Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Commodity Chemicals Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D-1.2%
  • 3M-1.4%
  • 1Y6.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Commodity Chemicals industry has dropped 1.2%, driven by PETRONAS Chemicals Group Berhad declining 1.5%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 6.0%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 21% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Commodity Chemicals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024RM72.0bRM66.6bRM2.1b22.2x34.1x1.1x
Tue, 21 May 2024RM76.7bRM67.2bRM2.0b18.6x39x1.1x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024RM73.8bRM67.2bRM1.9b17.9x38.6x1.1x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024RM74.0bRM67.0bRM1.9b16x39.6x1.1x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024RM72.6bRM69.6bRM2.3b17.6x31.2x1x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024RM76.8bRM69.8bRM2.2b17.6x35.2x1.1x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023RM74.0bRM69.7bRM2.1b17.6x34.6x1.1x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023RM76.0bRM71.2bRM3.8b16x20x1.1x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023RM75.2bRM71.7bRM3.5b16x21.5x1x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023RM75.8bRM71.7bRM3.5b15.7x21.6x1.1x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023RM73.6bRM73.2bRM5.0b13.6x14.8x1x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023RM67.8bRM74.1bRM5.1b13.1x13.2x0.9x
Wed, 24 May 2023RM73.7bRM73.7bRM6.9b12.2x10.7x1x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023RM76.7bRM74.5bRM7.2b12.4x10.6x1x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023RM77.0bRM74.5bRM7.3b10.6x10.6x1x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023RM84.7bRM72.9bRM9.0b10.3x9.4x1.2x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023RM86.5bRM73.6bRM9.5b10.2x9.1x1.2x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022RM87.5bRM73.4bRM9.5b10.2x9.2x1.2x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022RM86.9bRM71.0bRM9.6b9.5x9x1.2x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022RM86.1bRM70.9bRM10.0b9.4x8.6x1.2x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022RM91.1bRM70.7bRM10.1b10x9.1x1.3x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022RM92.3bRM67.7bRM10.1b10.6x9.1x1.4x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022RM94.5bRM66.6bRM10.6b9.4x8.9x1.4x
Thu, 26 May 2022RM102.3bRM64.6bRM10.0b10x10.2x1.6x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022RM106.9bRM62.1bRM10.3b11x10.4x1.7x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022RM99.5bRM62.1bRM10.3b10.1x9.7x1.6x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022RM99.9bRM56.2bRM8.6b13x11.6x1.8x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022RM97.6bRM55.4bRM8.5b12.7x11.4x1.8x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021RM90.6bRM55.4bRM8.5b12.3x10.6x1.6x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021RM91.1bRM50.9bRM6.8b12.2x13.3x1.8x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021RM94.3bRM50.6bRM6.9b11.8x13.7x1.9x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021RM91.1bRM51.9bRM7.3b14.1x12.4x1.8x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021RM88.1bRM51.9bRM7.3b14.1x12x1.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

12.1x


Total Market Cap: RM88.8bTotal Earnings: RM7.3bTotal Revenue: RM51.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Commodity Chemicals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 16.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Malaysian Commodity Chemicals industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 34.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 16.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Commodity Chemicals industry have declined 34% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 8.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Malaysian Commodity Chemicals compare with similar industries?

MY Market-1.21%
Materials-1.31%
Chemicals-1.15%
Commodity Chemicals-1.21%
Specialty Chemicals2.51%
Industrial Gases0%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals-0.60%
Diversified Chemicals-1.50%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SENFONG Seng Fong Holdings BerhadRM1.003.1%
+RM21.6m
94.6%PE16.5x
DPIH DPI Holdings BerhadRM0.215.0%
+RM7.3m
20.0%PE29.4x
RGTBHD RGT BerhadRM0.952.2%
+RM6.9m
15.2%PE329.1x
KARYON Karyon Industries BerhadRM0.205.4%
+RM4.8m
18.2%PE14.5x
ANALABS Analabs Resources BerhadRM1.861.6%
+RM3.3m
34.8%PE5.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.