Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Beverage Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 03, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D5.9%
  • 3M19.6%
  • 1Y20.4%
  • YTD12.5%

The Beverage industry is up 5.9% in the last week, with Heineken Malaysia Berhad up 7.1%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 20%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 6.7% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Beverage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 03 Feb 2023RM26.8bRM10.4bRM1.2b21.7x22.4x2.6x
Sun, 01 Jan 2023RM23.9bRM10.4bRM1.2b18.8x20x2.3x
Tue, 29 Nov 2022RM23.5bRM10.4bRM1.2b19.2x19.7x2.3x
Thu, 27 Oct 2022RM22.7bRM9.6bRM1.0b21.9x22x2.4x
Sat, 24 Sep 2022RM23.2bRM9.6bRM1.0b20.9x22.4x2.4x
Mon, 22 Aug 2022RM24.7bRM9.5bRM1.0b24.7x24.3x2.6x
Wed, 20 Jul 2022RM22.3bRM8.9bRM901.7m23.6x24.7x2.5x
Fri, 17 Jun 2022RM22.6bRM8.9bRM901.7m25.7x25.1x2.5x
Sun, 15 May 2022RM23.3bRM8.7bRM865.6m25.9x26.9x2.7x
Tue, 12 Apr 2022RM23.5bRM8.6bRM835.3m30.4x28.1x2.7x
Thu, 10 Mar 2022RM21.3bRM8.6bRM835.3m26.7x25.5x2.5x
Sat, 05 Feb 2022RM22.3bRM8.3bRM804.1m30.2x27.7x2.7x
Mon, 03 Jan 2022RM22.6bRM8.3bRM804.1m30.9x28.1x2.7x
Wed, 01 Dec 2021RM22.9bRM8.3bRM804.0m31.3x28.5x2.8x
Fri, 29 Oct 2021RM24.9bRM8.5bRM863.1m32.2x28.8x2.9x
Sun, 26 Sep 2021RM24.8bRM8.5bRM863.1m29.1x28.7x2.9x
Tue, 24 Aug 2021RM24.8bRM8.5bRM863.2m29.9x28.7x2.9x
Wed, 30 Jun 2021RM24.6bRM8.5bRM863.2m28.4x28.5x2.9x
Sat, 03 Apr 2021RM27.3bRM8.2bRM798.1m26.2x34.2x3.3x
Tue, 05 Jan 2021RM27.1bRM8.2bRM800.0m28.1x33.9x3.3x
Fri, 09 Oct 2020RM25.7bRM8.5bRM865.3m28.7x29.7x3x
Thu, 02 Jul 2020RM27.7bRM8.8bRM925.3m24x29.9x3.2x
Sun, 05 Apr 2020RM26.8bRM9.4bRM1.1b20.6x24.6x2.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

29x


Total Market Cap: RM31.8bTotal Earnings: RM1.1bTotal Revenue: RM9.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Beverage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.7x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Beverage industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 22.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 27.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Beverage industry have grown 3.0% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 3.1% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Consumer Staples industry?

MY Market0.20%
Consumer Staples1.34%
Beverage5.88%
Distillers and Wine Makers8.33%
Brewers6.69%
Soft Drinks4.66%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Soft Drinks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 24.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 8.1%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 10.6% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Soft Drinks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 8.1% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Brewers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 5.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
HEIM Heineken Malaysia BerhadRM29.447.1%
+RM586.1m
44.6%PE22x
CARLSBG Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia BerhadRM24.101.7%
+RM122.3m
20.5%PE22.4x
F&N Fraser & Neave Holdings BhdRM25.001.0%
+RM88.0m
2.2%PE23.9x
CNOUHUA China Ouhua Winery HoldingsRM0.0716.7%
+RM6.7m
0%PS4.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.