Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Packaging Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies23
  • 7D1.0%
  • 3M6.0%
  • 1Y-0.02%
  • YTD9.3%

The Packaging is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Can-One Berhad has stood out, gaining 13%. Furthermore, the industry has been flat for the past year as well. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Packaging Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024RM5.6bRM9.8bRM353.5m12x15.7x0.6x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024RM5.4bRM9.9bRM363.5m11.6x14.9x0.5x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024RM5.0bRM9.9bRM271.8m11.6x18.5x0.5x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024RM5.2bRM9.9bRM273.0m11.9x18.9x0.5x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023RM5.0bRM9.9bRM279.5m11.6x17.9x0.5x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023RM5.0bRM10.1bRM340.8m13.4x14.7x0.5x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023RM5.3bRM10.1bRM665.2m13.4x8x0.5x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023RM5.3bRM10.2bRM500.1m12.1x10.6x0.5x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023RM5.4bRM10.5bRM549.7m11.1x9.7x0.5x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023RM4.5bRM7.3bRM492.9m11.1x9.2x0.6x
Sat, 20 May 2023RM4.5bRM7.4bRM534.3m11.1x8.5x0.6x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023RM4.7bRM7.5bRM541.4m11.2x8.7x0.6x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023RM4.8bRM7.5bRM536.3m12.6x9x0.6x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023RM5.2bRM7.6bRM466.6m11x11.1x0.7x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023RM4.9bRM7.5bRM454.5m10.6x10.7x0.6x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022RM4.7bRM7.6bRM169.8m9.8x27.4x0.6x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022RM4.5bRM7.3bRM118.7m10.8x37.5x0.6x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022RM4.5bRM7.3bRM120.5m11.8x37.1x0.6x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022RM4.8bRM7.2bRM86.0m14.5x55.5x0.7x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022RM4.6bRM7.0bRM111.3m11x41.5x0.7x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022RM4.6bRM7.0bRM107.5m12.5x42.7x0.7x
Sun, 22 May 2022RM4.9bRM6.8bRM133.5m15.6x37x0.7x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022RM5.0bRM6.8bRM138.8m15.2x36.4x0.7x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022RM4.9bRM6.9bRM148.8m12.9x33.1x0.7x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022RM5.4bRM6.6bRM409.0m12.3x13.1x0.8x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022RM5.5bRM6.6bRM411.3m12.3x13.4x0.8x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021RM5.5bRM6.6bRM412.3m11.8x13.4x0.8x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021RM5.9bRM6.6bRM473.9m13.5x12.5x0.9x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021RM5.8bRM6.6bRM474.4m12.5x12.2x0.9x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021RM5.7bRM6.6bRM479.9m13.2x11.8x0.9x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021RM5.4bRM6.6bRM479.9m11.8x11.2x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

12.6x


Total Market Cap: RM5.5bTotal Earnings: RM438.6mTotal Revenue: RM6.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Packaging Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 19.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Packaging industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 15.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 19.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.68x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaging industry have declined 6.9% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 17% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Materials industry?

MY Market0.18%
Materials-1.05%
Packaging0.98%
Metal and Glass Containers3.16%
Paper Packaging-0.13%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Metal and Glass Containers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.5x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Paper Packaging industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 22.8x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Paper Packaging industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 19% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 16% per year.
  • In contrast, the Paper Packaging industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 19% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CANONE Can-One BerhadRM3.1112.7%
+RM67.3m
4.7%PE17.9x
CYL CYL Corporation BerhadRM0.6718.8%
+RM10.5m
1.5%PS1.5x
BOXPAK Box-Pak (Malaysia) BhdRM0.844.3%
+RM4.2m
-1.8%PS0.2x
MUDA Muda Holdings BerhadRM1.460.7%
+RM3.1m
-6.4%PS0.3x
ORNA Ornapaper BerhadRM1.063.9%
+RM3.0m
3.9%PE12x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MASTER

RM3.75

Master-Pack Group Berhad

7D

1.1%

1Y

45.9%

GESHEN

RM3.75

GE-Shen Corporation Berhad

7D

-3.1%

1Y

155.1%

CYL

RM0.67

CYL Corporation Berhad

7D

18.8%

1Y

1.5%

RALCO

RM0.73

Ralco Corporation Berhad

7D

-2.7%

1Y

-34.8%

TGUAN

RM1.88

Thong Guan Industries Berhad

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-16.4%

BOXPAK

RM0.84

Box-Pak (Malaysia) Bhd

7D

4.3%

1Y

-1.8%

DSS

RM0.36

DS Sigma Holdings Berhad

7D

1.4%

1Y

-19.1%

ORNA

RM1.06

Ornapaper Berhad

7D

3.9%

1Y

3.9%

MUDA

RM1.46

Muda Holdings Berhad

7D

0.7%

1Y

-6.4%

L&PBHD

RM0.40

L&P Global Berhad

7D

1.3%

1Y

-18.4%

TOMYPAK

RM0.37

Tomypak Holdings Berhad

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-9.8%