Header cover image

Malaysian (KLSE) IT Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies25
  • 7D-1.1%
  • 3M8.9%
  • 1Y2.2%
  • YTD1.7%

Over the last 7 days, the IT industry has dropped 1.1%, driven by Infomina Berhad declining 5.8%. Meanwhile, Theta Edge Berhad actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 27% in the last week. Over the last year, the industry has been flat overall. Earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Malaysian IT Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Apr 2024RM5.1bRM3.1b-RM21,878,032.0024.9x-235.2x1.7x
Mon, 18 Mar 2024RM5.1bRM3.2b-RM7,938,032.0022.7x-639x1.6x
Wed, 14 Feb 2024RM4.8bRM3.2b-RM6,440,897.0017.2x-742.9x1.5x
Fri, 12 Jan 2024RM5.2bRM3.2b-RM6,233,481.0018.1x-830.8x1.6x
Sun, 10 Dec 2023RM4.9bRM3.2b-RM6,233,481.0017.2x-792.5x1.5x
Tue, 07 Nov 2023RM4.9bRM3.1bRM12.1m18.8x401.8x1.6x
Thu, 05 Oct 2023RM4.8bRM3.1bRM9.5m18.7x504x1.5x
Sat, 02 Sep 2023RM5.0bRM3.1bRM10.6m17.6x474.2x1.6x
Mon, 31 Jul 2023RM4.9bRM3.0bRM5.5m21.5x902x1.7x
Wed, 28 Jun 2023RM6.5bRM4.4bRM252.3k20x25816.4x1.5x
Fri, 26 May 2023RM5.8bRM4.3bRM357.5m19.9x16.3x1.4x
Sun, 23 Apr 2023RM6.4bRM4.3bRM356.6m22.6x17.8x1.5x
Tue, 21 Mar 2023RM6.1bRM4.3bRM356.6m27.4x17.2x1.4x
Thu, 16 Feb 2023RM8.5bRM5.0bRM386.6m30.6x22x1.7x
Sat, 14 Jan 2023RM14.9bRM5.7bRM773.4m29.1x19.3x2.6x
Mon, 12 Dec 2022RM15.1bRM6.0bRM819.9m25.9x18.5x2.5x
Wed, 09 Nov 2022RM14.7bRM5.4bRM960.3m31.7x15.3x2.7x
Fri, 07 Oct 2022RM14.8bRM5.4bRM983.2m28.6x15x2.7x
Sun, 04 Sep 2022RM14.5bRM5.4bRM983.2m29.3x14.7x2.7x
Tue, 02 Aug 2022RM14.5bRM4.0bRM453.4m18x31.9x3.6x
Thu, 30 Jun 2022RM14.9bRM4.0bRM447.8m31.2x33.2x3.7x
Sat, 28 May 2022RM15.9bRM3.9bRM384.3m31.7x41.4x4.1x
Mon, 25 Apr 2022RM17.4bRM3.8bRM384.5m35.2x45.3x4.6x
Wed, 23 Mar 2022RM16.7bRM3.8bRM373.5m40.6x44.7x4.4x
Fri, 18 Feb 2022RM18.1bRM3.4bRM340.4m30.8x53.1x5.3x
Sun, 16 Jan 2022RM16.8bRM3.4bRM340.8m28.5x49.4x5x
Tue, 14 Dec 2021RM16.9bRM3.4bRM340.8m27.3x49.7x5x
Thu, 11 Nov 2021RM17.7bRM3.3bRM335.9m21.6x52.6x5.4x
Sat, 09 Oct 2021RM17.2bRM3.3bRM334.1m22x51.4x5.2x
Mon, 06 Sep 2021RM17.3bRM3.3bRM272.9m20.7x63.4x5.3x
Wed, 04 Aug 2021RM16.1bRM3.3bRM272.3m19.7x59.1x4.9x
Sat, 08 May 2021RM17.8bRM3.2bRM235.2m24.6x75.8x5.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

75.8x


Total Market Cap: RM17.8bTotal Earnings: RM235.2mTotal Revenue: RM3.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Malaysian IT Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 130.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Malaysian IT industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the IT industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Malaysian Tech industry?

MY Market-0.81%
Tech-1.42%
IT-1.14%
Data Processing Services-0.42%
IT Consulting-0.92%
Internet Services and Infrastructure-4.23%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Data Processing Services industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 21.8x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Internet Services and Infrastructure industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 20% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 59% per year.
  • In contrast, the IT Consulting industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 13% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
THETA Theta Edge BerhadRM1.6726.5%
+RM41.3m
160.9%PE20.6x
LGMS LGMS BerhadRM1.075.9%
+RM27.4m
-7.0%PE43.5x
MMAG MMAG Holdings BerhadRM0.205.3%
+RM17.0m
33.3%PS0.7x
PRIVA Privasia Technology BerhadRM0.105.0%
+RM3.1m
0%PE96.3x
FSBM FSBM Holdings BerhadRM0.341.5%
+RM2.4m
23.6%PE84.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SRIDGE

RM0.35

Silver Ridge Holdings Bhd

7D

1.4%

1Y

16.7%

INFOM

RM1.45

Infomina Berhad

7D

-5.8%

1Y

-2.0%

HTPADU

RM2.30

HeiTech Padu Berhad

7D

-9.8%

1Y

226.2%

ZENTECH

RM0.015

Zen Tech International Berhad

7D

-25.0%

1Y

-40.0%

INFOTEC

RM0.79

Infoline Tec Group Berhad

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-4.2%

PRIVA

RM0.10

Privasia Technology Berhad

7D

5.0%

1Y

0%

FSBM

RM0.34

FSBM Holdings Berhad

7D

1.5%

1Y

23.6%

MMAG

RM0.20

MMAG Holdings Berhad

7D

5.3%

1Y

33.3%

LYC

RM0.17

LYC Healthcare Berhad

7D

-5.6%

1Y

-34.6%

CLOUDPT

RM0.60

Cloudpoint Technology Berhad

7D

-4.7%

1Y

n/a

YGL

RM0.14

Ygl Convergence Berhad

7D

-12.5%

1Y

-20.0%

LGMS

RM1.07

LGMS Berhad

7D

5.9%

1Y

-7.0%

MPAY

RM0.11

ManagePay Systems Berhad

7D

-4.3%

1Y

-8.3%