Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Consumer Services Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies60
  • 7D-3.7%
  • 3M6.8%
  • 1Y-35.3%
  • YTD-7.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Services industry has dropped 3.7%, driven by declines in Perfect Medical Health Management and China Education Group Holdings of 16% and 4.9%, respectively. Meanwhile, Keep actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 15% in the last week. The industry has fallen 35% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Consumer Services Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024HK$100.1bHK$65.5bHK$12.4b6.8x8.1x1.5x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024HK$130.0bHK$67.6bHK$9.9b7.8x13.1x1.9x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024HK$127.3bHK$68.0bHK$10.4b8.6x12.3x1.9x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024HK$131.3bHK$67.3bHK$10.7b8.9x12.3x1.9x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023HK$144.4bHK$67.2bHK$10.7b8.4x13.5x2.2x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023HK$156.2bHK$63.7bHK$11.0b7.5x14.2x2.5x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023HK$150.3bHK$63.7bHK$10.1b8.3x14.9x2.4x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023HK$162.3bHK$63.9bHK$10.1b8.4x16.1x2.5x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023HK$150.7bHK$56.6bHK$10.9b9.5x13.8x2.7x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023HK$132.4bHK$56.0bHK$10.6b9.6x12.5x2.4x
Mon, 29 May 2023HK$134.6bHK$56.4bHK$10.9b9.4x12.4x2.4x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023HK$148.8bHK$55.2bHK$10.8b9.3x13.8x2.7x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023HK$168.9bHK$58.6bHK$10.7b9.7x15.7x2.9x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023HK$193.1bHK$56.4bHK$10.7b9.6x18x3.4x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023HK$215.9bHK$55.2bHK$10.1b9.7x21.3x3.9x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022HK$164.4bHK$51.7bHK$9.7b7.3x17x3.2x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022HK$137.5bHK$48.4bHK$4.4b7.5x31x2.8x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022HK$127.0bHK$49.0bHK$4.5b7.1x28.2x2.6x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022HK$138.2bHK$50.0bHK$4.7b8.1x29.7x2.8x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022HK$126.5bHK$53.8bHK$3.3b7.7x38.5x2.4x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022HK$135.6bHK$54.2bHK$3.4b8.7x40.4x2.5x
Tue, 31 May 2022HK$103.7bHK$54.1bHK$3.6b7.7x28.6x1.9x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022HK$112.4bHK$54.4bHK$4.0b8.6x28.2x2.1x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022HK$119.6bHK$54.9bHK$3.9b8.6x30.6x2.2x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022HK$140.6bHK$57.5bHK$7.6b10.4x18.6x2.4x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022HK$161.3bHK$57.3bHK$7.4b12.2x21.7x2.8x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021HK$187.7bHK$61.2bHK$11.3b13.4x16.7x3.1x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021HK$194.5bHK$56.2bHK$10.3b14.5x19x3.5x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021HK$184.9bHK$55.6bHK$10.2b15.6x18.2x3.3x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021HK$200.9bHK$55.3bHK$10.0b15.4x20.1x3.6x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021HK$204.1bHK$55.3bHK$10.0b16.7x20.5x3.7x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021HK$302.7bHK$51.5bHK$9.3b23.5x32.5x5.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

32.5x


Total Market Cap: HK$302.7bTotal Earnings: HK$9.3bTotal Revenue: HK$51.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Consumer Services Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Hong Kong Consumer Services industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 20.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Services industry have grown 9.9% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Consumer Discretionary industry?

HK Market-0.66%
Consumer Discretionary-4.41%
Consumer Services-3.69%
Education Services-3.57%
Specialized Consumer Services-4.01%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Specialized Consumer Services industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.3x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 4.5%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 37.0% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Education Services industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 21.5x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Education Services industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 20% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 12% per year.
  • In contrast, the Specialized Consumer Services industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 4.5% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
3650 KeepHK$6.8314.8%
+HK$459.4m
n/aPE3x
2373 Beauty Farm Medical and Health IndustryHK$14.704.1%
+HK$136.8m
-52.4%PE14.9x
32 Cross-Harbour (Holdings)HK$7.392.6%
+HK$70.8m
-26.8%PE12.3x
1569 Minsheng Education GroupHK$0.247.2%
+HK$67.5m
-35.9%PE6.7x
3978 China Beststudy Education GroupHK$2.872.1%
+HK$44.3m
258.8%PE21.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1769

HK$4.15

Scholar Education Group

7D

1.5%

1Y

107.5%

1890

HK$1.40

China Kepei Education Group

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-41.7%

1593

HK$1.55

Chen Lin Education Group Holdings

7D

1.3%

1Y

-23.6%

3978

HK$2.87

China Beststudy Education Group

7D

2.1%

1Y

258.8%

839

HK$3.88

China Education Group Holdings

7D

-4.9%

1Y

-45.8%

1830

HK$2.34

Perfect Medical Health Management

7D

-15.8%

1Y

-39.2%

2001

HK$2.16

China New Higher Education Group

7D

-10.7%

1Y

-19.1%

3650

HK$6.83

Keep

7D

14.8%

1Y

n/a

32

HK$7.39

Cross-Harbour (Holdings)

7D

2.6%

1Y

-26.8%

667

HK$2.19

China East Education Holdings

7D

-6.8%

1Y

-47.2%

2469

HK$4.13

Fenbi

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-66.2%

8029

HK$0.14

Imperium Financial Group

7D

-26.3%

1Y

-20.6%