9bHK$22.5b26.6x50.7x6.1x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021HK$1.1tHK$187.0bHK$22.4b26.6x48x5.8x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021HK$1.0tHK$185.9bHK$22.0b25.9x46.2x5.5x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021HK$1.1tHK$185.2bHK$21.9b35.2x48.5x5.7x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021HK$1.2tHK$185.2bHK$21.9b43.7x52.9x6.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

71x


Total Market Cap: HK$1.1tTotal Earnings: HK$15.9bTotal Revenue: HK$177.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Beverage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 44.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Beverage industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 26.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 44.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Beverage industry have grown 27% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Consumer Staples industry?

HK Market0.87%
Consumer Staples-2.33%
Beverage-3.56%
Soft Drinks-1.83%
Brewers-5.79%
Distillers and Wine Makers-5.85%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Soft Drinks industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 52.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 10.5%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 34.2% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Distillers and Wine Makers industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Brewers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 12% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 17% per year.
  • In contrast, the Distillers and Wine Makers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.5% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
506 China FoodsHK$3.002.4%
+HK$195.8m
4.9%PE9.3x
472 New Silkroad CulturaltainmentHK$0.1612.9%
+HK$57.7m
12.1%PS1.1x
1115 Tibet Water ResourcesHK$0.241.2%
+HK$13.5m
-41.9%PS3.2x
1446 Hung Fook Tong Group HoldingsHK$0.170.6%
+HK$655.9k
-43.5%PS0.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.