Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Real Estate Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies89
  • 7D1.5%
  • 3M9.3%
  • 1Y56.1%
  • YTD30.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Real Estate industry has risen 1.5%, driven by gains in S P Setia Berhad and Tropicana Corporation Berhad of 7.5% and 13%, respectively. Meanwhile, Tanco Holdings Berhad actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 11% in the last week. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 56%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 11% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Real Estate Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 13 Jul 2024RM 93.3bRM 43.1bRM 4.6b16.4x20.3x2.2x
Mon, 10 Jun 2024RM 92.4bRM 43.3bRM 4.6b17.6x20.1x2.1x
Wed, 08 May 2024RM 85.6bRM 40.9bRM 4.1b15.7x21.1x2.1x
Fri, 05 Apr 2024RM 82.0bRM 40.8bRM 4.1b15.1x20.1x2x
Sun, 03 Mar 2024RM 74.1bRM 40.6bRM 4.2b13.7x17.5x1.8x
Tue, 30 Jan 2024RM 75.0bRM 40.2bRM 4.2b13.3x18.1x1.9x
Thu, 28 Dec 2023RM 70.5bRM 40.2bRM 4.1b12.7x17.1x1.8x
Sat, 25 Nov 2023RM 70.0bRM 39.0bRM 4.4b13x15.9x1.8x
Mon, 23 Oct 2023RM 68.5bRM 38.5bRM 4.3b13.9x15.8x1.8x
Wed, 20 Sep 2023RM 70.3bRM 38.5bRM 4.3b14.4x16.3x1.8x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023RM 66.6bRM 37.5bRM 4.1b12.9x16.3x1.8x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023RM 58.1bRM 37.5bRM 4.1b11.7x14.1x1.5x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023RM 55.1bRM 36.6bRM 3.9b10.8x14.2x1.5x
Thu, 11 May 2023RM 54.2bRM 35.2bRM 3.4b10.1x16x1.5x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023RM 54.5bRM 35.1bRM 3.4b10.2x16.2x1.6x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023RM 53.1bRM 35.3bRM 3.2b10.1x16.4x1.5x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023RM 52.7bRM 34.7bRM 3.2b10x16.4x1.5x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022RM 49.9bRM 34.7bRM 3.2b9.9x15.5x1.4x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022RM 49.3bRM 33.5bRM 3.0b9.5x16.4x1.5x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022RM 45.4bRM 31.7bRM 2.3b10.2x20.1x1.4x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022RM 48.3bRM 31.6bRM 2.5b11.4x19.2x1.5x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022RM 49.1bRM 30.7bRM 2.2b13.4x22.6x1.6x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022RM 45.5bRM 30.8bRM 2.2b12.9x21.2x1.5x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022RM 48.3bRM 30.8bRM 2.0b13.4x24.7x1.6x
Fri, 13 May 2022RM 52.4bRM 31.5bRM 2.1b14.2x25.1x1.7x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022RM 55.0bRM 31.7bRM 2.1b13.1x25.7x1.7x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022RM 52.7bRM 32.1bRM 2.3b12.7x22.8x1.6x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022RM 52.4bRM 31.9bRM 1.8b14.1x29.1x1.6x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022RM 53.4bRM 32.0bRM 1.8b13x29.4x1.7x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021RM 54.3bRM 32.4bRM 1.9b12.7x28x1.7x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021RM 58.4bRM 34.3bRM 1.7b12.2x33.4x1.7x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021RM 54.9bRM 34.6bRM 1.8b11.8x30.5x1.6x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021RM 53.1bRM 35.1bRM 1.8b10.8x29.1x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28.6x


Total Market Cap: RM 52.3bTotal Earnings: RM 1.8bTotal Revenue: RM 35.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Real Estate Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Malaysian Real Estate industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 21.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Real Estate industry have grown 36% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 7.1% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Real Estate industry?

MY Market0.52%
Real Estate1.15%
Real Estate1.50%
Diversified Real Estate2.69%
Real Estate Development1.76%
Real Estate Services0%
Real Estate Operating Companies-10.82%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Diversified Real Estate industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 62.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 6.8%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 28.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Real Estate Development industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 11% over the next 5 years.
  • This is roughly in line with its past earnings growth rate.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Real Estate industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SPSETIA S P Setia BerhadRM 1.577.5%
+RM 525.0m
163.9%PE36.1x
TROP Tropicana Corporation BerhadRM 1.6913.4%
+RM 453.3m
30.0%PS2.5x
MAHSING Mah Sing Group BerhadRM 1.898.0%
+RM 358.4m
197.6%PE21.5x
UEMS UEM Sunrise BerhadRM 1.162.7%
+RM 151.8m
222.2%PE90.4x
ECOWLD Eco World Development Group BerhadRM 1.632.5%
+RM 117.9m
88.4%PE23x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SPSETIA

RM 1.57

S P Setia Berhad

7D

7.5%

1Y

163.9%

MATRIX

RM 1.90

Matrix Concepts Holdings Berhad

7D

2.7%

1Y

37.7%

SEAL

RM 0.78

Seal Berhad

7D

27.0%

1Y

59.8%

UEMS

RM 1.16

UEM Sunrise Berhad

7D

2.7%

1Y

222.2%

OSK

RM 1.59

OSK Holdings Berhad

7D

-1.2%

1Y

48.6%

IOIPG

RM 2.20

IOI Properties Group Berhad

7D

-0.5%

1Y

93.0%

NCT

RM 0.51

NCT Alliance Berhad

7D

-4.7%

1Y

37.8%

OIB

RM 1.28

Oriental Interest Berhad

7D

-3.0%

1Y

10.3%