Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Semiconductors Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies22
  • 7D4.7%
  • 3M4.1%
  • 1Y-0.4%
  • YTD2.7%

In the last week, the Semiconductors industry is up 4.7%, with ViTrox Corporation Berhad leading the way, up 7.8%. Overall in the last year, the industry is flat. Earnings are forecast to grow by 33% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Semiconductors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024RM51.9bRM9.9bRM821.8m40.9x63.2x5.3x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024RM50.9bRM9.9bRM839.3m37.2x60.6x5.1x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023RM50.5bRM9.9bRM842.8m38.2x59.9x5.1x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023RM50.3bRM9.9bRM950.0m36.8x52.9x5.1x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023RM49.4bRM10.0bRM1.0b35.2x48.6x4.9x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023RM50.3bRM10.0bRM1.0b36.1x49.7x5x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023RM52.2bRM10.3bRM1.2b38.6x42.5x5x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023RM49.9bRM10.5bRM1.3b35x38.3x4.7x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023RM46.8bRM9.0bRM1.3b27.6x36x5.2x
Wed, 03 May 2023RM48.1bRM9.3bRM1.5b29.8x32.5x5.2x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023RM49.4bRM9.4bRM1.5b28.7x32.1x5.3x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023RM49.1bRM9.3bRM1.5b25.3x32.1x5.3x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023RM50.2bRM9.4bRM1.6b23.7x31.2x5.4x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022RM46.7bRM9.3bRM1.6b22.8x29.3x5x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022RM42.1bRM9.2bRM1.6b23.1x26.1x4.6x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022RM39.8bRM9.2bRM1.6b21.6x24.9x4.3x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022RM45.3bRM9.2bRM1.6b26.2x28.3x4.9x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022RM47.2bRM9.1bRM1.6b25.2x29.4x5.2x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022RM41.6bRM9.0bRM1.6b23.5x26.1x4.6x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022RM47.6bRM9.0bRM1.6b26.9x29.9x5.3x
Thu, 05 May 2022RM36.8bRM7.3bRM1.2b30.2x30.6x5x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022RM41.1bRM7.1bRM1.2b37.7x35.3x5.8x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022RM40.5bRM7.2bRM1.2b31.4x34.6x5.7x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022RM41.6bRM6.8bRM1.1b33.6x38.1x6.1x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021RM53.5bRM6.8bRM1.1b42.8x49.4x7.9x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021RM55.0bRM6.6bRM1.1b51.4x52.1x8.3x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021RM54.2bRM6.4bRM1.0b63.2x53.3x8.4x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021RM52.9bRM6.4bRM1.0b61.7x52.4x8.2x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021RM52.1bRM6.4bRM1.0b63.4x51.6x8.1x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021RM41.9bRM5.8bRM863.3m56x48.6x7.2x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021RM46.2bRM5.3bRM690.9m63.8x66.8x8.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

66.8x


Total Market Cap: RM46.2bTotal Earnings: RM690.9mTotal Revenue: RM5.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Semiconductors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 41.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Malaysian Semiconductor industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 63.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 41.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 5.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Semiconductor industry have grown 6.0% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 23% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Tech industry?

MY Market0.87%
Tech3.32%
Semiconductors4.67%
Semiconductor Equipment5.30%
Semiconductors4.31%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Semiconductors industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 40.7x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 38.7%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 41.9% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Semiconductor Equipment industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 44.7x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Semiconductors industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 39% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 42% per year.
  • In contrast, the Semiconductor Equipment industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 21% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
VITROX ViTrox Corporation BerhadRM7.577.8%
+RM520.0m
-5.1%PE55.8x
MPI Malaysian Pacific Industries BerhadRM28.889.0%
+RM473.4m
-2.1%PE147.4x
D&O D & O Green Technologies BerhadRM3.536.3%
+RM339.2m
-22.4%PE181.5x
UNISEM Unisem (M) BerhadRM3.336.1%
+RM317.9m
6.4%PE47.1x
INARI Inari Amertron BerhadRM3.302.2%
+RM262.5m
34.7%PE40.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GTRONIC

RM1.51

Globetronics Technology Bhd

7D

-1.3%

1Y

38.5%

GREATEC

RM4.90

Greatech Technology Berhad

7D

3.4%

1Y

-2.6%

VITROX

RM7.57

ViTrox Corporation Berhad

7D

7.8%

1Y

-5.1%

MPI

RM28.88

Malaysian Pacific Industries Berhad

7D

9.0%

1Y

-2.1%

FPGROUP

RM0.39

FoundPac Group Berhad

7D

-6.0%

1Y

-9.3%

INARI

RM3.30

Inari Amertron Berhad

7D

2.2%

1Y

34.7%

KESM

RM6.68

KESM Industries Berhad

7D

-1.6%

1Y

-21.6%

MI

RM2.04

Mi Technovation Berhad

7D

4.1%

1Y

4.1%