Header cover image

Hong Kong (HSI) Paper and Forestry Products Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D-5.3%
  • 3M6.6%
  • 1Y-42.4%
  • YTD-11.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Paper and Forestry Products industry has dropped 5.3%, driven by Nine Dragons Paper (Holdings) declining 6.3%. In contrast, Reliance Global Holdings has gained 24%. Overall the industry is down 42% in 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 56% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Hong Kong Paper and Forestry Products Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 22 Apr 2024HK$25.3bHK$86.8bHK$311.3m8x81.2x0.3x
Wed, 20 Mar 2024HK$27.2bHK$86.6bHK$342.4m4.9x79.5x0.3x
Fri, 16 Feb 2024HK$25.4bHK$89.0b-HK$2,079,015,608.8613.1x-12.2x0.3x
Sun, 14 Jan 2024HK$24.5bHK$89.0b-HK$2,099,544,982.0013x-11.7x0.3x
Tue, 12 Dec 2023HK$26.4bHK$88.7b-HK$2,089,370,052.0012.8x-12.6x0.3x
Thu, 09 Nov 2023HK$31.3bHK$88.1b-HK$1,990,290,277.0014.2x-15.7x0.4x
Sat, 07 Oct 2023HK$31.2bHK$88.1b-HK$1,988,258,409.0013.7x-15.7x0.4x
Mon, 04 Sep 2023HK$30.9bHK$93.5b-HK$391,895,754.0014.3x-78.8x0.3x
Wed, 02 Aug 2023HK$35.4bHK$97.0bHK$80.1m9.6x441.8x0.4x
Fri, 30 Jun 2023HK$34.6bHK$97.0bHK$77.0m9.4x449.7x0.4x
Sun, 28 May 2023HK$34.7bHK$98.6bHK$28.6m10.1x1213.5x0.4x
Tue, 25 Apr 2023HK$44.4bHK$100.4bHK$1.1m12.3x40157.1x0.4x
Thu, 23 Mar 2023HK$43.4bHK$100.6b-HK$78,702,797.0015.9x-551.7x0.4x
Sat, 18 Feb 2023HK$46.0bHK$107.9bHK$5.4b8.3x8.6x0.4x
Mon, 16 Jan 2023HK$51.4bHK$109.5bHK$5.5b9.2x9.4x0.5x
Wed, 14 Dec 2022HK$48.8bHK$106.3bHK$5.3b9.2x9.2x0.5x
Fri, 11 Nov 2022HK$34.0bHK$104.4bHK$5.2b6.6x6.5x0.3x
Sun, 09 Oct 2022HK$34.0bHK$105.7bHK$5.3b6.2x6.4x0.3x
Tue, 06 Sep 2022HK$41.6bHK$108.7bHK$8.4b5.9x5x0.4x
Thu, 04 Aug 2022HK$42.1bHK$110.4bHK$9.7b4.3x4.3x0.4x
Sat, 02 Jul 2022HK$46.8bHK$111.1bHK$9.8b4.7x4.8x0.4x
Mon, 30 May 2022HK$48.5bHK$111.3bHK$9.8b5.1x5x0.4x
Wed, 27 Apr 2022HK$47.4bHK$112.9bHK$9.9b5x4.8x0.4x
Fri, 25 Mar 2022HK$53.0bHK$115.0bHK$9.9b9x5.4x0.5x
Sun, 20 Feb 2022HK$63.7bHK$108.4bHK$12.4b8.8x5.1x0.6x
Tue, 18 Jan 2022HK$64.2bHK$108.0bHK$12.3b8.8x5.2x0.6x
Thu, 16 Dec 2021HK$65.9bHK$108.0bHK$12.3b7.1x5.3x0.6x
Sat, 13 Nov 2021HK$73.0bHK$107.7bHK$12.3b5.8x5.9x0.7x
Mon, 11 Oct 2021HK$70.4bHK$107.0bHK$12.2b5.6x5.8x0.7x
Wed, 08 Sep 2021HK$85.7bHK$96.0bHK$10.6b7.6x8.1x0.9x
Fri, 06 Aug 2021HK$78.8bHK$96.1bHK$10.2b7x7.7x0.8x
Mon, 10 May 2021HK$82.0bHK$93.9bHK$9.8b7.2x8.3x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

8.3x


Total Market Cap: HK$82.0bTotal Earnings: HK$9.8bTotal Revenue: HK$93.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Hong Kong Paper and Forestry Products Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 80.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Hong Kong Forestry industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 80.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.48x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Forestry industry have declined 68% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 2.6% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Hong Kong Materials industry?

HK Market-0.66%
Materials-1.53%
Paper and Forestry Products-5.34%
Forestry Products5.05%
Paper Products-5.60%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Paper Products industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 32.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 56.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 11.3% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Forestry Products industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Paper Products industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 56% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Paper Products industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 56% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
723 Reliance Global HoldingsHK$0.02123.5%
+HK$36.5m
90.9%PS0.6x
1069 China Health Technology Group HoldingHK$0.0516.3%
+HK$2.1m
n/aPE0.2x
94 Greenheart GroupHK$0.0531.9%
+HK$1.9m
-29.3%PS1.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.