Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Airlines Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 08, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D4.2%
  • 3M5.4%
  • 1Y15.0%
  • YTD26.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Airlines industry has risen 4.2%, driven by gains in International Consolidated Airlines Group and easyJet of 3.3% and 6.6%, respectively. During this same period, the Esken underperformed, falling 36%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 15%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 7.2% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Airlines Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 09 Dec 2023UKĀ£16.2bUKĀ£42.9bUKĀ£3.0b7.8x5.4x0.4x
Mon, 06 Nov 2023UKĀ£12.7bUKĀ£37.1bUKĀ£2.3b5.7x5.6x0.3x
Wed, 04 Oct 2023UKĀ£12.9bUKĀ£36.0bUKĀ£2.0b5.9x6.6x0.4x
Fri, 01 Sep 2023UKĀ£13.5bUKĀ£35.7bUKĀ£1.9b6.2x7x0.4x
Sun, 30 Jul 2023UKĀ£14.0bUKĀ£35.7bUKĀ£1.9b6.5x7.2x0.4x
Tue, 27 Jun 2023UKĀ£13.9bUKĀ£33.6bUKĀ£1.1b10.2x12.6x0.4x
Thu, 25 May 2023UKĀ£14.1bUKĀ£33.9bUKĀ£1.1b10.2x12.7x0.4x
Sat, 22 Apr 2023UKĀ£14.1bUKĀ£30.8bUKĀ£381.5m16.5x37x0.5x
Mon, 20 Mar 2023UKĀ£12.8bUKĀ£30.7bUKĀ£378.2m15.2x33.8x0.4x
Wed, 15 Feb 2023UKĀ£6.5bUKĀ£10.5bUKĀ£560.2k13.2x11597.4x0.6x
Fri, 13 Jan 2023UKĀ£5.6bUKĀ£10.5bUKĀ£566.4k11.6x9935.5x0.5x
Sun, 11 Dec 2022UKĀ£5.1bUKĀ£10.5bUKĀ£597.3k10.5x8590.6x0.5x
Tue, 08 Nov 2022UKĀ£4.8bUKĀ£4.3b-UKĀ£1,083,441,271.00n/a-4.4x1.1x
Thu, 06 Oct 2022UKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£18.0b-UKĀ£2,432,372,758.00n/a-3.6x0.5x
Sat, 03 Sep 2022UKĀ£10.1bUKĀ£17.8b-UKĀ£2,418,804,227.00n/a-4.2x0.6x
Mon, 01 Aug 2022UKĀ£5.1bUKĀ£4.2b-UKĀ£1,084,667,488.00n/a-4.7x1.2x
Wed, 29 Jun 2022UKĀ£7.4bUKĀ£5.0b-UKĀ£1,680,844,602.00n/a-4.4x1.5x
Fri, 27 May 2022UKĀ£9.5bUKĀ£4.7b-UKĀ£1,749,177,666.00n/a-5.5x2x
Sun, 24 Apr 2022UKĀ£10.5bUKĀ£3.5b-UKĀ£1,857,656,639.0030.5x-5.6x3x
Tue, 22 Mar 2022UKĀ£9.4bUKĀ£3.5b-UKĀ£1,856,283,696.0030.5x-5x2.7x
Thu, 17 Feb 2022UKĀ£13.4bUKĀ£3.5b-UKĀ£1,856,306,893.0030.2x-7.2x3.8x
Sat, 15 Jan 2022UKĀ£12.5bUKĀ£3.3b-UKĀ£1,729,982,928.0021.6x-7.2x3.8x
Mon, 13 Dec 2021UKĀ£10.8bUKĀ£3.3b-UKĀ£1,738,882,071.0019.3x-6.2x3.3x
Wed, 10 Nov 2021UKĀ£13.0bUKĀ£2.6b-UKĀ£2,118,227,221.0021.2x-6.2x5.1x
Fri, 08 Oct 2021UKĀ£12.7bUKĀ£2.3b-UKĀ£2,239,666,520.0022.3x-5.7x5.5x
Sun, 05 Sep 2021UKĀ£11.4bUKĀ£2.3b-UKĀ£2,243,802,240.249.9x-5.1x4.9x
Tue, 03 Aug 2021UKĀ£11.9bUKĀ£2.3b-UKĀ£2,243,802,240.249.8x-5.3x5.2x
Fri, 07 May 2021UKĀ£12.4bUKĀ£2.2b-UKĀ£2,234,579,179.398.3x-5.5x5.6x
Mon, 08 Feb 2021UKĀ£9.7bUKĀ£4.1b-UKĀ£2,059,877,959.417.7x-4.7x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-5.1x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£10.5bTotal Earnings: -UKĀ£2,060,771,459.41Total Revenue: UKĀ£4.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Airlines Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 816x20222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Airlines industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 5.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 817x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.38x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Airlines industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 119% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Industrials industry?

GB Market0.88%
Industrials1.65%
Airlines4.19%
Airlines4.19%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WIZZ Wizz Air HoldingsUKĀ£20.776.7%
+UKĀ£134.9m
-16.0%PE9.7x
IAG International Consolidated Airlines GroupUKĀ£1.581.2%
+UKĀ£93.5m
19.2%PE3.8x
EZJ easyJetUKĀ£4.811.7%
+UKĀ£60.4m
25.3%PE11.2x
JET2 Jet2UKĀ£12.320.7%
+UKĀ£17.2m
23.9%PE6.1x
GMAA Gama AviationUKĀ£1.008.7%
+UKĀ£5.1m
62.6%PS0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.