Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Electrical Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 30, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D0.07%
  • 3M42.7%
  • 1Y49.2%
  • YTD56.7%

Last week, the Electrical industry hasn't moved much but P.I.E. Industrial Berhad is up 6.4% in that time. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 49% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 23% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Electrical Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 30 May 2024RM8.1bRM9.4bRM215.4m24.3x37.4x0.9x
Sat, 27 Apr 2024RM7.3bRM9.4bRM201.2m23x36.2x0.8x
Mon, 25 Mar 2024RM6.2bRM9.4bRM181.6m17.9x34.2x0.7x
Wed, 21 Feb 2024RM5.3bRM9.5bRM180.0m17.4x29.7x0.6x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024RM4.5bRM9.1bRM158.0m15.6x28.7x0.5x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023RM4.6bRM9.1bRM156.2m15.5x29.2x0.5x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023RM4.6bRM8.6bRM145.6m16.8x31.6x0.5x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023RM4.7bRM8.6bRM146.2m16.3x32x0.5x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023RM4.6bRM8.6bRM196.8m14.4x23.1x0.5x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023RM4.5bRM8.5bRM198.9m14.9x22.5x0.5x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023RM4.5bRM8.5bRM196.9m14.3x22.6x0.5x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023RM4.3bRM8.3bRM211.3m14.1x20.5x0.5x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023RM4.6bRM8.3bRM218.0m16.5x21.2x0.6x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023RM4.6bRM8.3bRM217.2m17.1x21.2x0.6x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023RM4.6bRM8.4bRM193.8m19.5x23.6x0.5x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023RM4.6bRM8.4bRM199.3m20.3x23.2x0.5x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022RM4.0bRM8.3bRM189.0m15.7x21.4x0.5x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022RM4.0bRM7.9bRM173.8m13.1x23x0.5x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022RM3.7bRM7.9bRM175.2m13.2x21.4x0.5x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022RM4.0bRM7.9bRM108.1m18.8x37.4x0.5x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022RM4.0bRM7.4bRM96.5m19.1x41.8x0.5x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022RM3.7bRM7.9bRM60.4m18.5x61.3x0.5x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022RM4.1bRM7.7bRM36.6m17.6x112.5x0.5x
Mon, 02 May 2022RM4.3bRM7.3bRM18.4m19.7x231.7x0.6x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022RM4.2bRM7.3bRM15.4m18.4x272x0.6x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022RM4.4bRM6.7bRM26.0m21.1x169.5x0.7x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022RM4.9bRM6.7bRM22.2m21.8x218.8x0.7x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021RM5.3bRM6.7bRM21.6m22.1x246.6x0.8x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021RM5.6bRM6.5bRM61.6m20.3x90.6x0.9x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021RM5.5bRM6.5bRM61.4m19.9x89x0.8x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021RM5.3bRM5.8bRM99.2m23.3x53.4x0.9x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021RM5.0bRM5.8bRM99.2m24.2x50.8x0.9x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021RM4.7bRM5.6bRM78.0m22.7x59.9x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

59.9x


Total Market Cap: RM4.7bTotal Earnings: RM78.0mTotal Revenue: RM5.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Electrical Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 71.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Electrical industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 37.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 71.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.62x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Electrical industry have grown 40% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 19% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Industrials industry?

MY Market-1.00%
Industrials0.22%
Electrical0.067%
Heavy Electrical Equipment5.62%
Electrical Components-0.12%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Electrical Components industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 58.7x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 23.5%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 0.8% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Heavy Electrical Equipment industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Electrical Components industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 24% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 0.8% per year.
  • In contrast, the Heavy Electrical Equipment industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 5.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PIE P.I.E. Industrial BerhadRM6.176.4%
+RM142.1m
93.4%PE34.3x
SCGBHD Southern Cable Group BerhadRM0.695.3%
+RM28.0m
131.7%PE14.5x
PWRWELL Powerwell Holdings BerhadRM0.475.6%
+RM14.5m
161.1%PE17x
MTEC Master Tec Group BerhadRM1.400.7%
+RM10.2m
n/aPE60.8x
UMSNGB UMS-Neiken Group BerhadRM0.993.1%
+RM2.4m
8.2%PE13.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SCGBHD

RM0.69

Southern Cable Group Berhad

7D

5.3%

1Y

131.7%

UMSNGB

RM0.99

UMS-Neiken Group Berhad

7D

3.1%

1Y

8.2%

SLVEST

RM1.63

Solarvest Holdings Berhad

7D

-1.2%

1Y

56.7%

PIE

RM6.17

P.I.E. Industrial Berhad

7D

6.4%

1Y

93.4%

SUCCESS

RM0.88

Success Transformer Corporation Berhad

7D

-10.2%

1Y

44.3%

SCOMNET

RM1.41

Supercomnet Technologies Berhad

7D

-10.2%

1Y

12.8%

MTEC

RM1.40

Master Tec Group Berhad

7D

0.7%

1Y

n/a

SUNVIEW

RM0.66

Sunview Group Berhad

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-13.8%

METROD

RM1.49

Metrod Holdings Berhad

7D

-6.9%

1Y

14.6%

FIBON

RM0.49

Fibon Berhad

7D

-4.8%

1Y

28.6%

SCABLE

RM0.14

Sarawak Cable Berhad

7D

-3.4%

1Y

55.6%