Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Specialty Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M4.5%
  • 1Y13.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Specialty Stores industry has dropped 1.4%, driven by a pullback from Mynews Holdings Berhad of 4.4%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 12%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 16% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Specialty Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 22 Jun 2024RM3.1bRM4.1bRM216.2m20x14.5x0.8x
Mon, 20 May 2024RM3.3bRM4.2bRM212.9m20.2x15.3x0.8x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024RM3.2bRM4.1bRM207.8m20.5x15.3x0.8x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024RM3.1bRM4.1bRM203.4m19.8x15.2x0.8x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024RM3.1bRM4.1bRM202.0m20x15.4x0.8x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024RM3.0bRM4.1bRM201.4m20.2x14.8x0.7x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023RM2.8bRM4.0bRM200.4m19.4x14.2x0.7x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023RM2.9bRM4.1bRM185.1m17.6x15.6x0.7x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023RM3.0bRM4.1bRM184.0m19x16.1x0.7x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023RM3.0bRM4.1bRM184.7m19.5x16x0.7x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023RM3.3bRM4.2bRM200.9m19.7x16.3x0.8x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023RM2.5bRM3.8bRM173.2m17.1x14.5x0.7x
Tue, 23 May 2023RM2.6bRM3.8bRM172.0m16.5x15.1x0.7x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023RM2.6bRM3.8bRM171.0m16.9x15.1x0.7x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023RM1.8bRM2.2bRM89.5m18.1x20x0.8x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023RM1.9bRM2.2bRM100.5m17x18.8x0.9x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023RM1.9bRM2.2bRM95.7m15.9x19.6x0.9x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022RM1.8bRM2.1bRM85.3m15x20.8x0.8x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022RM1.7bRM2.0bRM67.6m17.2x25.2x0.9x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022RM1.7bRM1.9bRM55.7m18.8x29.8x0.9x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022RM1.6bRM1.8bRM42.2m17x38.8x0.9x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022RM1.6bRM1.7bRM11.4m23.3x138.6x0.9x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022RM1.7bRM1.6bRM10.2m23.5x162x1x
Wed, 25 May 2022RM1.8bRM1.6bRM11.7m19x156x1.1x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022RM1.9bRM1.7b-RM1,146,000.0020.4x-1628.4x1.1x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022RM1.9bRM1.7b-RM2,227,000.0019.9x-846.4x1.1x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022RM2.0bRM1.6b-RM8,306,449.0028.8x-246.5x1.3x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022RM2.0bRM1.6b-RM17,400,449.0029.4x-116.3x1.3x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021RM2.0bRM1.6b-RM14,284,449.0027.1x-136.5x1.2x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021RM2.1bRM1.7bRM6.4m17.5x332.5x1.2x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021RM2.0bRM1.8bRM10.7m18.9x188.4x1.1x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021RM2.1bRM1.8bRM19.5m19.9x107.2x1.1x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021RM2.0bRM1.8bRM19.5m18.5x101.1x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

101.9x


Total Market Cap: RM2.0bTotal Earnings: RM19.5mTotal Revenue: RM1.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Specialty Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -43.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Specialty Stores industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -43.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.91x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Stores industry have grown 123% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 31% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Malaysian Specialty Stores compare with similar industries?

MY Market-1.21%
Consumer Discretionary0.10%
Specialty Stores-1.01%
Specialty Stores-0.46%
Home Furnishing Retail16.92%
Apparel Retail2.07%
Automotive Retail0.45%
Home Improvement Retail-2.05%
Computer and Electronics Retail-3.38%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AMWAY Amway (Malaysia) Holdings BerhadRM7.281.1%
+RM13.2m
38.7%PE9.3x
ATLAN Atlan Holdings BhdRM2.701.9%
+RM12.7m
-7.5%PE33.7x
TOMEI Tomei Consolidated BerhadRM1.802.3%
+RM5.5m
69.8%PE4.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.