Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Construction Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies86
  • 7D4.6%
  • 3M42.7%
  • 1Y75.5%
  • YTD57.3%

Gamuda Berhad is up 5.1%, leading the way for the Construction industry, which has gained 4.6%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 76%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Construction Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024RM 76.5bRM 55.1bRM 1.5b27.3x51.5x1.4x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024RM 65.4bRM 54.7bRM 1.4b24.2x48.2x1.2x
Thu, 16 May 2024RM 56.6bRM 53.7bRM 940.8m24.4x60.2x1.1x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024RM 54.8bRM 53.7bRM 923.3m22.1x59.3x1x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024RM 50.5bRM 51.9bRM 1.1b18.9x47.6x1x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024RM 50.7bRM 49.6bRM 901.5m21.6x56.2x1x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024RM 49.7bRM 49.4bRM 835.6m20x59.5x1x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023RM 45.8bRM 47.9bRM 664.6m18.8x68.8x1x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023RM 45.6bRM 45.9bRM 653.7m19.2x69.7x1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023RM 45.2bRM 44.1bRM 571.8m19.1x79x1x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023RM 43.4bRM 43.6bRM 637.3m17x68.2x1x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023RM 41.7bRM 43.2bRM 686.1m17.4x60.8x1x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023RM 40.8bRM 42.3bRM 653.4m16x62.4x1x
Fri, 19 May 2023RM 40.9bRM 42.3bRM 784.7m16.4x52.1x1x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023RM 42.4bRM 42.4bRM 740.1m16.9x57.2x1x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023RM 41.4bRM 42.1bRM 629.0m17.5x65.9x1x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023RM 41.3bRM 42.3bRM 1.1b15.1x38.7x1x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023RM 39.6bRM 41.7bRM 1.0b13.7x39.1x1x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022RM 39.8bRM 41.1bRM 1.1b14.6x35.9x1x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022RM 37.4bRM 39.4bRM 1.1b18x33.2x0.9x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022RM 36.9bRM 38.6bRM 1.2b17.6x31.9x1x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022RM 38.1bRM 38.2bRM 1.2b19.9x30.8x1x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022RM 37.6bRM 37.3bRM 1.1b18x34.4x1x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022RM 37.9bRM 37.6bRM 1.1b19.2x35.6x1x
Sat, 21 May 2022RM 40.3bRM 37.9bRM 1.5b17.8x26.4x1.1x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022RM 42.1bRM 37.9bRM 1.5b17.9x27.4x1.1x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022RM 36.9bRM 37.4bRM 1.5b16.9x24.8x1x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022RM 38.3bRM 38.3bRM 1.2b17.9x32.7x1x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022RM 39.3bRM 38.3bRM 1.2b19.7x32.9x1x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021RM 38.4bRM 38.3bRM 1.2b18x33.4x1x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021RM 41.1bRM 39.7bRM 1.3b18.8x31.3x1x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021RM 40.5bRM 39.6bRM 1.3b17.3x30x1x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021RM 41.2bRM 39.1bRM 976.6m19.1x42.2x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

40.4x


Total Market Cap: RM 39.5bTotal Earnings: RM 976.6mTotal Revenue: RM 39.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Construction Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 46.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Malaysian Construction industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 51.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 46.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.0x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Construction industry have grown 15% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Industrials industry?

MY Market0.60%
Industrials0.29%
Construction4.64%
Construction and Engineering4.64%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GAMUDA Gamuda BerhadRM 8.205.1%
+RM 1.1b
82.6%PE25.5x
IJM IJM Corporation BerhadRM 3.648.3%
+RM 981.7m
145.9%PE21.3x
SUNCON Sunway Construction Group BerhadRM 5.025.7%
+RM 348.1m
197.0%PE43.2x
EKOVEST Ekovest BerhadRM 0.5611.9%
+RM 177.9m
36.1%PS1.5x
WCT WCT Holdings BerhadRM 1.259.6%
+RM 155.9m
174.7%PS1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

HSSEB

RM 1.28

HSS Engineers Berhad

7D

18.5%

1Y

141.5%

PRTASCO

RM 0.36

Protasco Berhad

7D

-6.5%

1Y

105.7%

UUE

RM 0.82

UUE Holdings Berhad

7D

-11.4%

1Y

n/a

NAIM

RM 1.51

Naim Holdings Berhad

7D

-1.3%

1Y

86.4%

GAMUDA

RM 8.20

Gamuda Berhad

7D

5.1%

1Y

82.6%

KGB

RM 3.42

Kelington Group Berhad

7D

-4.2%

1Y

131.1%

KAB

RM 0.35

Kinergy Advancement Berhad

7D

-1.4%

1Y

4.4%

PEKAT

RM 0.97

Pekat Group Berhad

7D

-6.7%

1Y

108.6%