Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Big Box Super Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 29, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D-0.2%
  • 3M-33.3%
  • 1Y-50.0%
  • YTD-14.4%

The Big Box Super Stores industry has been flat over the last week, but Dispensa Group has lost 6.7%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 50% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 7.0% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Big Box Super Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 30 Nov 2023UKĀ£2.3bUKĀ£15.6bUKĀ£609.3m3.6x3.8x0.1x
Sat, 28 Oct 2023UKĀ£2.3bUKĀ£15.3bUKĀ£582.6m3.7x4x0.2x
Mon, 25 Sep 2023UKĀ£2.7bUKĀ£15.3bUKĀ£576.8m4.9x4.8x0.2x
Wed, 23 Aug 2023UKĀ£2.8bUKĀ£15.3bUKĀ£428.0m8x6.4x0.2x
Fri, 21 Jul 2023UKĀ£1.7bUKĀ£15.4bUKĀ£437.3m6.9x3.9x0.1x
Sun, 18 Jun 2023UKĀ£2.5bUKĀ£15.7bUKĀ£460.4m6.2x5.5x0.2x
Tue, 16 May 2023UKĀ£2.6bUKĀ£15.9bUKĀ£478.0m5.8x5.4x0.2x
Thu, 13 Apr 2023UKĀ£2.6bUKĀ£15.7bUKĀ£462.6m6.1x5.5x0.2x
Sat, 11 Mar 2023UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Mon, 06 Feb 2023UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Wed, 04 Jan 2023UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Fri, 02 Dec 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Sun, 30 Oct 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Tue, 27 Sep 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Thu, 25 Aug 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Sat, 23 Jul 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£12.3bUKĀ£203.4m23.6x4.4x0.07x
Mon, 20 Jun 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£10.6bUKĀ£202.1m26.4x4.4x0.08x
Wed, 18 May 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£10.2bUKĀ£192.8m27.3x4.6x0.09x
Fri, 15 Apr 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£8.1bUKĀ£154.1m34.2x5.7x0.1x
Sun, 13 Mar 2022UKĀ£885.4mUKĀ£4.9bUKĀ£90.3m7.8x9.8x0.2x
Tue, 08 Feb 2022UKĀ£1.2bUKĀ£8.5bUKĀ£187.3m5.5x6.5x0.1x
Thu, 06 Jan 2022UKĀ£1.5bUKĀ£8.4bUKĀ£186.4m6.7x8.1x0.2x
Sat, 04 Dec 2021UKĀ£1.5bUKĀ£8.6bUKĀ£191.5m6.7x7.8x0.2x
Mon, 01 Nov 2021UKĀ£1.6bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£199.5m7.1x8.2x0.2x
Wed, 29 Sep 2021UKĀ£1.6bUKĀ£8.6bUKĀ£169.3m8.3x9.7x0.2x
Fri, 27 Aug 2021UKĀ£1.7bUKĀ£8.5bUKĀ£168.8m8.5x9.8x0.2x
Sat, 03 Jul 2021UKĀ£1.8bUKĀ£8.5bUKĀ£168.8m9.3x10.8x0.2x
Tue, 06 Apr 2021UKĀ£1.8bUKĀ£8.2bUKĀ£185.7m7.9x9.6x0.2x
Fri, 08 Jan 2021UKĀ£1.9bUKĀ£8.4bUKĀ£204.1m7.5x9.3x0.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9.6x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£1.6bTotal Earnings: UKĀ£162.6mTotal Revenue: UKĀ£7.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Big Box Super Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.6x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Hypermarkets and Super Centers industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 3.8x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 6.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.15x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Hypermarkets and Super Centers industry have grown 55% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 25% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Big Box Super Stores compare with similar industries?

GB Market-0.25%
Consumer Staples0.36%
Food and Staples Retail2.18%
Big Box Super Stores-0.16%
Food Distributors3.12%
Food Retail2.25%
Drug Retail0%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
OKEY O'Key GroupUS$0.60n/a
US$160.4m
-15.8%PE43.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

DISP

UKĀ£0.035

Dispensa Group

7D

-6.7%

1Y

-65.0%

OKEY

US$0.60

O'Key Group

7D

n/a

1Y

-15.8%