Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Restaurants Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-3.8%
  • 3M2.5%
  • 1Y-21.5%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Restaurants industry has dropped 3.9%, driven by a pullback from Berjaya Food Berhad of 5.2%. The industry has fallen 20% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 113% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Restaurants Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 22 Jun 2024RM1.3bRM1.2b-RM154,444,526.0031x-8.6x1.1x
Mon, 20 May 2024RM1.5bRM1.3b-RM106,265,470.00114.6x-13.9x1.1x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024RM1.5bRM1.3b-RM106,265,470.00124.7x-14.5x1.2x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024RM1.4bRM1.3b-RM106,265,470.00101.8x-12.8x1x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024RM1.4bRM1.4bRM44.7m523x30.2x1x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024RM1.5bRM1.4bRM42.9m563.2x36x1.1x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023RM1.4bRM1.4bRM36.6m439.4x38.7x1x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023RM1.7bRM1.4bRM38.5m12.1x43.1x1.2x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023RM1.7bRM1.4bRM38.5m12.7x45x1.2x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023RM1.6bRM1.4bRM8.9m24x181.5x1.2x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023RM1.6bRM1.4bRM34.5m22.5x45.3x1.1x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023RM1.5bRM1.4bRM34.5m21.4x44x1.1x
Tue, 23 May 2023RM1.6bRM1.4bRM88.0m5.7x18.7x1.2x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023RM2.1bRM1.4bRM98.4m6.9x21.2x1.5x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023RM2.1bRM1.4bRM98.4m7.3x21.8x1.6x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023RM2.5bRM1.4bRM91.8m8.3x26.7x1.8x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023RM2.2bRM1.4bRM91.8m7.7x24.2x1.6x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022RM2.2bRM1.4bRM91.8m7.8x24.2x1.6x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022RM2.1bRM1.2bRM83.4m8.4x25.1x1.7x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022RM2.0bRM1.2bRM80.6m8.1x24.3x1.6x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022RM2.0bRM1.3bRM146.0m8x13.7x1.6x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022RM1.9bRM1.1bRM158.6m8.5x11.9x1.8x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022RM2.0bRM1.1bRM158.6m9.1x12.5x1.9x
Wed, 25 May 2022RM2.1bRM1.0bRM142.6m16.3x14.5x2x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022RM2.2bRM1.0bRM108.2m17.6x20x2.1x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022RM2.0bRM1.0bRM108.2m17.1x18.3x1.9x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022RM1.9bRM1.0bRM121.6m10.6x15.4x1.9x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022RM1.7bRM910.8mRM93.9m13.2x17.7x1.8x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021RM1.4bRM910.8mRM93.9m10.6x15.4x1.6x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021RM1.5bRM904.8mRM83.8m12x17.5x1.6x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021RM1.5bRM904.7mRM84.1m13.3x18.1x1.7x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021RM1.4bRM868.1mRM94.7m13.2x14.6x1.6x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021RM1.3bRM868.1mRM94.7m9.6x13.2x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.3x


Total Market Cap: RM1.3bTotal Earnings: RM94.7mTotal Revenue: RM868.1mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Restaurants Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Restaurants industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Restaurants industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Malaysian Restaurants compare with similar industries?

MY Market-1.21%
Consumer Discretionary0.10%
Hospitality1.12%
Restaurants-3.75%
Casinos and Gaming1.53%
Leisure Facilities-1.02%
Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines-1.21%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TECHNAX Techna-X BerhadRM0.381.4%
+RM1.2m
25.0%PE31.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.