Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Construction Materials Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-3.4%
  • 3M-1.5%
  • 1Y66.8%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Construction Materials industry has risen 1.5%, driven by gains from Hume Cement Industries Berhad of 4.7%. During this same period, the Quality Concrete Holdings Berhad underperformed, falling 9.0%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 75%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 7.2% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Construction Materials Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 17 Apr 2024RM9.7bRM7.3bRM616.4m16.9x15.7x1.3x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024RM9.8bRM7.3bRM614.3m17.7x15.9x1.3x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024RM9.5bRM6.9bRM437.3m20.2x21.7x1.4x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024RM9.4bRM6.9bRM434.5m21x21.7x1.4x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023RM8.6bRM6.9bRM436.6m19x19.7x1.2x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023RM7.6bRM6.5bRM425.6m20.6x17.8x1.2x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023RM7.4bRM6.5bRM426.0m20.5x17.4x1.1x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023RM7.5bRM6.4bRM443.1m21x17x1.2x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023RM6.7bRM6.2bRM389.4m26.7x17.2x1.1x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023RM6.2bRM6.2bRM395.0m26.1x15.7x1x
Tue, 23 May 2023RM6.0bRM6.0bRM393.2m25.7x15.3x1x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023RM5.5bRM5.9bRM379.6m24.4x14.4x0.9x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023RM5.2bRM5.9bRM386.8m18.4x13.5x0.9x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023RM5.9bRM5.7bRM432.0m22x13.6x1x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023RM5.0bRM5.7bRM433.1m24.8x11.6x0.9x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022RM5.1bRM5.7bRM431.8m25.3x11.8x0.9x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022RM4.6bRM4.9bRM305.8m23.4x15.2x0.9x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022RM4.3bRM4.9bRM296.3m18.1x14.4x0.9x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022RM4.9bRM4.9bRM296.3m26.6x16.5x1x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022RM5.0bRM4.2bRM252.4m19.8x19.7x1.2x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022RM5.1bRM4.2bRM252.0m18.1x20.4x1.2x
Wed, 25 May 2022RM5.9bRM3.7bRM224.5m24.3x26.3x1.6x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022RM6.4bRM3.7bRM223.0m25.8x28.7x1.7x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022RM5.6bRM3.7bRM222.3m27.1x25.3x1.5x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022RM5.6bRM3.2bRM77.6m36.6x71.8x1.8x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022RM5.8bRM3.2bRM77.7m34.9x74.5x1.8x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021RM5.8bRM3.1bRM78.1m30.4x74.5x1.9x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021RM6.9bRM3.3bRM73.9m32.8x92.9x2.1x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021RM6.5bRM3.3bRM70.1m30.3x93.2x2x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021RM5.5bRM3.3bRM72.0m24.3x76.4x1.7x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021RM5.0bRM3.3bRM72.0m24.2x69.9x1.5x
Wed, 05 May 2021RM5.9bRM3.4b-RM147,987,961.0035.2x-39.8x1.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-39.8x


Total Market Cap: RM5.9bTotal Earnings: -RM147,987,961.00Total Revenue: RM3.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Construction Materials Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 28.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Construction Materials industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 28.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Construction Materials industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 28% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Malaysian Construction Materials compare with similar industries?

MY Market-1.61%
Materials0.21%
Basic Materials-3.36%
Construction Materials-3.36%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CMSB

RM1.01

Cahya Mata Sarawak Berhad

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-9.8%

JADEM

RM0.18

Jade Marvel Group Berhad

7D

-2.7%

1Y

-40.0%

CEPCO

RM1.03

Concrete Engineering Products Berhad

7D

-1.9%

1Y

1.0%

OKA

RM0.68

OKA Corporation Bhd

7D

-3.5%

1Y

-14.5%

BIG

RM0.68

B.I.G. Industries Berhad

7D

-3.6%

1Y

2.3%

MCEMENT

RM4.79

Malayan Cement Berhad

7D

-3.4%

1Y

92.4%