Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Pharma Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 26, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-3.2%
  • 3M-11.9%
  • 1Y-25.5%
  • YTD-9.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Pharma industry has dropped 3.2%, driven by pullbacks in Duopharma Biotech Berhad and Apex Healthcare Berhad of 5.1% and 3.6%, respectively. The industry has fallen 26% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 6.7% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Pharma Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPE
Sun, 26 Jun 2022RM3.4bRM2.3bRM226.0m13.9x
Tue, 24 May 2022RM4.0bRM2.3bRM215.3m14.4x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022RM4.0bRM2.2bRM204.5m16.3x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022RM3.7bRM2.2bRM204.5m16.1x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022RM3.8bRM2.1bRM187.4m16.3x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022RM3.7bRM2.1bRM187.4m15.3x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021RM3.7bRM2.1bRM187.4m15.2x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021RM3.8bRM2.0bRM166.6m20.4x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021RM3.9bRM2.0bRM166.6m20.8x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021RM4.2bRM2.0bRM166.5m21.9x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021RM4.2bRM2.0bRM166.5m19.5x
Tue, 04 May 2021RM4.3bRM2.0bRM167.4m18.2x
Fri, 05 Feb 2021RM5.1bRM1.9bRM169.0m24.1x
Mon, 09 Nov 2020RM5.1bRM2.0bRM169.6m17.4x
Sun, 02 Aug 2020RM4.4bRM2.0bRM180.8m16.6x
Wed, 06 May 2020RM2.9bRM2.0bRM175.1m13x
Sat, 08 Feb 2020RM2.9bRM1.9bRM169.7m14.1x
Fri, 01 Nov 2019RM2.8bRM1.9bRM173.6m13.9x
Mon, 05 Aug 2019RM2.7bRM1.9bRM170.8m14.7x
Median PE Ratio

14.7x


Total Market Cap: RM2.7bTotal Earnings: RM170.8mTotal Revenue: RM1.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Pharma Industry Median PE3Y Average 16.6x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the industry, indicating that they anticipate long-term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 15.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 21.7x.
  • The industry's 3-year average PS ratio 1.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Pharmaceuticals industry have grown 9.8% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 7.1% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Malaysian Pharma compare with similar industries?

MY Market-1.16%
Healthcare1.25%
Pharma-3.23%
Pharma-3.23%
Industry PEThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
YSPSAH Y.S.P. Southeast Asia Holding BerhadRM1.993.6%
+RM10.0m
-8.3%PS14.8x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News