Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Diversified Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D0.9%
  • 3M5.8%
  • 1Y7.7%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Diversified Banks industry is up 1.2%, with Public Bank Berhad leading the way, up 1.6%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 8.0%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 5.0% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Diversified Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024RM385.1bRM89.1bRM35.8b10.4x10.8x4.3x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024RM368.2bRM88.6bRM35.8b9.7x10.3x4.2x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023RM366.9bRM88.6bRM35.8b9.7x10.3x4.1x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023RM365.3bRM88.1bRM34.6b9.8x10.6x4.1x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023RM361.1bRM88.1bRM34.6b9.8x10.4x4.1x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023RM366.0bRM88.1bRM34.6b9.6x10.6x4.2x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023RM364.0bRM86.8bRM33.2b10.1x11x4.2x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023RM341.3bRM86.8bRM33.2b9.2x10.3x3.9x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023RM335.2bRM86.8bRM33.2b8.6x10.1x3.9x
Wed, 03 May 2023RM345.2bRM86.0bRM32.0b9.6x10.8x4x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023RM350.9bRM86.2bRM32.2b10.2x10.9x4.1x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023RM357.0bRM83.2bRM30.7b11.5x11.6x4.3x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023RM368.5bRM82.9bRM30.6b12.2x12x4.4x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022RM370.4bRM82.9bRM30.6b12.4x12.1x4.5x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022RM361.0bRM79.4bRM28.1b11.1x12.8x4.5x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022RM352.5bRM79.4bRM28.1b11x12.5x4.4x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022RM375.4bRM79.4bRM28.1b11.4x13.3x4.7x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022RM372.9bRM77.5bRM27.7b10.8x13.5x4.8x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022RM356.6bRM77.5bRM27.7b10.7x12.9x4.6x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022RM367.3bRM77.5bRM27.7b11.3x13.3x4.7x
Thu, 05 May 2022RM373.7bRM77.5bRM24.1b11.7x15.5x4.8x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022RM371.3bRM77.5bRM24.1b11.7x15.4x4.8x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022RM361.5bRM75.7bRM23.0b12.1x15.7x4.8x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022RM342.2bRM74.5bRM22.1b12.9x15.5x4.6x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021RM336.9bRM74.5bRM22.1b11.3x15.3x4.5x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021RM331.2bRM72.9bRM22.2b12.2x14.9x4.5x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021RM341.8bRM73.8bRM22.3b12.4x15.3x4.6x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021RM330.4bRM73.8bRM22.3b12.2x14.8x4.5x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021RM319.4bRM73.8bRM22.3b11.7x14.3x4.3x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021RM321.7bRM69.0bRM19.3b13.7x16.7x4.7x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021RM317.9bRM66.6bRM21.5b12.5x14.8x4.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

14.8x


Total Market Cap: RM317.9bTotal Earnings: RM21.5bTotal Revenue: RM66.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Diversified Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Diversified Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 13.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Banks industry have grown 18% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Malaysian Diversified Banks compare with similar industries?

MY Market0.87%
Financials0.74%
Banks0.97%
Diversified Banks0.93%
Regional Banks3.33%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PBBANK Public Bank BerhadRM4.481.6%
+RM1.4b
8.5%PB1.6x
MAYBANK Malayan Banking BerhadRM9.531.1%
+RM1.2b
9.0%PB1.3x
HLFG Hong Leong Financial Group BerhadRM16.662.0%
+RM362.9m
-7.1%PB0.7x
HLBANK Hong Leong Bank BerhadRM19.560.8%
+RM327.9m
-3.5%PB1.2x
AFFIN AFFIN Bank BerhadRM2.613.2%
+RM187.7m
27.3%PB0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MAYBANK

RM9.53

Malayan Banking Berhad

7D

1.1%

1Y

9.0%

AFFIN

RM2.61

AFFIN Bank Berhad

7D

3.2%

1Y

27.3%

RHBBANK

RM5.66

RHB Bank Berhad

7D

0.7%

1Y

3.3%

ABMB

RM3.65

Alliance Bank Malaysia Berhad

7D

2.8%

1Y

5.2%

BIMB

RM2.40

Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad

7D

-1.6%

1Y

6.7%

AMBANK

RM4.35

AMMB Holdings Berhad

7D

-0.9%

1Y

11.3%

HLFG

RM16.66

Hong Leong Financial Group Berhad

7D

2.0%

1Y

-7.1%

HLBANK

RM19.56

Hong Leong Bank Berhad

7D

0.8%

1Y

-3.5%