Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Transportation Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D3.2%
  • 3M9.2%
  • 1Y18.2%
  • YTD6.0%

In the last week, the Transportation industry is up 3.7%, with Perak Transit Berhad up 5.0%. In the same time, Epicon Berhad was down 6.0%. This means that the industry has gained 18% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 10% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Transportation Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024RM1.4bRM501.5mRM87.0m9.4x16.3x2.8x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024RM1.3bRM501.5mRM87.0m8.5x14.8x2.6x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023RM1.3bRM501.6mRM86.8m8.6x15x2.6x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023RM1.1bRM362.0mRM27.1m14.1x41.6x3.1x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023RM1.2bRM361.5mRM27.1m14.7x42.8x3.2x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023RM1.2bRM361.5mRM27.1m15.2x44.3x3.3x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023RM1.1bRM355.4mRM28.0m13.9x39.5x3.1x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023RM1.1bRM364.1mRM26.3m13.4x41.6x3x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023RM1.1bRM361.0mRM36.0m12.8x29.2x2.9x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023RM1.0bRM354.3mRM35.1m12.6x29.8x2.9x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023RM1.0bRM354.1mRM34.8m12.3x29x2.9x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023RM1.1bRM335.2mRM40.6m13.5x26x3.2x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023RM1.1bRM335.2mRM40.6m15.1x27.8x3.4x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022RM1.7bRM1.1bRM36.0m45.4x46.7x1.5x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022RM1.5bRM1.1bRM41.1m27.3x37.3x1.5x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022RM1.3bRM1.1bRM41.1m26.2x32.3x1.3x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022RM1.4bRM1.1bRM41.1m30.9x34.4x1.3x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022RM1.4bRM1.0bRM42.4m15x33.1x1.4x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022RM1.4bRM1.0bRM44.1m38.3x32.9x1.4x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022RM1.5bRM1.0bRM44.1m41x33.6x1.4x
Mon, 02 May 2022RM1.4bRM985.8mRM59.2m37.3x24x1.4x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022RM1.3bRM986.3mRM59.4m37.9x22.3x1.3x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022RM1.3bRM976.8mRM55.4m38.1x24x1.4x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022RM1.5bRM946.5mRM55.6m26.4x26.3x1.5x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021RM1.5bRM946.0mRM55.6m27.3x26.1x1.5x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021RM1.6bRM941.2mRM57.1m25.8x28x1.7x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021RM1.8bRM941.4mRM55.5m29.1x31.6x1.9x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021RM1.9bRM937.7mRM55.2m28.6x34.2x2x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021RM1.8bRM937.7mRM55.2m28x33.4x2x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021RM2.1bRM871.7mRM43.1m32.4x47.6x2.4x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021RM2.1bRM841.6mRM11.1m160.9x188.3x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

188.3x


Total Market Cap: RM2.1bTotal Earnings: RM11.1mTotal Revenue: RM841.6mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Transportation Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 37x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Transportation industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 37.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Transportation industry have grown 99% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 16% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Industrials industry?

MY Market1.35%
Industrials0.94%
Transportation3.16%
Cargo Ground Transportation8.97%
Trucking2.58%
Railroads0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Trucking industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 33.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 10.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 307.8% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Trucking industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 10% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Trucking industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 10% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PTRANS Perak Transit BerhadRM1.255.0%
+RM43.9m
16.8%PE14.4x
XINHWA Xin Hwa Holdings BerhadRM0.2610.6%
+RM6.4m
-5.5%PS0.5x
ANCOMLB Ancom Logistics BerhadRM0.147.4%
+RM4.7m
-23.7%PS2.2x
GCAP G Capital BerhadRM0.412.5%
+RM3.3m
-6.8%PS5.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ANCOMLB

RM0.14

Ancom Logistics Berhad

7D

7.4%

1Y

-23.7%

EPICON

RM0.40

Epicon Berhad

7D

-6.0%

1Y

107.9%

GCAP

RM0.41

G Capital Berhad

7D

2.5%

1Y

-6.8%

PTRANS

RM1.25

Perak Transit Berhad

7D

5.0%

1Y

16.8%