Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Oil and Gas Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 04, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D-1.9%
  • 3M-0.9%
  • 1Y3.8%
  • YTD1.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Oil and Gas industry has dropped 1.9%, driven by declines from every company within the industry. In the past year, the industry has gained 3.8%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 4.0% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Oil and Gas Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 04 Mar 2024RM27.2bRM76.4bRM1.1b10.2x25.7x0.4x
Wed, 31 Jan 2024RM26.1bRM74.8bRM1.0b8.6x25x0.3x
Fri, 29 Dec 2023RM27.0bRM74.8bRM1.0b8.8x25.8x0.4x
Sun, 26 Nov 2023RM27.7bRM77.5bRM414.3m8.4x66.8x0.4x
Tue, 24 Oct 2023RM27.8bRM77.4bRM433.1m7.8x64.1x0.4x
Thu, 21 Sep 2023RM28.4bRM77.4bRM433.1m8x65.6x0.4x
Sat, 19 Aug 2023RM27.3bRM83.5bRM1.4b9.6x19.8x0.3x
Mon, 17 Jul 2023RM26.7bRM83.5bRM1.4b10x19.4x0.3x
Wed, 14 Jun 2023RM26.4bRM83.5bRM1.4b10x19.2x0.3x
Fri, 12 May 2023RM27.1bRM82.7bRM1.5b11.5x17.9x0.3x
Sun, 09 Apr 2023RM26.9bRM82.7bRM1.5b12.7x17.8x0.3x
Tue, 07 Mar 2023RM26.5bRM82.9bRM1.5b12.5x17.3x0.3x
Thu, 02 Feb 2023RM27.2bRM77.9bRM2.1b17x12.7x0.3x
Sat, 31 Dec 2022RM28.1bRM77.9bRM2.1b16.5x13.1x0.4x
Mon, 28 Nov 2022RM27.5bRM70.7bRM2.6b15.1x10.7x0.4x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022RM25.9bRM67.8bRM2.5b13.3x10.5x0.4x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022RM26.3bRM67.8bRM2.4b15.1x10.9x0.4x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022RM27.6bRM54.1bRM1.3b11x21.1x0.5x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022RM27.0bRM54.1bRM1.3b10.3x20.6x0.5x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022RM26.6bRM54.1bRM1.3b13.3x20.3x0.5x
Sat, 14 May 2022RM28.5bRM46.6bRM1.1b25.3x26.4x0.6x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022RM27.5bRM46.6bRM1.1b15.1x25.4x0.6x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022RM26.4bRM46.6bRM1.1b15.3x24.4x0.6x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022RM25.2bRM40.1bRM849.1m15.7x29.7x0.6x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022RM25.1bRM40.1bRM849.1m13.9x29.6x0.6x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021RM24.0bRM40.1bRM762.8m13.2x31.5x0.6x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021RM25.7bRM37.3bRM1.1b11.3x23.5x0.7x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021RM23.2bRM37.2bRM1.1b8.4x21.3x0.6x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021RM23.0bRM37.2bRM1.1b8.2x21.3x0.6x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021RM23.2bRM37.2bRM1.1b9.2x21.5x0.6x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021RM24.8bRM32.4bRM742.6m7.2x33.4x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

33.4x


Total Market Cap: RM24.8bTotal Earnings: RM742.6mTotal Revenue: RM32.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Oil and Gas Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Malaysian Oil and Gas industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 25.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.48x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Oil and Gas industry have grown 78% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 30% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Energy industry?

MY Market-0.95%
Energy-1.65%
Oil and Gas-1.90%
Integrated Oil and Gas0%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation-0.90%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing-1.77%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production-2.60%
Coal and Fuels-10.17%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 55.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 4.6%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 6.0% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Oil and Gas Exploration and Production industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 24.4x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 4.6% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 6.0% per year.
  • In contrast, the Oil and Gas Exploration and Production industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 2.3% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

EATECH

RM0.26

E.A. Technique (M) Berhad

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-18.8%

HENGYUAN

RM2.75

Hengyuan Refining Company Berhad

7D

-12.4%

1Y

-17.4%

PETRONM

RM4.56

Petron Malaysia Refining & Marketing Bhd

7D

-1.9%

1Y

2.5%

HHRG

RM0.27

HHRG Berhad

7D

-10.2%

1Y

-49.0%