Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Paper and Forestry Products Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies20
  • 7D-4.3%
  • 3M5.4%
  • 1Y7.7%
  • YTD4.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Paper and Forestry Products industry has dropped 2.4%, driven by a pullback from Jaya Tiasa Holdings Berhad of 11%. Meanwhile, Classic Scenic Berhad actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 5.4% in the last week. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 11%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 16% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Paper and Forestry Products Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024RM4.1bRM5.4bRM66.6m12.5x61.1x0.8x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024RM4.1bRM5.4b-RM90,546,484.0013.8x-45.4x0.8x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023RM3.8bRM5.4b-RM90,546,484.0012.2x-42.4x0.7x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023RM3.9bRM5.4b-RM25,695,484.0013.3x-153.1x0.7x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023RM3.9bRM5.4b-RM24,563,484.0013.8x-157x0.7x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023RM3.9bRM5.4b-RM24,563,484.0012.8x-158.2x0.7x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023RM3.7bRM5.8bRM100.7m9x37x0.6x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023RM3.6bRM5.8bRM98.4m8x36.6x0.6x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023RM3.8bRM6.0bRM113.5m9.7x33.1x0.6x
Tue, 09 May 2023RM3.9bRM6.4bRM190.6m9.3x20.4x0.6x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023RM3.9bRM6.4bRM181.3m10x21.6x0.6x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023RM4.1bRM6.4bRM181.3m10.4x22.8x0.6x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023RM4.3bRM6.5bRM340.0m8.4x12.5x0.7x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022RM5.4bRM8.7bRM721.9m8x7.5x0.6x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022RM5.5bRM8.4bRM667.5m7.3x8.2x0.7x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022RM5.4bRM8.3bRM657.8m6.1x8.2x0.6x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022RM5.4bRM8.3bRM657.8m7x8.2x0.7x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022RM5.5bRM7.7bRM561.3m9.9x9.8x0.7x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022RM5.1bRM7.7bRM552.2m9x9.1x0.7x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022RM6.1bRM7.7bRM550.2m11x11.1x0.8x
Wed, 11 May 2022RM7.1bRM7.2bRM420.4m14.6x16.9x1x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022RM7.1bRM7.2bRM423.1m14.4x16.8x1x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022RM6.8bRM7.1bRM409.5m12.8x16.7x1x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022RM5.5bRM6.4bRM159.6m21.7x34.2x0.8x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021RM5.3bRM6.4bRM160.0m20.5x33x0.8x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021RM5.0bRM6.5bRM230.0m17.7x21.8x0.8x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021RM5.4bRM6.5bRM43.1m15.6x124.7x0.8x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021RM4.8bRM6.4b-RM17,757,909.0013.3x-268.9x0.8x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021RM4.7bRM6.3b-RM70,128,909.0018.6x-67.1x0.7x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021RM4.9bRM5.9b-RM203,154,743.0020.2x-24.1x0.8x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021RM5.2bRM5.7b-RM356,856,294.0027.4x-14.7x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-14.7x


Total Market Cap: RM5.2bTotal Earnings: -RM356,856,294.00Total Revenue: RM5.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Paper and Forestry Products Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -11.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Malaysian Forestry industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 799x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -12.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.74x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Forestry industry have gone up over the last three years and the industry is now profitable.
  • Revenues have declined 3.0% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Materials industry?

MY Market-0.20%
Materials-1.16%
Paper and Forestry Products-4.34%
Paper Products-3.07%
Forestry Products-4.44%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Paper Products industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.5x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Forestry Products industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 16% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 42% per year.
  • In contrast, the Forestry Products industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 16% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
JTIASA Jaya Tiasa Holdings BerhadRM1.284.9%
+RM58.1m
74.1%PE6.7x
GPHAROS Golden Pharos BerhadRM0.4230.8%
+RM14.1m
63.5%PE2.5x
CSCENIC Classic Scenic BerhadRM0.482.1%
+RM3.8m
-28.0%PE29.6x
SUBUR Subur Tiasa Holdings BerhadRM0.902.3%
+RM3.8m
-6.3%PS0.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GPHAROS

RM0.42

Golden Pharos Berhad

7D

30.8%

1Y

63.5%

HEVEA

RM0.33

HeveaBoard Berhad

7D

-4.3%

1Y

-7.0%

SUBUR

RM0.90

Subur Tiasa Holdings Berhad

7D

2.3%

1Y

-6.3%

EVERGRN

RM0.29

Evergreen Fibreboard Berhad

7D

-10.6%

1Y

-3.3%

WTK

RM0.46

W T K Holdings Berhad

7D

-10.7%

1Y

-2.1%

PWORTH

RM0.10

Priceworth International Berhad

7D

-9.1%

1Y

-25.9%

WANGZNG

RM0.66

Wang-Zheng Berhad

7D

-4.4%

1Y

-18.1%

EKSONS

RM0.49

Eksons Corporation Berhad

7D

-8.4%

1Y

-15.5%

BTM

RM0.065

BTM Resources Berhad

7D

-7.1%

1Y

-7.1%

MENTIGA

RM0.57

Mentiga Corporation Berhad

7D

-15.6%

1Y

3.6%

CSCENIC

RM0.48

Classic Scenic Berhad

7D

2.1%

1Y

-28.0%