Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) Basic Materials Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D2.2%
  • 3M7.9%
  • 1Y67.2%
  • YTD23.9%

The Basic Materials industry is up 2.2% in the last week, with Cahya Mata Sarawak Berhad up 16%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 67%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 10% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian Basic Materials Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 18 Jun 2024RM10.6bRM7.4bRM725.9m13.7x14.6x1.4x
Thu, 16 May 2024RM10.5bRM7.3bRM616.7m16x17x1.4x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024RM9.9bRM7.3bRM616.4m17.7x16.1x1.4x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024RM9.8bRM7.3bRM614.3m16.8x16x1.3x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024RM9.5bRM6.9bRM437.3m20.3x21.7x1.4x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024RM9.4bRM6.9bRM434.5m18.6x21.5x1.4x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023RM8.5bRM6.9bRM436.6m18.6x19.4x1.2x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023RM7.3bRM6.5bRM426.0m20.2x17.1x1.1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023RM7.4bRM6.5bRM429.1m20.7x17.4x1.1x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023RM7.3bRM6.4bRM444.2m16.1x16.5x1.1x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023RM6.3bRM6.2bRM389.4m26.5x16.3x1x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023RM6.1bRM6.2bRM395.0m25.2x15.5x1x
Fri, 19 May 2023RM6.0bRM6.0bRM393.2m25.9x15.4x1x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023RM5.5bRM5.9bRM379.6m25x14.5x0.9x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023RM5.3bRM5.9bRM386.8m18.6x13.7x0.9x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023RM5.6bRM5.7bRM432.0m21x13x1x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023RM5.0bRM5.7bRM433.1m25.3x11.6x0.9x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022RM5.0bRM5.7bRM431.8m25.2x11.7x0.9x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022RM4.6bRM4.9bRM305.8m22.9x15.2x1x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022RM4.4bRM4.9bRM296.3m19.1x14.8x0.9x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022RM5.1bRM4.8bRM295.4m27.1x17.4x1.1x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022RM4.9bRM4.2bRM251.3m19.3x19.6x1.2x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022RM5.1bRM4.2bRM252.0m16.9x20.1x1.2x
Sat, 21 May 2022RM5.9bRM3.7bRM224.5m23x26.5x1.6x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022RM6.2bRM3.7bRM223.0m23.4x27.8x1.7x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022RM5.2bRM3.7bRM222.3m26.8x23.4x1.4x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022RM5.5bRM3.2bRM77.6m37.4x70.9x1.7x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022RM5.9bRM3.2bRM77.7m35.8x75.6x1.9x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021RM5.7bRM3.1bRM78.1m28.3x73.6x1.8x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021RM6.7bRM3.3bRM70.1m32.2x95.9x2x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021RM6.5bRM3.3bRM70.1m30.6x93.3x2x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021RM5.4bRM3.3bRM72.0m24.8x74.8x1.6x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021RM5.0bRM3.3bRM72.0m17.7x69.9x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

69.9x


Total Market Cap: RM5.0bTotal Earnings: RM72.0mTotal Revenue: RM3.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian Basic Materials Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 31.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian Basic Materials industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.6x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 31.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Basic Materials industry have grown 116% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 32% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Materials industry?

MY Market0.36%
Materials0.12%
Basic Materials2.19%
Construction Materials2.19%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CMSB Cahya Mata Sarawak BerhadRM1.3812.2%
+RM161.1m
40.1%PE13.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.